Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

[Q] TF700 Unable to mount internal memory

OP -Ngu

27th August 2014, 12:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
This is a really weird problem that i have come across.
I had crombi-kk installed in it. But because of some bugs, i decided to install cm10.2.
I booted up in twrp v2.7.1.1 recovery and chose to Wipe>format data. It started but never ended.
When about 20mins had passed it was still the same, i thought it had hanged so i rebooted.
Then i sideloaded cm10.2. After twrp installed the rom, it showed an error E: unable to mount /data.
I rebooted and it didnot go any further from cyanogenmod bootanimation.
I again rebooted into recovery and chose Factory Default, it failed and showed the above error and 1 more E: unable to mount internal memory.

Then I flashed cwm v6.0.4.7 and i sideloaded which resulted the same. Then i went to mounts and storage and chose mount usb.
But it didnot show up in my pc.
I searched over the net and found that this kind of problem occured when the sdcard was mounted as logical.
Ok, i get that, but now how do i fix this problem? The sdcard isn't showing up on the pc!!
27th August 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #2  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,125
 
11,638 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Ngu

This is a really weird problem that i have come across.
I had crombi-kk installed in it. But because of some bugs, i decided to install cm10.2.
I booted up in twrp v2.7.1.1 recovery and chose to Wipe>format data. It started but never ended.
When about 20mins had passed it was still the same, i thought it had hanged so i rebooted.
Then i sideloaded cm10.2. After twrp installed the rom, it showed an error E: unable to mount /data.
I rebooted and it didnot go any further from cyanogenmod bootanimation.
I again rebooted into recovery and chose Factory Default, it failed and showed the above error and 1 more E: unable to mount internal memory.

Then I flashed cwm v6.0.4.7 and i sideloaded which resulted the same. Then i went to mounts and storage and chose mount usb.
But it didnot show up in my pc.
I searched over the net and found that this kind of problem occured when the sdcard was mounted as logical.
Ok, i get that, but now how do i fix this problem? The sdcard isn't showing up on the pc!!

It takes about 2 hours to format data so you interrupted it in the middle.

You need to format the data again and this time let it finish please.
27th August 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

It takes about 2 hours to format data so you interrupted it in the middle.

You need to format the data again and this time let it finish please.



Are you sure this would really work?
because it shows, E: Can't mount /data
E: Can't mount internal memory
27th August 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #4  
rharshit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 863
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

It takes about 2 hours to format data so you interrupted it in the middle.

You need to format the data again and this time let it finish please.

2 hours? Really? What does it do?
It just wipes the days, right.
Now don't say it recreates the partition

Sent from my Xperia M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th August 2014, 05:13 PM   |  #5  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,125
 
11,638 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhar****

2 hours? Really? What does it do?
It just wipes the days, right.
Now don't say it recreates the partition

Sent from my Xperia M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

No TWRP changed it a few versions back I think it fills every single piece of the emmc with 0000s. Which on mine took 90mins.

Reflash TWRP and see if it will let you do it again. Otherwise you may have to erase it from fastboot.
The Following User Says Thank You to sbdags For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th August 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #6  
rharshit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 863
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

No TWRP changed it a few versions back I think it fills every single piece of the emmc with 0000s. Which on mine took 90mins.

Reflash TWRP and see if it will let you do it again. Otherwise you may have to erase it from fastboot.

Okay. I haven't seen the source. But shouldn't be a problem on trwp 2.6.x, right?
And why did they change it to fill the whole block with 0's?

Sent from my Xperia M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th August 2014, 10:34 PM   |  #7  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,470
 
3,486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhar****

And why did they change it to fill the whole block with 0's?

That was a change in the base Android libraries. It actually doesn't fill the device with zeros, it calls the "secure erase" command of the eMMC (aka the secure version of "trim"), and that is slow.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to _that For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF700 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank