Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,173 Members 40,896 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Screen Casting From Android Is Now Live w/ Chromecast

Tip us?
 
guitarshredder87
Old
#11  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23 View Post
It's working fine through the Chomecast app for me. I haven't tried any games but everything else is smooth including 1080p videos that were recorded on my phone.
Be cautious with games. My phone shut down several services and a warning screen appeared stating my phone was too hot.
 
blindside2171
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Does that mirroring work directly from chromecast to phone or do you still need a wifi network to connect them both to?

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
airmaxx23
Old
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 945
Posts: 3,182
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colton, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindside2171 View Post
Does that mirroring work directly from chromecast to phone or do you still need a wifi network to connect them both to?

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
You still need to use Wi-Fi.
*** Please don't forget to hit the "Thanks" button if someone has helped you ***

"I know I was born and I know that I'll die, the in-between is mine"
 
jengobengo
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Oct 2013
I'm on Android 4.3, Beanstown build 6, so I can't screen cast Is there an update path I can take (possibly new ROM) that will get me 4.4 and the ability to use this new feature? (I have Chromecast app ver 1.7.4)
 
badchorizo
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Could people who have it working SMOOTHLY (to me not smoothly = not working) at 1080p please post the wifi setup they are using? (Router/AP model and 2.4 or 5ghz, is it in the same room, other devices connected, port forwarding or QoS or other router config, or anything else noteworthy)

I haven't touched my chromecast in 3 months because it basically didn't work for anything I wanted to do (main thing is playing photos/videos shot with camera on a bigger screen). Back then I was using a wired router and a Asus EAN66 as wifi AP (box-claim speed of 450 mbps) sitting within 10 feet of both phone and TV/Chromecast in the same room but it was horrible - I was lucky to get maybe 20 seconds of smooth video max. Then it would crash. Much faster to transfer files to computer via usb3 or sdcard then play on TV. Similar story on a Linksys E1000 but I forget which was worse.

True smooth 1080p screen mirroring... that would be nice. Truly something that would wow people. I now have Netgear R7000 (model name "Overkill") and it's 5 feet from the TV so it really better work now! I'll report tomorrow when I can mess with it.
 
skyhawk21
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 84
Join Date: Mar 2009
I had it working smoothly. First I had to update to most recent chromecast app from google play in US, then once I tried screen mirroring option in the app, it would connect to my chromecast but show nothing. After doing this the chromecast then wanted to reboot and update itself to a later software build. While it rebooted rebooted note 3 and laoded up the chromecast app, option was there to mirror to tv so I chose it and it worked flawlessly and smooth even playing games. I was using stock android TW 4.4.2 and played trials frontier. I have a netgear WNDR 3700 V1 router using 54g (2.4) to connect phone and chromecast to. The tv was like 1ms behind what was displayed on phone but still worked flawlessly. I had my phone power saving mode on and cpu power saving checked. Even with this power saving it worked great for web browsing, videos, and games. Phone did get hot and battery drained quickly! I also use WPA 2 encryption and security!

Quote:
Originally Posted by badchorizo View Post
Could people who have it working SMOOTHLY (to me not smoothly = not working) at 1080p please post the wifi setup they are using? (Router/AP model and 2.4 or 5ghz, is it in the same room, other devices connected, port forwarding or QoS or other router config, or anything else noteworthy)

I haven't touched my chromecast in 3 months because it basically didn't work for anything I wanted to do (main thing is playing photos/videos shot with camera on a bigger screen). Back then I was using a wired router and a Asus EAN66 as wifi AP (box-claim speed of 450 mbps) sitting within 10 feet of both phone and TV/Chromecast in the same room but it was horrible - I was lucky to get maybe 20 seconds of smooth video max. Then it would crash. Much faster to transfer files to computer via usb3 or sdcard then play on TV. Similar story on a Linksys E1000 but I forget which was worse.

True smooth 1080p screen mirroring... that would be nice. Truly something that would wow people. I now have Netgear R7000 (model name "Overkill") and it's 5 feet from the TV so it really better work now! I'll report tomorrow when I can mess with it.
 
kenmorgan
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 68
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by jengobengo View Post
I'm on Android 4.3, Beanstown build 6, so I can't screen cast Is there an update path I can take (possibly new ROM) that will get me 4.4 and the ability to use this new feature? (I have Chromecast app ver 1.7.4)
I was running CleanRom with 4.3, and swithched to BajaRom so I could use my chromecast screenmirroring. Baja is 4.4.2 snd it worked flawlessly. Problem for me is, I dont like Baja. Im gonna go back to CleanRom 4.3 jellybean. The trade just isnt worth it for me.
Hope that helps ya.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...