Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,105 Members 44,801 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Downgrade to Android below 4.2

Tip us?
 
ticorman
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default Downgrade to Android below 4.2

Hi,
I replaced the digitizer in my TF300T, and now I need to run the ASUS touch-tool, to get it to work. However, it's incompatible with Android 4.2 and higher, so I need to flash something older. The problem is, that I cannot find the old bootloader anywhere and ASUS tech support doesn't have it either.
Does anybody have an old backup or something like that? Or maybe there is another way of doing this - if anybody knows, that would be very helpful.
 
cmendonc2
Old
#2  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 375
Posts: 1,066
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ticorman View Post
Hi,
I replaced the digitizer in my TF300T, and now I need to run the ASUS touch-tool, to get it to work. However, it's incompatible with Android 4.2 and higher, so I need to flash something older. The problem is, that I cannot find the old bootloader anywhere and ASUS tech support doesn't have it either.
Does anybody have an old backup or something like that? Or maybe there is another way of doing this - if anybody knows, that would be very helpful.
The Old firmwares are located here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...54&postcount=3

But I'm not sure if you can just flash the 4.1 bootloader and go back to it. There was a method to doing it...Google probably knows
My Devices:
 

[Retired] Nook Color (CM10)



LG Optimus Dynamic II L39C (Stock, rooted)



Asus Tf300t (CM11)



Transformers: Install NvFlash for JellyBean Transformer bootloader to become unbrickable HERE Guide: Here!
Wantfree phone and tablet accessories or Google Play gift cards? Go HERE
The Following User Says Thank You to cmendonc2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ticorman
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Ok, now I'm a bit embarrassed, because it seems the reason I couldn't find anything is I didn't know what I was looking for.
I'm a bit lost - does the firmware file contain the bootloader? My understanding of it was that I need to download the bootloader separately and flash it with Odin, then flash a compatible recovery and ROM (I'm on CM11 now btw). Is that correct?
 
cmendonc2
Old
#4  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 375
Posts: 1,066
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ticorman View Post
Ok, now I'm a bit embarrassed, because it seems the reason I couldn't find anything is I didn't know what I was looking for.
I'm a bit lost - does the firmware file contain the bootloader? My understanding of it was that I need to download the bootloader separately and flash it with Odin, then flash a compatible recovery and ROM (I'm on CM11 now btw). Is that correct?
Odin is for samsung

With asus, the bootloader is included in the firmware upgrades. But like I said, I'm not sure if you can just flash a previous version to revert. I know it works in some cases, but not all.
My Devices:
 

[Retired] Nook Color (CM10)



LG Optimus Dynamic II L39C (Stock, rooted)



Asus Tf300t (CM11)



Transformers: Install NvFlash for JellyBean Transformer bootloader to become unbrickable HERE Guide: Here!
Wantfree phone and tablet accessories or Google Play gift cards? Go HERE
 
ticorman
Old
(Last edited by ticorman; 10th September 2014 at 08:54 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2 View Post
Odin is for samsung

With asus, the bootloader is included in the firmware upgrades. But like I said, I'm not sure if you can just flash a previous version to revert. I know it works in some cases, but not all.

Well, I used to own a Galaxy S3
Anyway, will flashing via fastboot work if I'm on CWM recovery (v6.0.4.5), or do I need the stock recovery? I'm scared to try it blindly after reading all the "bricked tabet" threads...

//Edit
Soooo... nothing seemed to work. I just gave up and sent the tablet to a repair shop, where they actually reprogram the digitizer circuit board. Anyway, thanks, cmendonc2, for trying.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes