Should You Get Wear? Wearer’s Practical Observations

Wear is said to not offer enough for mass adoption, even though its been in … more

SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

SlimRoms’ website has been experiencing technical difficulties for the last month or so, but … more

Your Favorite Wireless Charger?

Wireless charging is becoming more and more common as many OEMs are now starting to include this feature … more

ASUS US Invites Developers at XDA to Special Event

ASUS has built a solid name over the years for their computer components, but in the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[HACK] Change System Status to 'Official' with only Busybox

28th August 2014, 07:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,113
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Hi guys,

I found a method to change System Status in Odin mode to 'Official/Samsung' that is very simple and only using the busybox application "devmem". Use this command in adb shell or terminal emulator. Just type it in, hit enter, and reboot. Bam.

Code:
devmem 0xF91CF8C 32 0xFF000000
This will change your status to Official and remove the padlock with 'Custom' on it. If you want 'Custom', replace FF with EE.

Immediately upon reboot, Odin mode and the device recognize the device as official.

The explanation is that this is from a small region of memory that stores what's known as DDI data. I don't know what that means yet, but some other information like the CC Mode flag and device name/product number are stored here. I'm still doing further research on what else resides here.

Enjoy.
Last edited by ryanbg; 28th August 2014 at 01:43 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to ryanbg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2014, 01:58 PM   |  #2  
E:V:A's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag -∇ϕ
Thanks Meter: 1,959
 
1,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Seem that "DDI" can be either:
  1. A "MAC-e header parameter" as specified HERE.
    Quote:

    Data Description Indicator (DDI):
    The DDI field identifies the logical channel, MAC-d flow and size of the MAC-d
    PDUs concatenated into the 3GPP associated MAC-es PDU. The mapping between the
    DDI values and the logical channel ID, MAC-d flow and PDU size is provided by
    higher layers. The length of the DDI field is 6 bits. When, due to the
    quantization in the transport block sizes that can be supported, the size of the
    data plus header is less than the TB size originally selected by the E-TFC
    selection entity minus 6 bits, the DDI value [111111] shall be appended at the
    end of the MAC-e header to indicate that there are no more MAC-es PDUs
    concatenated into this MAC-e PDU. In any other case it will be understood that
    another MAC-es PDU would not fit and it will therefore not be necessary to
    reserve room in the transport block for this additional DDI field.

  2. QVGA Display Driver IC (DDI) chip that incorporates QUALCOMM's Mobile Display Digital Interface (MDDI).


I'd vote its the second, as it also contain a good chunk of SRAM memory.
Last edited by E:V:A; 28th August 2014 at 02:01 PM.
29th August 2014, 12:22 AM   |  #3  
coreydkoster's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Couldn't get this to work. Anyone else have any luck?
29th August 2014, 07:19 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,113
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by coreydkoster

Couldn't get this to work. Anyone else have any luck?

What didn't work? Do you have busybox installed?
29th August 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #5  
RomsWell's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venice
Thanks Meter: 1,036
 
1,595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanbg

What didn't work? Do you have busybox installed?

I havent got it to work either. Though im guessing its only good til a reboot before it gets rewritten?
29th August 2014, 02:13 PM   |  #6  
czach5932's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gretna
Thanks Meter: 30
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
I thought I read in passing that syscope was the app that checked to see if the system was modified or not. I think it said if you get your phone to say official and freeze/uninstall syscope you won't have the padlock show up anymore.

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium HD app
29th August 2014, 04:42 PM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
Flag germantown
Thanks Meter: 75
 
212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Triangle away app gets rid of the padlock.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda premium
1st September 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 99
 
527 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Wanam Xposed module also can get rid of the custom status padlock also.
18th February 2015, 06:52 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2015
More
I get to here but not anywhere else. Am I on the right track.. If so what next?

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 06:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:50 AM ----------

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes