Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,356 Members 39,139 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Updating Bootloader

Tip us?
 
gdselzer
Old
(Last edited by gdselzer; 27th August 2014 at 02:41 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] Updating Bootloader

I have an unlocked and rooted tf700 that I have loaded with CM11. I am currently on bootloader 10.6.1.14.8 and using CWM 6.0.4.7.

I would like to install the newly released SlimKat ROM for the device, but it requires the most up to date bootloader, 10.6.1.14.10. I can't figure out how to update my device.

I tried the guide here, but that appears to only work if you are on stock. I also tried the zip package in this post that includes the bootloader and TWRP, but I get an "assert" error from CWM when trying to install the zip.

Can anyone please point me to a guide on how to update the bootloader to 10.6.1.14.10 on this tablet with a custom ROM loaded?
 
LetMeKnow
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer View Post
I have an unlocked and rooted tf700 that I have loaded with CM11. I am currently on bootloader 10.6.1.14.8 and using CWM 6.0.4.7.

I would like to install the newly released SlimKat ROM for the device, but it requires the most up to date bootloader, 10.6.1.14.10. I can't figure out how to update my device.

I tried the guide here, but that appears to only work if you are on stock. I also tried the zip package in this post that includes the bootloader and TWRP, but I get an "assert" error from CWM when trying to install the zip.

Can anyone please point me to a guide on how to update the bootloader to 10.6.1.14.10 on this tablet with a custom ROM loaded?
BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KEEP INCLUDING YOUR PERSONAL STUFFS...

1.Go to Asus support website and download the correct SKU for you device
2. Extract it once and it should be another zip file
3. Go to CWM and install the second zip file
4. You should have the latest bootloader that you just downloaded but you need to use fastboot to install your custom recovery again, good luck...
 
gdselzer
Old
(Last edited by gdselzer; 27th August 2014 at 02:56 AM.) Reason: misspelled word
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetMeKnow View Post
BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KEEP INCLUDING YOUR PERSONAL STUFFS...

1.Go to Asus support website and download the correct SKU for you device
2. Extract it once and it should be another zip file
3. Go to CWM and install the second zip file
4. You should have the latest bootloader that you just downloaded but you need to use fastboot to install your custom recovery again, good luck...
Sorry, should have mentioned that I tried that as well. I get an assert failed, Status 7 error when I try installing the zip from the Asus website.
 
LetMeKnow
Old
(Last edited by LetMeKnow; 27th August 2014 at 03:10 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer View Post
Sorry, should have mentioned that I tried that as well. I get an assert failed, Status 7 error when I try installing the zip from the Asus website.

Try this method and start reading page #2, good luck...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...t2858019/page2

EDIT: Did you have a correct SKU for your device? The error message is telling you that something is incompatible with your device. You may want to double check the file to be safe...
 
gdselzer
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2010
Been working on this for a few days now and I'm stuck. I've never used fastboot before.

I'm on Ubuntu 14.04, so I installed fastboot via:

Code:
sudo aptitude install android-tools-fastboot
I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives) and do
Code:
fastboot devices
Result is
Quote:
015d2a5087181817 fastboot
Looking good, right?
Now I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
Quote:
< waiting for device >
and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LetMeKnow View Post
Try this method and start reading page #2, good luck...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...t2858019/page2

EDIT: Did you have a correct SKU for your device? The error message is telling you that something is incompatible with your device. You may want to double check the file to be safe...
 
sbdags
Old
#6  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 12,929
Posts: 11,445
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kenilworth, Coventry

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer View Post
Been working on this for a few days now and I'm stuck. I've never used fastboot before.

I'm on Ubuntu 14.04, so I installed fastboot via:

Code:
sudo aptitude install android-tools-fastboot
I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives) and do
Code:
fastboot devices
Result is

Looking good, right?
Now I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?
Don't worry 14.8 is the same as 14.10 so you don't need to upgrade
 
LetMeKnow
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer View Post
Now I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?
You may want to go to the Asus setting and select the "developer options". Enable the "USB debugging" and try the fastboot again, good luck..
 
_that
Old
#8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,421
Posts: 3,427
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer View Post
I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives)
If you're root that should work, but you shouldn't do this. Putting non-programs in /usr/bin the wrong thing to do, and you should normally not work as root either. Instead you should have your udev rules set up so you can access your device with your normal user account. Your files should be somewhere in your home directory. If you don't specify a path for your blob in the fastboot command line, your blob must be in the *current* directory.

But if you do work as root (dangerous as it is), you can avoid setting udev rules. Your blob must still be in your current directory, not in the directory where fastboot is. Or you specify the path to your blob, e.g. "fastboot flash system ~/tf700/blob" (or wherever you put it).
 
gdselzer
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags View Post
Don't worry 14.8 is the same as 14.10 so you don't need to upgrade
Good to know. I flashed the ROM and all seemed to work fine. That said, I still think it would be good to get fastboot working...
 
berndblb
Old
#10  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 875
Posts: 2,686
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer View Post
Good to know. I flashed the ROM and all seemed to work fine. That said, I still think it would be good to get fastboot working...
Oh YES!!!!
Essential, actually IMO

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more