FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Q] Updating Bootloader

24 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By gdselzer, Junior Member on 27th August 2014, 02:36 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have an unlocked and rooted tf700 that I have loaded with CM11. I am currently on bootloader 10.6.1.14.8 and using CWM 6.0.4.7.

I would like to install the newly released SlimKat ROM for the device, but it requires the most up to date bootloader, 10.6.1.14.10. I can't figure out how to update my device.

I tried the guide here, but that appears to only work if you are on stock. I also tried the zip package in this post that includes the bootloader and TWRP, but I get an "assert" error from CWM when trying to install the zip.

Can anyone please point me to a guide on how to update the bootloader to 10.6.1.14.10 on this tablet with a custom ROM loaded?
Last edited by gdselzer; 27th August 2014 at 02:41 AM.
 
 
27th August 2014, 02:47 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 633
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

I have an unlocked and rooted tf700 that I have loaded with CM11. I am currently on bootloader 10.6.1.14.8 and using CWM 6.0.4.7.

I would like to install the newly released SlimKat ROM for the device, but it requires the most up to date bootloader, 10.6.1.14.10. I can't figure out how to update my device.

I tried the guide here, but that appears to only work if you are on stock. I also tried the zip package in this post that includes the bootloader and TWRP, but I get an "assert" error from CWM when trying to install the zip.

Can anyone please point me to a guide on how to update the bootloader to 10.6.1.14.10 on this tablet with a custom ROM loaded?

BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KEEP INCLUDING YOUR PERSONAL STUFFS...

1.Go to Asus support website and download the correct SKU for you device
2. Extract it once and it should be another zip file
3. Go to CWM and install the second zip file
4. You should have the latest bootloader that you just downloaded but you need to use fastboot to install your custom recovery again, good luck...
27th August 2014, 02:54 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetMeKnow

BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KEEP INCLUDING YOUR PERSONAL STUFFS...

1.Go to Asus support website and download the correct SKU for you device
2. Extract it once and it should be another zip file
3. Go to CWM and install the second zip file
4. You should have the latest bootloader that you just downloaded but you need to use fastboot to install your custom recovery again, good luck...

Sorry, should have mentioned that I tried that as well. I get an assert failed, Status 7 error when I try installing the zip from the Asus website.
Last edited by gdselzer; 27th August 2014 at 02:56 AM. Reason: misspelled word
27th August 2014, 02:58 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 633
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Sorry, should have mentioned that I tried that as well. I get an assert failed, Status 7 error when I try installing the zip from the Asus website.


Try this method and start reading page #2, good luck...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...t2858019/page2

EDIT: Did you have a correct SKU for your device? The error message is telling you that something is incompatible with your device. You may want to double check the file to be safe...
Last edited by LetMeKnow; 27th August 2014 at 03:10 AM.
29th August 2014, 09:25 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Been working on this for a few days now and I'm stuck. I've never used fastboot before.

I'm on Ubuntu 14.04, so I installed fastboot via:

Code:
sudo aptitude install android-tools-fastboot
I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives) and do
Code:
fastboot devices
Result is
Quote:

015d2a5087181817 fastboot

Looking good, right?
Now I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
Quote:

< waiting for device >

and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LetMeKnow

Try this method and start reading page #2, good luck...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...t2858019/page2

EDIT: Did you have a correct SKU for your device? The error message is telling you that something is incompatible with your device. You may want to double check the file to be safe...

29th August 2014, 09:58 PM |#6  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 14,925
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Been working on this for a few days now and I'm stuck. I've never used fastboot before.

I'm on Ubuntu 14.04, so I installed fastboot via:

Code:
sudo aptitude install android-tools-fastboot
I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives) and do
Code:
fastboot devices
Result is

Looking good, right?
Now I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?

Don't worry 14.8 is the same as 14.10 so you don't need to upgrade
29th August 2014, 11:11 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 633
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Now I try

Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?

You may want to go to the Asus setting and select the "developer options". Enable the "USB debugging" and try the fastboot again, good luck..
30th August 2014, 12:36 AM |#8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,868
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives)

If you're root that should work, but you shouldn't do this. Putting non-programs in /usr/bin the wrong thing to do, and you should normally not work as root either. Instead you should have your udev rules set up so you can access your device with your normal user account. Your files should be somewhere in your home directory. If you don't specify a path for your blob in the fastboot command line, your blob must be in the *current* directory.

But if you do work as root (dangerous as it is), you can avoid setting udev rules. Your blob must still be in your current directory, not in the directory where fastboot is. Or you specify the path to your blob, e.g. "fastboot flash system ~/tf700/blob" (or wherever you put it).
30th August 2014, 05:03 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

Don't worry 14.8 is the same as 14.10 so you don't need to upgrade

Good to know. I flashed the ROM and all seemed to work fine. That said, I still think it would be good to get fastboot working...
30th August 2014, 05:10 AM |#10  
berndblb's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,399
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Good to know. I flashed the ROM and all seemed to work fine. That said, I still think it would be good to get fastboot working...

Oh YES!!!!
Essential, actually IMO
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes