Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

Remove recent apps button from button combination.

23rd August 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 380
 
899 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by partylikeaninjastar

How often do you all actually use a menu key to need it to be so prominent, though? Personally, I'd rather have my recent key default to the last app with a long press to all apps, but I personally can't see myself needing to use a menu button often enough to have it on my navigation bar (I took away the press and hold for menu entirely on my phone).

I use it a lot, it's faster for me. You don't. The option should be there so that we can choose what fits our individual needs. It's called personal preference.
23rd August 2014, 04:02 PM   |  #12  
partylikeaninjastar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 183
 
776 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by siraltus

I use it a lot, it's faster for me. You don't. The option should be there so that we can choose what fits our individual needs. It's called personal preference.

Don't get your panties in a bunch over a simple question. I never said YOU don't need the option, I was only wondering how often those requesting it use a menu button over task switching.

Maybe whatever phone you can from had a menu button while my Nexus devices didn't. And speaking of Nexus, I really liked how a menu button could set to appear on either the left or right sides whenever it was usable.

Sent from my LG-D851 using Tapatalk
23rd August 2014, 04:09 PM   |  #13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by partylikeaninjastar

Don't get your panties in a bunch over a simple question. I never said YOU don't need the option, I was only wondering how often those requesting it use a menu button over task switching.

Maybe whatever phone you can from had a menu button while my Nexus devices didn't. And speaking of Nexus, I really liked how a menu button could set to appear on either the left or right sides whenever it was usable.

Sent from my LG-D851 using Tapatalk

I use it quite a bit. Came from a Gs4 which had it built in on the capacitive buttons below the screen. I would like to have it back and set the how button long press to do Recents. No big deal though, I'll just have to wait. Maybe I'll be used to it and it won't matter much when they've come up with a fix.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Free mobile app
23rd August 2014, 04:12 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 257
 
1,800 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
It takes me quite a bit to get used to the new operation, but this method can toggle apps much faster than press and hold home button, or you can close app by moving it left or right to save the resource, and, sometimes, the battery.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank