Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,279 Members 52,660 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SOLVED Long press Menu button remap...

Tip us?
 
vortmax
Old
(Last edited by vortmax; 19th July 2014 at 09:42 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 131
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default [Q] SOLVED Long press Menu button remap...

I'm trying to find out how to remap the long-press Menu and assign it to Google Now voice activation. I have Wanam Xposed installed with the Xposed Additions Pro, but that doesn't give me a way to remap long-press Menu. I've browsed the files in the keylayout folder, but don't want to perform guesswork in there for obvious reasons.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
 
kinstre11
Old
#2  
kinstre11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 101
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hobe Sound
I believe I've seen button remapping options in GravityBox for xposed, however I don't use GB as it does not like TouchWiz based roms and many features simply don't function.
 
fletch33
Old
#3  
fletch33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 269
Posts: 937
Join Date: Jan 2010
i use GB with KK and find that almost everything works and you can see the features here

you can also check the Xposed repo where i am sure you can find something here

good luck
 
airmaxx23
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 966
Posts: 3,210
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colton, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by vortmax View Post
I'm trying to find out how to remap the long-press Menu and assign it to Google Now voice activation. I have Wanam Xposed installed with the Xposed Additions Pro, but that doesn't give me a way to remap long-press Menu. I've browsed the files in the keylayout folder, but don't want to perform guesswork in there for obvious reasons.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Xposed Additions does allow long press remapping but you can't choose an app for it, just system functions. The easiest way to to it is to just delete S-Voice and it will default to Google Now.
*** Please don't forget to hit the "Thanks" button if someone has helped you ***

"I know I was born and I know that I'll die, the in-between is mine"
 
vortmax
Old
(Last edited by vortmax; 16th July 2014 at 06:32 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 131
Join Date: Nov 2009
Thanks for all the replies...

Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23 View Post
Xposed Additions does allow long press remapping but you can't choose an app for it, just system functions. The easiest way to to it is to just delete S-Voice and it will default to Google Now.
I've already disabled S-Voice, but now nothing happens when I long press Menu...can't seem to assign anything to it either...even via Xposed Additions Pro...

Quote:
i use GB with KK and find that almost everything works and you can see the features
Unfortunately I'm on OTA KK (TouchWiz) so it sounds like GB won't work properly
 
airmaxx23
Old
(Last edited by airmaxx23; 17th July 2014 at 12:36 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 966
Posts: 3,210
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colton, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by vortmax View Post
Thanks for all the replies...



I've already disabled S-Voice, but now nothing happens when I long press Menu...can't seem to assign anything to it either...even via Xposed Additions Pro...



Unfortunately I'm on OTA KK (TouchWiz) so it sounds like GB won't work properly
I forgot that you also need to delete S-Finder, I have Google Now working on mine with the menu long press.
*** Please don't forget to hit the "Thanks" button if someone has helped you ***

"I know I was born and I know that I'll die, the in-between is mine"
 
airmaxx23
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 966
Posts: 3,210
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colton, NY
I found an Xposed module that works, it's Xbutton Actions, you can find it here.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2490029
*** Please don't forget to hit the "Thanks" button if someone has helped you ***

"I know I was born and I know that I'll die, the in-between is mine"
 
vortmax
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 131
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23 View Post
I found an Xposed module that works, it's Xbutton Actions, you can find it here.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2490029
I'll check it out, thanks!
 
airmaxx23
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 966
Posts: 3,210
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colton, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by vortmax View Post
I'll check it out, thanks!
Please let me know if it works out for you.
*** Please don't forget to hit the "Thanks" button if someone has helped you ***

"I know I was born and I know that I'll die, the in-between is mine"
 
vortmax
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 131
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmaxx23 View Post
Please let me know if it works out for you.
Totally worked! Thank you! For anyone wondering, I'm on OTA KK Verizon...

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more