Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,322 Members 50,064 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] "the clipboard history was cleared"

Tip us?
 
bodhisattvah
Old
#1  
bodhisattvah's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] "the clipboard history was cleared"

I've noticed a strange issue, and I'm curious if there's a fix or workaround.

Here's what I'm doing:
1. Open Google now and search
2. Highlight text in the results with a long press and some tap and dragging
3. Tap the copy icon in the clipboard tab at the top.
4. Receive the toast "the clipboard history was cleared"

And indeed, what I just copied will not be I'm the clipboard. Any way to fight this weird Google Now behavior?
 
LeftyGR
Old
#2  
LeftyGR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 554
Posts: 976
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bloomington, IL
You have any xposed mods? I've seen settings for that in those before.
I will not apologize for art.

The Following User Says Thank You to LeftyGR For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bodhisattvah
Old
#3  
bodhisattvah's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeftyGR View Post
You have any xposed mods? I've seen settings for that in those before.
Affirmative. I don't see anything in Wanam or gravitybox that looks like the right thing.

I expect there's a xposed fix for it...just can't find it. And if there isn't, it's a prime candidate for one!
 
dassh
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 107
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodhisattvah View Post
I've noticed a strange issue, and I'm curious if there's a fix or workaround.

Here's what I'm doing:
1. Open Google now and search
2. Highlight text in the results with a long press and some tap and dragging
3. Tap the copy icon in the clipboard tab at the top.
4. Receive the toast "the clipboard history was cleared"

And indeed, what I just copied will not be I'm the clipboard. Any way to fight this weird Google Now behavior?
It sounds like you are using xposed with the Secure Samsung Clipboard module. I use it and see that exact message.
 
bodhisattvah
Old
#5  
bodhisattvah's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by dassh View Post
It sounds like you are using xposed with the Secure Samsung Clipboard module. I use it and see that exact message.
Nope. Not using that mod and haven't ever used it. I am on a Note 3 though.
 
dassh
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 107
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodhisattvah View Post
Nope. Not using that mod and haven't ever used it. I am on a Note 3 though.
what ROM are you running? It may be something baked in by the Dev maybe.... just a shot in the dark.
 
bodhisattvah
Old
#7  
bodhisattvah's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by dassh View Post
what ROM are you running? It may be something baked in by the Dev maybe.... just a shot in the dark.
Stock 4.4.2 from OTA, towelrooted. I believe this behaviour was in place before I re-rooted, after the OTA. I believe it's just the default way for GEL/Google Now to behave. I'm guessing the toast being shown is from the Burnt Toast xposed mod I'm using.

But the issue of the clipboard being cleared is, I believe, not due to a mod. I'm looking to change the default behaviour with a mod, or figure out if anyone is doing that already.

It just seems might odd to me that the clipboard function will pop up and sorta work, but Google makes the clipboard dump, preventing you from using it.
 
dassh
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 107
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodhisattvah View Post
Stock 4.4.2 from OTA, towelrooted. I believe this behaviour was in place before I re-rooted, after the OTA. I believe it's just the default way for GEL/Google Now to behave. I'm guessing the toast being shown is from the Burnt Toast xposed mod I'm using.

But the issue of the clipboard being cleared is, I believe, not due to a mod. I'm looking to change the default behaviour with a mod, or figure out if anyone is doing that already.

It just seems might odd to me that the clipboard function will pop up and sorta work, but Google makes the clipboard dump, preventing you from using it.
I'm stumped. Sorry, I can't offer any additional suggestions.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...