Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Hard-Bricked, no boot. Failed during flash

31st August 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
OK,

I was trying to flash a new ROM and had some issues where it would continously reboot so, after some reading it seemed like I needed a new version of TWRP, so I updated it. That didn't help.

I decided to reflash the stock rom on the device but after doing that, it wouldn't boot past the ASUS boot screen. So I tried again (via fastboot), same result. So I tried again and this time fastboot crashed in the middle of the load and now the tablet won't boot or anything.

It seems like the tablet still has power because windows makes a funky sound when you plug it in.

I saw this post but pressing the tiny button with a paperclip doesn't do anything.

Edit:
Windows can tell I plugged something in but says there is an error and doesn't recognize it anymore. Therefore, I don't have adb or fastboot access.

Edit: I installed the naked drivers and got it to recognize the device as an apx. I then pointed it to the normal driver and is recognizes it as an adb device but I can't connect via adb.

Edit: Nevermind, it came unplugged and when I plugged it in again windows didn't recognize it.

Where in the crap do I go from here?
Last edited by gtgeek; 31st August 2014 at 07:05 PM. Reason: added detail
31st August 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgeek

OK,

I was trying to flash a new ROM and had some issues where it would continously reboot so, after some reading it seemed like I needed a new version of TWRP, so I updated it. That didn't help.

I decided to reflash the stock rom on the device but after doing that, it wouldn't boot past the ASUS boot screen. So I tried again (via fastboot), same result. So I tried again and this time fastboot crashed in the middle of the load and now the tablet won't boot or anything.

It seems like the tablet still has power because windows makes a funky sound when you plug it in.

I saw this post but pressing the tiny button with a paperclip doesn't do anything.

Edit:
Windows can tell I plugged something in but says there is an error and doesn't recognize it anymore. Therefore, I don't have adb or fastboot access.

Edit: I installed the naked drivers and got it to recognize the device as an apx. I then pointed it to the normal driver and is recognizes it as an adb device but I can't connect via adb.

Edit: Nevermind, it came unplugged and when I plugged it in again windows didn't recognize it.

Where in the crap do I go from here?


+1
31st August 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #3  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Area51
Thanks Meter: 2,329
 
2,573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgeek

OK,

I was trying to flash a new ROM and had some issues where it would continously reboot so, after some reading it seemed like I needed a new version of TWRP, so I updated it. That didn't help.

I decided to reflash the stock rom on the device but after doing that, it wouldn't boot past the ASUS boot screen. So I tried again (via fastboot), same result. So I tried again and this time fastboot crashed in the middle of the load and now the tablet won't boot or anything.

It seems like the tablet still has power because windows makes a funky sound when you plug it in.

I saw this post but pressing the tiny button with a paperclip doesn't do anything.

Edit:
Windows can tell I plugged something in but says there is an error and doesn't recognize it anymore. Therefore, I don't have adb or fastboot access.

Edit: I installed the naked drivers and got it to recognize the device as an apx. I then pointed it to the normal driver and is recognizes it as an adb device but I can't connect via adb.

Edit: Nevermind, it came unplugged and when I plugged it in again windows didn't recognize it.

Where in the crap do I go from here?

So will the tablet not boot into the bootloader ?

Thx Josh
31st August 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036

So will the tablet not boot into the bootloader ?

Thx Josh

Nothing, just the black screen.
I only know something is going on when I connect it to a pc I can here it connect/disconnect when I hold the power button or press the reset button. Also checked the hdmi output on another screen to make sure that wasn't the problem....it wasn't.
31st August 2014, 10:42 PM   |  #5  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Area51
Thanks Meter: 2,329
 
2,573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgeek

Nothing, just the black screen.
I only know something is going on when I connect it to a pc I can here it connect/disconnect when I hold the power button or press the reset button. Also checked the hdmi output on another screen to make sure that wasn't the problem....it wasn't.

I see....

If you dont have your nvflash blobs, its a brick ...

Sorry for the bad news ....

Thx Josh
31st August 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036

I see....

If you dont have your nvflash blobs, its a brick ...

Sorry for the bad news ....

Thx Josh

That was the conclusion I was coming to.

Now, for a nerdier question. If I had physical access to the processor, could I program it directly using it's programming ports?
31st August 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #7  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Area51
Thanks Meter: 2,329
 
2,573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgeek

That was the conclusion I was coming to.

Now, for a nerdier question. If I had physical access to the processor, could I program it directly using it's programming ports?

Nope there is just no way...

The chip is locked down ...

There is lots of info out there but its just info ...

No one to date has come back from where you are ....

Thx Josh
Last edited by lj50036; 31st August 2014 at 11:01 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes