Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,799 Members 48,263 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Kingo Root Not Working

Tip us?
 
marlins43
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reilly1812 View Post
You can't do that. We have a locked bootloader that restricts you to touchwiz roms running on the stock kernel.

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Oh well. Anything else I can do on my rooted phone other than titanium backup and adblocker?
 
Reilly1812
Old
#12  
Reilly1812's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 427
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Long Branch, NJ
you can safestrap and install custom roms - they just have to be touchwiz-based.

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
tlipitli
Old
(Last edited by tlipitli; 8th July 2014 at 10:47 PM.) Reason: add image
#13  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: bridgetown
Default yes we can

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlins43 View Post
Oh well. Anything else I can do on my rooted phone other than titanium backup and adblocker?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reilly1812 View Post
you can safestrap and install custom roms - they just have to be touchwiz-based.

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
in the pic here, all that gobbledeegook speek where your normal "?about phone" should be , tells you this is a vzw note 3, Nc4 stock rooted, ported to T-Mobile Lte , "G" edition (S5 ported) on non-user-ship (non-stock) kernel.
or basically,
using a verizon note 3 as a T-mobile Samsung Galaxy S5, with all of its features, save the one~~ it's not waterproof. , which of course , is in that thread i linked
so there's a;lot you can do with your phone, as it may seem too complicated now, you may want to stick to simpler mods that you can download from google play store, like a different boot animation, meaning to say that instead of the huge red logo you see when you initially turn on yo0ur phone, you can change it to supermario running accross the screen, or that green matrix i/o screen. they may have added more by now, its up to you if that is something you may ne interested int there, or at least its a place to start.as you can see, perhaps a more correct assumption would be to say you cant run touchwiz and another launcher, say Google NOW...... at the same time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-08-13-52-54.png
Views:	15
Size:	184.9 KB
ID:	2840901   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-08-14-36-50.png
Views:	13
Size:	167.6 KB
ID:	2840929  
 
Daedalus-420
Old
#14  
Daedalus-420's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2014
Well, this was originally longer but the forum decided to post limit me because I am new. If you want a Google type experience, you might want to try the Google Experience Launcher (can be side loaded, but won't install from play store). I use this with Xgels and am very happy with the results.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more