Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,105 Members 44,971 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Constant 3G - Can only get LTE after boot / Airplane mode toggle (KitKat, EclipseRom)

Tip us?
 
TopHATTwaffle
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Constant 3G - Can only get LTE after boot / Airplane mode toggle (KitKat, EclipseRom)

After my device boots, it will get LTE for about a minute or so then switch to a 3G connection. The only way to get the LTE connection back is to toggle Airplane mode, or reboot. Toggling Mobile Data only gets me a 3G connection. I've let it sit on 3G expecting it to switch back to LTE after a few minutes, no go.

I did not notice this issue when I was on JellyBeans 4.3 Rom. I'm currently running a 4.4.2 Eclipse Rom. I've tried the MI9, MJE, NC2, and NC4 modem all with the same issue. I beginning to think that it's my SIM card that has gone bad. I'm having a new SIM ordered so I can replace it.

Does anyone else have anything that I could try as troubleshooting?
 
Flyer66
Old
#2  
Flyer66's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Washington D.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopHATTwaffle View Post
After my device boots, it will get LTE for about a minute or so then switch to a 3G connection. The only way to get the LTE connection back is to toggle Airplane mode, or reboot. Toggling Mobile Data only gets me a 3G connection. I've let it sit on 3G expecting it to switch back to LTE after a few minutes, no go.

I did not notice this issue when I was on JellyBeans 4.3 Rom. I'm currently running a 4.4.2 Eclipse Rom. I've tried the MI9, MJE, NC2, and NC4 modem all with the same issue. I beginning to think that it's my SIM card that has gone bad. I'm having a new SIM ordered so I can replace it.

Does anyone else have anything that I could try as troubleshooting?
I'm not sure if it's the SIM card that is causing your problem. Just curious....what network mode do you have selected? Global or LTE/CDMA?
If you have "Global" selected, you may want to switch to "LTE/CDMA" and see if that helps.
It could also be EclipseRom. I love the features and looks of AOSP, but my own phone always seems to have a weaker radio signal when I'm on that Rom as compared to true TW Roms.
You may want to further troubleshoot by flashing a different Rom to see if you still get the same LTE drop-offs.
 
TopHATTwaffle
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyer66 View Post
I'm not sure if it's the SIM card that is causing your problem. Just curious....what network mode do you have selected? Global or LTE/CDMA?
If you have "Global" selected, you may want to switch to "LTE/CDMA" and see if that helps.
It could also be EclipseRom. I love the features and looks of AOSP, but my own phone always seems to have a weaker radio signal when I'm on that Rom as compared to true TW Roms.
You may want to further troubleshoot by flashing a different Rom to see if you still get the same LTE drop-offs.
I was on LTE/CDMA then it asked to switch itself to Global mode a few times. Eventually I told it OK. I've noticed no difference with this mode. I've tried JasmineROM and EclipseRom. Both had the same issue. I never had this issue on JellyBeanz 4.3 ROM, so it could be 4.4.2. I'll be trying the new SIM card first, since I'm getting it tomorrow, if that fails I'm going to go on a flash spree and see what happens.

On that note, if I wanted to go back to 4.3, can I? I read somewhere that I can just Odin back to 4.3. I also read somewhere that going from 4.4.2 -> 4.3 will brick the device.
 
TopHATTwaffle
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jan 2012
Got a new SIM from Verizon. All is working now.
 
tennisshoeninja
Old
#5  
tennisshoeninja's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 359
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopHATTwaffle View Post
After my device boots, it will get LTE for about a minute or so then switch to a 3G connection. The only way to get the LTE connection back is to toggle Airplane mode, or reboot. Toggling Mobile Data only gets me a 3G connection. I've let it sit on 3G expecting it to switch back to LTE after a few minutes, no go.

I did not notice this issue when I was on JellyBeans 4.3 Rom. I'm currently running a 4.4.2 Eclipse Rom. I've tried the MI9, MJE, NC2, and NC4 modem all with the same issue. I beginning to think that it's my SIM card that has gone bad. I'm having a new SIM ordered so I can replace it.

Does anyone else have anything that I could try as troubleshooting?
i am having the same issue on the same rom.
let me know what your test prove.
 
TopHATTwaffle
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisshoeninja View Post
i am having the same issue on the same rom.
let me know what your test prove.
Go to a Verizon store and get a new SIM card. That's what I had to do.
 
Flyer66
Old
#7  
Flyer66's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Washington D.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopHATTwaffle View Post
Got a new SIM from Verizon. All is working now.
I'm glad that worked for you!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes