Post Reply

[Q] Asus Transformer tf700 freezing randomly

OP Kaij

29th August 2014, 03:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
During normal use of the Asus it will freeze. The screen stays frozen until I shut down the tablet manually. When I start the tablet again it boots up and works normally but it is only a matter of time before it freezes again.

I have tried to cold boot it but all that happens is I hold the volume and power buttons down it vibrates but the screen just stays black and there seems to be no affect.

I have limited knowledge with these kind of things but any help is greatly appreciated, thank you in advance.
30th August 2014, 05:00 AM   |  #2  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 938
 
2,856 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
What's your situation?
Are you on stock? Which version?
Rooted?
Custom rom/recovery? Which one?
If you're on stock it seems to be time for a factory restore from Settings.
Backup everything you care about off the tablet (you can use Asus Backup for this), then go to Settings > Backup & reset and reset the tablet.
Reboot and restore the backup. If you get the same behaviour, do the factory reset again but install your apps a few at a time from the Play Store and test the tablet in between. One of them could be the culprit.
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2014, 02:38 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

What's your situation?
Are you on stock? Which version?
Rooted?
Custom rom/recovery? Which one?
If you're on stock it seems to be time for a factory restore from Settings.
Backup everything you care about off the tablet (you can use Asus Backup for this), then go to Settings > Backup & reset and reset the tablet.
Reboot and restore the backup. If you get the same behaviour, do the factory reset again but install your apps a few at a time from the Play Store and test the tablet in between. One of them could be the culprit.

It is running android 4.2.1.
Yes it is rooted.
It is a custom recovery. The Recovery is Team Win Recovery Project v2.7.1.1
The Kernel Version is 3.1.10-03bcdcb1 android@Mercury#1 Fri Mar 29 17:0432 CST 2013
The Build is JO4OD.WW_epad-10.6.1.14.4-20130329660

I have successfully done the factory reset but it froze in the setup area. I did eventually manage to get through but it still freezes as usual.
30th August 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #4  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 938
 
2,856 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaij

It is running android 4.2.1.
Yes it is rooted.
It is a custom recovery. The Recovery is Team Win Recovery Project v2.7.1.1
The Kernel Version is 3.1.10-03bcdcb1 android@Mercury#1 Fri Mar 29 17:0432 CST 2013
The Build is JO4OD.WW_epad-10.6.1.14.4-20130329660

I have successfully done the factory reset but it froze in the setup area. I did eventually manage to get through but it still freezes as usual.

Should have elaborated I guess....
Do not do that factory reset from Settings or the bootloader again with a custom recovery installed! You can end up in a nasty forced reboot to recovery loop...

Ok, you are on a current recovery, your bootloader is up to date enough for JB based roms but I would not try to run KitKat roms on it.
Did you ever run a custom rom? Just to confirm your bootloader version, boot with Power and Volume Down buttons and read the tiny script.
That's the only sure way to determine your bootloader version.
If you are on 10.6.1.14.4 you can head over to the Development section and download CROMi-X 5.4.
Boot to TWRP, choose Wipe and just swipe the button to prepare your tablet for a clean installation of CROMi-X.
Once that is done flash CROMi-X 5.4 in TWRP.

If you want to run a KitKat based rom you should update your bootloader first.
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st August 2014, 03:48 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Should have elaborated I guess....
Do not do that factory reset from Settings or the bootloader again with a custom recovery installed! You can end up in a nasty forced reboot to recovery loop...

Ok, you are on a current recovery, your bootloader is up to date enough for JB based roms but I would not try to run KitKat roms on it.
Did you ever run a custom rom? Just to confirm your bootloader version, boot with Power and Volume Down buttons and read the tiny script.
That's the only sure way to determine your bootloader version.
If you are on 10.6.1.14.4 you can head over to the Development section and download CROMi-X 5.4.
Boot to TWRP, choose Wipe and just swipe the button to prepare your tablet for a clean installation of CROMi-X.
Once that is done flash CROMi-X 5.4 in TWRP.

If you want to run a KitKat based rom you should update your bootloader first.

[/CODE]
Key driver not found.. Booting OS
Android cardhu-user bootloader <1.00 e> released by "WW_epad-10.6.1.14.4-20130329" A03

Starting Fastboot USB download protocol
[/CODE]

This is what it says in the boot loader screen.
I have wiped the stock ROM through TWRP and installed Chromi-X 5.4.
Once I boot into android the screen freezes after a short while in setup.
31st August 2014, 03:58 PM   |  #6  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,126
 
11,639 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaij

[/CODE]
Key driver not found.. Booting OS
Android cardhu-user bootloader <1.00 e> released by "WW_epad-10.6.1.14.4-20130329" A03

Starting Fastboot USB download protocol
[/CODE]

This is what it says in the boot loader screen.
I have wiped the stock ROM through TWRP and installed Chromi-X 5.4.
Once I boot into android the screen freezes after a short while in setup.

I think it would be worth you flashing the bootloader and twrp package in the first post of CROMi-X Reboot once after then flash the rom again.
The Following User Says Thank You to sbdags For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF700 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank