Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

RAM Usage

OP H4rryTipp3r

29th August 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #1  
H4rryTipp3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 175
 
766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
29th August 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #2  
Toneman07's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Henderson
Thanks Meter: 57
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4rryTipp3r

I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app

This would probably be a good question in the skydragon thread. I use Android Tuner Pro to monitor and running stock / rooted i am averaging 953mb.
30th August 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #3  
BACARDILIMON's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag MASTIC BEACH NY
Thanks Meter: 1,268
 
3,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4rryTipp3r

I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app

When they say you have 3gb of ram you don't. Kit Kat uses most of it

AWESOME G3
30th August 2014, 08:09 AM   |  #4  
H4rryTipp3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 175
 
766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BACARDILIMON

When they say you have 3gb of ram you don't. Kit Kat uses most of it

AWESOME G3

Oh, I know that. But it still seems unusually high.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
30th August 2014, 09:37 AM   |  #5  
TheJesus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sanford, FL
Thanks Meter: 115
 
328 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
1.5-2.0 used here. 1.9-2.0 is before closing all recent apps, 1.5 after.
30th August 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #6  
NewZJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, Wa
Thanks Meter: 448
 
2,595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
High RAM usage is GOOD!!! Unused ram is WASTED ram.
30th August 2014, 12:29 PM   |  #7  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,522
 
9,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Please post questions in the Q&A thread

Thread moved
2nd September 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #8  
JustLok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I'm rooted with SkyDragon kernel and upon a reboot, RAM is 1.5GB free, but as the day wears on, it drops to between 400-600MB free, usually around 500MB free and closes other apps as needed to maintain that 500MB free.

It was the same before I rooted or flashed the new kernel, just seems the way that Android is running the RAM on its phones nowadays.

The Following User Says Thank You to JustLok For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes