Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,635 Members 52,870 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Error mounting data and cache

Tip us?
 
devbro
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 133
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Error mounting data and cache

Hello Everyone

I have run into an odd problem. My tf701 ran out of power while I was watching netflix on it. After that it got stuck on boot. When I tried to fiddle using CWM I found out that I cannot mount data or cache. Further more I get to see 5 lines of "E: can't mount /recovery/*" where * are folders within /recovery/ . I tried to format system using CWM or fastboot, they both say they succeed but when I reboot I still get my bootanimation. At this I am out of ideas as to how I can fix it. Furthermore thanks to being unlocked I lost my warranty .

Any suggestions as to how I can fix it?
mytouch 3G->HTC desire HD->Moto Atrix 4G -> Samsung Galaxy note-> galaxy S4 i337 -> HTC one M8 AT&T

Make your own bootanimations: http://aboota.devbro.com/

The New way of launching your apps: Devbro Appdrawer at google play

Are you a medical student writing USMLE CS? use USMLE CS TIMER
 
YayYouFixedIt
Old
(Last edited by YayYouFixedIt; 13th July 2014 at 04:53 PM.)
#2  
YayYouFixedIt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 486
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by devbro View Post
Hello Everyone

I have run into an odd problem. My tf701 ran out of power while I was watching netflix on it. After that it got stuck on boot. When I tried to fiddle using CWM I found out that I cannot mount data or cache. Further more I get to see 5 lines of "E: can't mount /recovery/*" where * are folders within /recovery/ . I tried to format system using CWM or fastboot, they both say they succeed but when I reboot I still get my bootanimation. At this I am out of ideas as to how I can fix it. Furthermore thanks to being unlocked I lost my warranty .

Any suggestions as to how I can fix it?
Maybe I saw something like this I dont know. Did you try mounting system first and see if that fixes it? I have no idea.
EDIT: from CWM I mean. I had a situtation where some things would not mount. data being one of them.. Not sure what else. Then I just mounted /system and everything was ok. Could it be that for some reason system is not getting mounted and you not formatting it besides an empty directory.
 
devbro
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 133
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by YayYouFixedIt View Post
Maybe I saw something like this I dont know. Did you try mounting system first and see if that fixes it? I have no idea.
EDIT: from CWM I mean.
Yes I tried no luck. When I try to format /data using fastboot it simply hangs both the device and the terminal too.
mytouch 3G->HTC desire HD->Moto Atrix 4G -> Samsung Galaxy note-> galaxy S4 i337 -> HTC one M8 AT&T

Make your own bootanimations: http://aboota.devbro.com/

The New way of launching your apps: Devbro Appdrawer at google play

Are you a medical student writing USMLE CS? use USMLE CS TIMER
 
pershoot
Old
(Last edited by pershoot; 14th July 2014 at 03:01 AM.)
#4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3831
Posts: 7,689
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by devbro View Post
Yes I tried no luck. When I try to format /data using fastboot it simply hangs both the device and the terminal too.
some corruption seems to have occurred.

perform a hard reset in the 'stock' recovery (this will format /data).

then boot in and re-setup. any userdata you had will be gone (including media/content stored locally, etc.).

in case of /system corruption (after performing the above; you still cannot boot in), you can format that partition separately and re-flash it from the CWM file for the latest posted stock update.

you can find file(s) on droidbasement, as needed.
 
nero0345
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Nov 2011
I belive I have the same probleme, how i could i do it right?
 
berndblb
Old
#6  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,563
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by devbro View Post
Yes I tried no luck. When I try to format /data using fastboot it simply hangs both the device and the terminal too.
How did you try to format data in fastboot??
That's done in recovery afaik.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nero0345 View Post
I belive I have the same probleme, how i could i do it right?
What problem do you have? /data not mounting? Format it in recovery but you will loose everything stored on your internal SD.
 
devbro
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 133
Join Date: Feb 2010
I finally took my tablet in for a check with asus. They said that I ahve corrupted my boot and since I replace the recovery there is no way to fix it. the only way to fix it is to replace the motherboard at this point. It will cost 190$ to replace!!!!
mytouch 3G->HTC desire HD->Moto Atrix 4G -> Samsung Galaxy note-> galaxy S4 i337 -> HTC one M8 AT&T

Make your own bootanimations: http://aboota.devbro.com/

The New way of launching your apps: Devbro Appdrawer at google play

Are you a medical student writing USMLE CS? use USMLE CS TIMER
 
devbro
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 133
Join Date: Feb 2010
Just as an update to the future readers. I ended up replacing my logic board inside using one that I got from ebay. My tablet now works just as new. As per advice of the Asus tech, DO NOT FLASH a new recovery. If anything goes wrong the original asus recovery is the only way to fix things.
mytouch 3G->HTC desire HD->Moto Atrix 4G -> Samsung Galaxy note-> galaxy S4 i337 -> HTC one M8 AT&T

Make your own bootanimations: http://aboota.devbro.com/

The New way of launching your apps: Devbro Appdrawer at google play

Are you a medical student writing USMLE CS? use USMLE CS TIMER
 
berndblb
Old
#9  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,563
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by devbro View Post
Just as an update to the future readers. I ended up replacing my logic board inside using one that I got from ebay. My tablet now works just as new. As per advice of the Asus tech, DO NOT FLASH a new recovery. If anything goes wrong the original asus recovery is the only way to fix things.
I beg to differ....
The stock recovery can only flash firmware signed by Asus and perform some crude wipe operations.

With a custom recovery you have way more tools at hand to fix problems:
You can wipe or format partitions selectively
You can take nandroids and restore them
You can check the integrity of file systems on partitions
You can fix permissions
You can flash SuperSU, custom roms and more
Some have a build in file manager allowing you to move data off the tablet even if it doesn't boot anymore
Some have a build in terminal you can run commands from.
The list goes on...

But sure - you have to do all of the above including flashing the custom recovery correctly or you can seriously damage your device like you did.
I am really sorry that you lost your mainboard and had to buy a new one, but don't kid yourself: It was not the custom recovery damaging your tablet. It was you...
 
devbro
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 133
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb View Post
I beg to differ....
The stock recovery can only flash firmware signed by Asus and perform some crude wipe operations.

With a custom recovery you have way more tools at hand to fix problems:
You can wipe or format partitions selectively
You can take nandroids and restore them
You can check the integrity of file systems on partitions
You can fix permissions
You can flash SuperSU, custom roms and more
Some have a build in file manager allowing you to move data off the tablet even if it doesn't boot anymore
Some have a build in terminal you can run commands from.
The list goes on...

But sure - you have to do all of the above including flashing the custom recovery correctly or you can seriously damage your device like you did.
I am really sorry that you lost your mainboard and had to buy a new one, but don't kid yourself: It was not the custom recovery damaging your tablet. It was you...
When I talked to the tech at their center, there is apparently some special actions that only their recovery can do. These actions are those that allow changing boot table and other low level functions of the tablet which has nothing to do with the built-in memory or system files.

If I did not replace the recovery, then the repair by asus would have only cost 40$.
mytouch 3G->HTC desire HD->Moto Atrix 4G -> Samsung Galaxy note-> galaxy S4 i337 -> HTC one M8 AT&T

Make your own bootanimations: http://aboota.devbro.com/

The New way of launching your apps: Devbro Appdrawer at google play

Are you a medical student writing USMLE CS? use USMLE CS TIMER

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more

Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more