Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more
Post Reply

Removing bloat on stock rom?

OP Chyrio

25th July 2014, 01:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I am assuming this is just like every other lg phone and if you uninstall a system app it will reboot the phone and reinstall it right?

Sent from my LG-D851 using Tapatalk
25th July 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #2  
mgbotoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Berkeley
Thanks Meter: 1,720
 
2,188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
I usually go with the freezing app route using titanium
25th July 2014, 04:45 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
That's what i have done so far. Was just curious if it follows the classic lg way

Sent from my LG-D851 using Tapatalk
25th July 2014, 10:53 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Depends on what you mean by bloat. If you mean the LG apps, I dunno. But after using PurpleDrake I was able to remove Amazon, Google Play Movies & TV, etc, plus a couple of the TMo apps, without causing them to reappear on reboot.
3rd August 2014, 12:26 AM   |  #5  
SystemErrorOne's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Jacksonville
Thanks Meter: 325
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigkevbosky

Depends on what you mean by bloat. If you mean the LG apps, I dunno. But after using PurpleDrake I was able to remove Amazon, Google Play Movies & TV, etc, plus a couple of the TMo apps, without causing them to reappear on reboot.


And in case any of you guys are wondering what PurpleDrake is as quoted

Quote:

This is a utility to easily root your LG G3 (specific models only). It's a fairly foolproof script that includes all the dependencies you'll need for getting your phone rooted easily.

Thread Link:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g...-lite-t2821000

You're welcome
3rd August 2014, 01:11 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 86
 
811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Consider installing the ZoneRom if you want a shortcut to debloating. It's basically stock without some of the Google and T-Mobile crap (which I don't use). I haven't had a single issue with the ROM yet.
3rd August 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Northern IL
Thanks Meter: 47
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Any easy way to remove that Carrier IQ crap. It constantly is #1 in soaking up battery life.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank