Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

RAM Usage

29th August 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #1  
H4rryTipp3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 162
 
754 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
29th August 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #2  
Toneman07's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Henderson
Thanks Meter: 25
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4rryTipp3r

I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app

This would probably be a good question in the skydragon thread. I use Android Tuner Pro to monitor and running stock / rooted i am averaging 953mb.
30th August 2014, 03:19 AM   |  #3  
BACARDILIMON's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag MASTIC BEACH NY
Thanks Meter: 862
 
2,977 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4rryTipp3r

I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app

When they say you have 3gb of ram you don't. Kit Kat uses most of it

AWESOME G3
30th August 2014, 07:09 AM   |  #4  
H4rryTipp3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 162
 
754 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BACARDILIMON

When they say you have 3gb of ram you don't. Kit Kat uses most of it

AWESOME G3

Oh, I know that. But it still seems unusually high.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
30th August 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #5  
TheJesus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sanford, FL
Thanks Meter: 90
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
1.5-2.0 used here. 1.9-2.0 is before closing all recent apps, 1.5 after.
30th August 2014, 11:27 AM   |  #6  
NewZJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, Wa
Thanks Meter: 448
 
2,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
High RAM usage is GOOD!!! Unused ram is WASTED ram.
30th August 2014, 11:29 AM   |  #7  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,028
 
9,440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Please post questions in the Q&A thread

Thread moved
2nd September 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #8  
JustLok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I'm rooted with SkyDragon kernel and upon a reboot, RAM is 1.5GB free, but as the day wears on, it drops to between 400-600MB free, usually around 500MB free and closes other apps as needed to maintain that 500MB free.

It was the same before I rooted or flashed the new kernel, just seems the way that Android is running the RAM on its phones nowadays.

The Following User Says Thank You to JustLok For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank