Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,847 Members 53,505 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

RAM Usage

Tip us?
 
H4rryTipp3r
Old
#1  
H4rryTipp3r's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 161
Posts: 752
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Default RAM Usage

I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S-II (Epic 4G Touch - White)
ROM: Blu Kuban Version 1.0.5.3. By: rujelus22
Modem: FI27
 
Toneman07
Old
#2  
Toneman07's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 90
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Henderson

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4rryTipp3r View Post
I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
This would probably be a good question in the skydragon thread. I use Android Tuner Pro to monitor and running stock / rooted i am averaging 953mb.
 
BACARDILIMON
Old
#3  
BACARDILIMON's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 844
Posts: 2,894
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MASTIC BEACH NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4rryTipp3r View Post
I'm just curious, does anyone else have unusually high RAM usage? I'm rooted and on SkyDragon, using SkyDragon kernel. My RAM is always between 1.9Gb and 2.3Gb. I have no idea why though because when I look through the running apps, there's not much there, not enough to make it that high anyway.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
When they say you have 3gb of ram you don't. Kit Kat uses most of it

AWESOME G3
LG G3 D851 BAD ASS
 
H4rryTipp3r
Old
#4  
H4rryTipp3r's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 161
Posts: 752
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by BACARDILIMON View Post
When they say you have 3gb of ram you don't. Kit Kat uses most of it

AWESOME G3
Oh, I know that. But it still seems unusually high.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S-II (Epic 4G Touch - White)
ROM: Blu Kuban Version 1.0.5.3. By: rujelus22
Modem: FI27
 
TheJesus
Old
#5  
TheJesus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 274
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sanford, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
1.5-2.0 used here. 1.9-2.0 is before closing all recent apps, 1.5 after.
Phones: Nokia N900, T-Mobile G2, T-Mobile G2x, Sprint S3, T-Mobile S4, T-Mobile LG G3 (current)
Tablets: G Tab, Nook Color, Asus Transformer, T-Mobile LG G-Slate, Samsung Tab 10.1 2013 (current)
Computers: Asus G75VW, Samsung Chromebook, Lenovo Yoga 13.3, MacBook Pro 13" Late 2013 (Win 8.1, current)

I handled Developer Relations with Nvidia, the TegraTabDev Twitter G Tab updates, and the G Tab Reference Thread a long, long time ago.
 
NewZJ
Old
#6  
NewZJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 448
Posts: 2,588
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle, Wa
High RAM usage is GOOD!!! Unused ram is WASTED ram.
 
gregbradley
Old
#7  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3,966
Posts: 9,314
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Please post questions in the Q&A thread

Thread moved

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.
 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton

[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
JustLok
Old
#8  
JustLok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 223
Join Date: Jan 2010
I'm rooted with SkyDragon kernel and upon a reboot, RAM is 1.5GB free, but as the day wears on, it drops to between 400-600MB free, usually around 500MB free and closes other apps as needed to maintain that 500MB free.

It was the same before I rooted or flashed the new kernel, just seems the way that Android is running the RAM on its phones nowadays.

The Following User Says Thank You to JustLok For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more

Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more