Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Updating Bootloader

OP gdselzer

27th August 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I have an unlocked and rooted tf700 that I have loaded with CM11. I am currently on bootloader 10.6.1.14.8 and using CWM 6.0.4.7.

I would like to install the newly released SlimKat ROM for the device, but it requires the most up to date bootloader, 10.6.1.14.10. I can't figure out how to update my device.

I tried the guide here, but that appears to only work if you are on stock. I also tried the zip package in this post that includes the bootloader and TWRP, but I get an "assert" error from CWM when trying to install the zip.

Can anyone please point me to a guide on how to update the bootloader to 10.6.1.14.10 on this tablet with a custom ROM loaded?
Last edited by gdselzer; 27th August 2014 at 03:41 AM.
27th August 2014, 03:47 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 605
 
1,502 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

I have an unlocked and rooted tf700 that I have loaded with CM11. I am currently on bootloader 10.6.1.14.8 and using CWM 6.0.4.7.

I would like to install the newly released SlimKat ROM for the device, but it requires the most up to date bootloader, 10.6.1.14.10. I can't figure out how to update my device.

I tried the guide here, but that appears to only work if you are on stock. I also tried the zip package in this post that includes the bootloader and TWRP, but I get an "assert" error from CWM when trying to install the zip.

Can anyone please point me to a guide on how to update the bootloader to 10.6.1.14.10 on this tablet with a custom ROM loaded?

BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KEEP INCLUDING YOUR PERSONAL STUFFS...

1.Go to Asus support website and download the correct SKU for you device
2. Extract it once and it should be another zip file
3. Go to CWM and install the second zip file
4. You should have the latest bootloader that you just downloaded but you need to use fastboot to install your custom recovery again, good luck...
27th August 2014, 03:54 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetMeKnow

BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KEEP INCLUDING YOUR PERSONAL STUFFS...

1.Go to Asus support website and download the correct SKU for you device
2. Extract it once and it should be another zip file
3. Go to CWM and install the second zip file
4. You should have the latest bootloader that you just downloaded but you need to use fastboot to install your custom recovery again, good luck...

Sorry, should have mentioned that I tried that as well. I get an assert failed, Status 7 error when I try installing the zip from the Asus website.
Last edited by gdselzer; 27th August 2014 at 03:56 AM. Reason: misspelled word
27th August 2014, 03:58 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 605
 
1,502 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Sorry, should have mentioned that I tried that as well. I get an assert failed, Status 7 error when I try installing the zip from the Asus website.


Try this method and start reading page #2, good luck...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...t2858019/page2

EDIT: Did you have a correct SKU for your device? The error message is telling you that something is incompatible with your device. You may want to double check the file to be safe...
Last edited by LetMeKnow; 27th August 2014 at 04:10 AM.
29th August 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Been working on this for a few days now and I'm stuck. I've never used fastboot before.

I'm on Ubuntu 14.04, so I installed fastboot via:

Code:
sudo aptitude install android-tools-fastboot
I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives) and do
Code:
fastboot devices
Result is
Quote:

015d2a5087181817 fastboot

Looking good, right?
Now I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
Quote:

< waiting for device >

and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LetMeKnow

Try this method and start reading page #2, good luck...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...t2858019/page2

EDIT: Did you have a correct SKU for your device? The error message is telling you that something is incompatible with your device. You may want to double check the file to be safe...

29th August 2014, 10:58 PM   |  #6  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,225
 
11,664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Been working on this for a few days now and I'm stuck. I've never used fastboot before.

I'm on Ubuntu 14.04, so I installed fastboot via:

Code:
sudo aptitude install android-tools-fastboot
I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives) and do
Code:
fastboot devices
Result is

Looking good, right?
Now I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?

Don't worry 14.8 is the same as 14.10 so you don't need to upgrade
30th August 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 605
 
1,502 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Now I try

Code:
fastboot -i 0x0b05 flash system blob
and it just sits there. Same thing if I try
Code:
fastboot -i 0x0B05 reboot
How do I get fastboot to work?

You may want to go to the Asus setting and select the "developer options". Enable the "USB debugging" and try the fastboot again, good luck..
30th August 2014, 01:36 AM   |  #8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,503
 
3,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

I moved the blob to /usr/bin (directory where fastboot lives)

If you're root that should work, but you shouldn't do this. Putting non-programs in /usr/bin the wrong thing to do, and you should normally not work as root either. Instead you should have your udev rules set up so you can access your device with your normal user account. Your files should be somewhere in your home directory. If you don't specify a path for your blob in the fastboot command line, your blob must be in the *current* directory.

But if you do work as root (dangerous as it is), you can avoid setting udev rules. Your blob must still be in your current directory, not in the directory where fastboot is. Or you specify the path to your blob, e.g. "fastboot flash system ~/tf700/blob" (or wherever you put it).
30th August 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

Don't worry 14.8 is the same as 14.10 so you don't need to upgrade

Good to know. I flashed the ROM and all seemed to work fine. That said, I still think it would be good to get fastboot working...
30th August 2014, 06:10 AM   |  #10  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,005
 
3,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdselzer

Good to know. I flashed the ROM and all seemed to work fine. That said, I still think it would be good to get fastboot working...

Oh YES!!!!
Essential, actually IMO

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes