Don’t Forget About Birthdays with Birthday Reminder

A person’s birthday is, without a doubt,one of the most important days in his … more

Don’t Fear Flashing with I Don’t Want You!

The XDA message boards are full of various modifications, with many of these helping … more

Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Need help with Stock NC4

OP computerguydd

9th August 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag NC
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
I have looked through these threads over and over but i just cant find this. I received a replacement phone over a week ago and since then i have not been able to get a custom rom to installed. Can someone help?

Here are the steps I have tried:
TowelRoot to get root
Safestrap Installed
Removed Knox with SuperSu
Rebooted to Safestrap
backup Stock Rom
Full Wipe and tried installing Custom KK NC2/NC4 Rom
After Samsung BootScreen i just get a black screen nothing else ever.
Then i tried after i restored my backup from SafeStrap by flashing NC2 Modem before i did the custom ROM and still Nothing.
9th August 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Escondido
Thanks Meter: 14
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I think you need to install busy box and the NC2 kernel. Follow the steps 1-10 in this thread...and use Jasmine ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760380
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xxperrin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th August 2014, 10:45 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag NC
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
[QUOTE=xxperrin;54706625]I think you need to install busy box and the NC2 kernel. Follow the steps 1-10 in this thread...and use Jasmine ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760380[/QUOTE

i did have busybox installed before i installing safestrap. The thing i was getting messed up on was that I knew being on a Ret Locked Bootloader Device didnt think we could install Kernels. and since i didnt see Kernels in the Modem/Firmware/Tar collection Thread I thought when mentioned to install the NC2 Kernal they were referring to NC2 modem.(i know that modem wouldnt stop a boot since it is just for radio signals but i guess im tired from to much work). But i did a search for NC2 Kernal and found it and now I am up and running. I didnt do Jasmine Rom but Im up.

Feels good to be back on custom roms. Can not stand Stock on Samsung. I just need to bite the bullet and get a Dev so i can get AOSP/k.

Thanks for pushing me in the right directions.
9th August 2014, 05:33 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Escondido
Thanks Meter: 14
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I'm glad you are back up and running!
The Following User Says Thank You to xxperrin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th August 2014, 03:50 AM   |  #5  
kevace1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 8
 
237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
[QUOTE=computerguydd;54711010]
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxperrin

I think you need to install busy box and the NC2 kernel. Follow the steps 1-10 in this thread...and use Jasmine ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760380[/QUOTE

i did have busybox installed before i installing safestrap. The thing i was getting messed up on was that I knew being on a Ret Locked Bootloader Device didnt think we could install Kernels. and since i didnt see Kernels in the Modem/Firmware/Tar collection Thread I thought when mentioned to install the NC2 Kernal they were referring to NC2 modem.(i know that modem wouldnt stop a boot since it is just for radio signals but i guess im tired from to much work). But i did a search for NC2 Kernal and found it and now I am up and running. I didnt do Jasmine Rom but Im up.

Feels good to be back on custom roms. Can not stand Stock on Samsung. I just need to bite the bullet and get a Dev so i can get AOSP/k.

Thanks for pushing me in the right directions.

so you did not use the unified tar that the post included? can you tell me where you got the nc2 modem? im currently in y our same state, i did all the steps for towelroot, SU, busybox, and safestrap, all is there and working, but when i make a rom slot and a install a rom in that slot the phone just boots and stays black.....i installed the alliance BTW, and its a no go.

i just want to do this cause i cant seem to get my vz note 3 to pick up T-mobile signal. i traded my iphone 5s for this and made $80 and now im stuck.....i though the note would work off the bat like the iphone did, which was verizon as well, my phone is on the latest 4.4.2 nc4 build......im just really lost caus nothing of what the posts mention to do work on my phone.....it just wont pick up signal....
10th August 2014, 04:36 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Escondido
Thanks Meter: 14
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Use the stock ROM slot.
10th August 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #7  
damastah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Desert Hot Springs
Thanks Meter: 56
 
340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxperrin

I think you need to install busy box and the NC2 kernel. Follow the steps 1-10 in this thread...and use Jasmine ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2760380

Thank you so much!!!! i WAS GOING CRAZY, thought I had lost my touch....

---------- Post added at 09:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:36 AM ----------

[QUOTE=kevace1;54725653]
Quote:
Originally Posted by computerguydd


so you did not use the unified tar that the post included? can you tell me where you got the nc2 modem? im currently in y our same state, i did all the steps for towelroot, SU, busybox, and safestrap, all is there and working, but when i make a rom slot and a install a rom in that slot the phone just boots and stays black.....i installed the alliance BTW, and its a no go.

i just want to do this cause i cant seem to get my vz note 3 to pick up T-mobile signal. i traded my iphone 5s for this and made $80 and now im stuck.....i though the note would work off the bat like the iphone did, which was verizon as well, my phone is on the latest 4.4.2 nc4 build......im just really lost caus nothing of what the posts mention to do work on my phone.....it just wont pick up signal....

I'm about to install this. http://galaxynote3root.com/verizon-g...on-note-3-nc4/

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes