Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Power Button/Response

OP trebills

25th July 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 27
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I think when holding the power button down the time it takes for the power menu to popup is too long. Like 2 seconds too long. Anyone know of a way to change this?
25th July 2014, 10:08 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I just timed it.

It takes EXACTLY 2 seconds for the menu to come up.

So it's 2 seconds too much for you? Would you like the menu to come up instantly so that you have no option to turn your screen off with the power button?

Curious.
26th July 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #3  
kurtis.austin2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
I think it's just fine. Literally takes 2-3 seconds. Don't see why you would need it shorter

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th July 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #4  
partylikeaninjastar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 194
 
828 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Compared to how long it takes on my previous Nexus 5 phone, it does feel too long.

Sent from my LG-D851 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to partylikeaninjastar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th July 2014, 05:05 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 27
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00dahc

I just timed it.

It takes EXACTLY 2 seconds for the menu to come up.

So it's 2 seconds too much for you? Would you like the menu to come up instantly so that you have no option to turn your screen off with the power button?

Curious.

Thanks for timing it. Since it's exactly 2 seconds then it is about 1.2 seconds too long. I too came from nexus and its defiantly too slow.
29th July 2014, 07:55 AM   |  #6  
aquariuz23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clifton, NJ
Thanks Meter: 83
 
875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Based on other android phones I've used, like nexus 5, gs3, lg nitro HD, etc, the delay LG has set on the G3's power button does feel a bit longer, I'd say a second longer. Is it a big deal? definitely not, but to those who are accustomed to a faster response time and probably because they use the power button for certain things, then yes, the longer delay does feel too long. I personally would like the stock android delay, which I think is only 1 second.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to aquariuz23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd August 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #7  
SystemErrorOne's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Jacksonville
Thanks Meter: 326
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquariuz23

Based on other android phones I've used, like nexus 5, gs3, lg nitro HD, etc, the delay LG has set on the G3's power button does feel a bit longer, I'd say a second longer. Is it a big deal? definitely not, but to those who are accustomed to a faster response time and probably because they use the power button for certain things, then yes, the longer delay does feel too long. I personally would like the stock android delay, which I think is only 1 second.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app

im sure someone is going to come out with an xposed module to fix this delay. I surely hope so

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes