Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] [K.A.T - V2.0.1] [Audio enhancer | Scan Filters | GPS QuickFix]

OP timduru

29th July 2014, 02:43 AM   |  #21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
No Neutron uses hardware volume controls as well, that's why I'm interested in how they could work together.
Make no mistake that this is just a 13 in a dozen music player, see www.neutronmp.com
I adjusted the CPU max freq to 1300 MHz, that seem to stretch the battery length.
(I shall probably better continue on the ROM thread as I'm using it, not just the KAT tool).
29th July 2014, 03:08 AM   |  #22  
timduru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10,360
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars73

No Neutron uses hardware volume controls as well,

Yeah I've read that on their page, the settings in the app say that it indeed controls DAC hardware levels
but not from what I tested though, it doesn't change hardware levels

It's easy to test by yourself:
to avoid interferences between the 2 apps, in the K.A.T app uncheck the "cascade" check box

Now set a low volume using the sliders in the K.A.T app
go to neutron and put the volume to max, if it really controls hardware levels it should be able to just put the amp to its max level.
But the sound will stay low even at 100% neutron "hardware" level.
that's because it seems to be software level to me.
their preamp settings looks digital to me too, just seems to boost the media digital level in software, it's good though because it prevents you to clip. So if you have a media with low digital level it can boost it
but in software.
Last edited by timduru; 29th July 2014 at 03:12 AM.
29th July 2014, 01:20 PM   |  #23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I did the check and saw the same thing as you, I can't up the volume with neutron.
The other way is the same btw when I put the volume to zero in neutron I can't up it with KAT.
So is it best to put the gain to 100 in neutron and use the KAT sliders for the volume?
Wonderful these choices he? ��
29th July 2014, 01:38 PM   |  #24  
timduru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10,360
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars73

I did the check and saw the same thing as you, I can't up the volume with neutron.
The other way is the same btw when I put the volume to zero in neutron I can't up it with KAT.

nah it's not the same
Basically, Neutron controls the android digital volume
To check that, play something with another software like play music.
Go into neutron and adjust the neutron volume to 0
now check android volume, you'll see that it's at 0

So of course if the digital volume is at zero , increasing the hardware level in the K.A.T app won't make you hear sound.
if you have unchecked the cascade option in the K.A.T app you need to turn android digital volume back up with the volume keys


Or you can check back the cascade option in the K.A.T app,
then keep pushing the volume up button on the keyboard or the tablet when the slider reaches maximum and the K.A.T app will be able to increase it.
as it cascades digital android volume & hardware levels.


Quote:

So is it best to put the gain to 100 in neutron and use the KAT sliders for the volume?

Best option is to let the K.A.T app do that for you.
check the cascade option.
Adjust only the volume with the hardware volume buttons on the tablet or the keyboard
Do not touch the android digital volume sliders
Do not touch the app / neutron digital volume slider.
(see post #2 basically )


To make it even more complicated I'm most likley going to add the real WM8903 hardware DAC_BOOST (pre-amp) control soon

So you would basically have in the chain:

DIGITAL/SOFTWARE:
Fixed media level ==> Application filters/equalizer ==> Application sound level(controls android level most of the time) ==> Android filters/equalizer (Viper4Android and such if present in the rom) ==> Android Level
==HARWARE/ANALOG==> K.A.T App WM8903 PreAmp Ctrl ==> K.A.T App WM8903 Amp levels

The main thing to understand is that all the left side before ==HARDWARE/ANALOG==>
is software / digital, then it goes to the DAC.
Last edited by timduru; 29th July 2014 at 01:59 PM.
29th July 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Thanks for explaining (and having patience with a curious person as me haha).
Having the cascade on the KAT tool indeed takes it over when upping the volume and also when lowering.
I'll leave it on and use KAT for the volumes and watch this space for any updates.
Keep up the good work.
30th July 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #26  
timduru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10,360
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
New Version 1.5.3

K.A.T_V1.5.3.apk


ChangeLog:
- Add Hardware Pre Amp Boost slider

4 modes: 0 (no boost) , 1 (+6dB boost), 2 (+12dB boost), 3 (+18dB boost)

That will allow you to boost the level before sending it to the audio chip amplifier
This is to use mostly for apps/medias that have a low input level for example some of the streaming apps like Netflix with which that new option does wonders

Keep in mind that if your media already has a normal audio level you will saturate the amp input and generate clipping / bad quality.
Last edited by timduru; 30th July 2014 at 06:38 PM.
31st July 2014, 03:11 AM   |  #27  
Enter The Nexus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Trapped in BasedWorld
Thanks Meter: 207
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Does this work on ME301T?
31st July 2014, 06:12 AM   |  #28  
timduru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10,360
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enter The Nexus

Does this work on ME301T?

it basically depends if it has the wm8903 audio chip and kernel.
You can be the first to try and report :P
20th November 2014, 12:56 PM   |  #29  
timduru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10,360
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
New version 2.0.1

K.A.T_V2.0.1.apk


ChangeLog:
- Lollipop compatibility
- Core audio rewrite

Note: Audio cascading is disabled on Lollipop as not compatible yet.
Last edited by timduru; 20th November 2014 at 01:00 PM.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to timduru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes