FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] SOLVED Long press Menu button remap...

15th July 2014, 09:02 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I'm trying to find out how to remap the long-press Menu and assign it to Google Now voice activation. I have Wanam Xposed installed with the Xposed Additions Pro, but that doesn't give me a way to remap long-press Menu. I've browsed the files in the keylayout folder, but don't want to perform guesswork in there for obvious reasons.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Last edited by vortmax; 19th July 2014 at 09:42 PM.
 
 
16th July 2014, 12:29 AM |#2  
kinstre11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hobe Sound
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
I believe I've seen button remapping options in GravityBox for xposed, however I don't use GB as it does not like TouchWiz based roms and many features simply don't function.
16th July 2014, 02:34 PM |#3  
fletch33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 324
 
More
i use GB with KK and find that almost everything works and you can see the features here

you can also check the Xposed repo where i am sure you can find something here

good luck
16th July 2014, 02:59 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,116
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vortmax

I'm trying to find out how to remap the long-press Menu and assign it to Google Now voice activation. I have Wanam Xposed installed with the Xposed Additions Pro, but that doesn't give me a way to remap long-press Menu. I've browsed the files in the keylayout folder, but don't want to perform guesswork in there for obvious reasons.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Xposed Additions does allow long press remapping but you can't choose an app for it, just system functions. The easiest way to to it is to just delete S-Voice and it will default to Google Now.
16th July 2014, 06:26 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Thanks for all the replies...

Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23

Xposed Additions does allow long press remapping but you can't choose an app for it, just system functions. The easiest way to to it is to just delete S-Voice and it will default to Google Now.

I've already disabled S-Voice, but now nothing happens when I long press Menu...can't seem to assign anything to it either...even via Xposed Additions Pro...

Quote:

i use GB with KK and find that almost everything works and you can see the features

Unfortunately I'm on OTA KK (TouchWiz) so it sounds like GB won't work properly
Last edited by vortmax; 16th July 2014 at 06:32 PM.
16th July 2014, 07:51 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,116
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vortmax

Thanks for all the replies...



I've already disabled S-Voice, but now nothing happens when I long press Menu...can't seem to assign anything to it either...even via Xposed Additions Pro...



Unfortunately I'm on OTA KK (TouchWiz) so it sounds like GB won't work properly

I forgot that you also need to delete S-Finder, I have Google Now working on mine with the menu long press.
Last edited by airmaxx23; 17th July 2014 at 12:36 AM.
18th July 2014, 12:04 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,116
 
More
I found an Xposed module that works, it's Xbutton Actions, you can find it here.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2490029
The Following User Says Thank You to airmaxx23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th July 2014, 08:57 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23

I found an Xposed module that works, it's Xbutton Actions, you can find it here.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2490029

I'll check it out, thanks!
18th July 2014, 09:18 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,116
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vortmax

I'll check it out, thanks!

Please let me know if it works out for you.
19th July 2014, 01:17 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23

Please let me know if it works out for you.

Totally worked! Thank you! For anyone wondering, I'm on OTA KK Verizon...

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank