Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,591 Members 37,115 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Low 4G on NC2?

Tip us?
 
Hackenstein
Old
#1  
Hackenstein's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 165
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Low 4G on NC2?

Anyone else having low signal on NC2? Since upgrading last night I've constantly had 1-2 bars on 4G whereas MJ7 was always much higher. Doesn't seem to matter where I am around town. Ran some errands earlier and kept track of signal strength. It ranged from 1-2 bars to nothing at all, dropping to 3G several times.

Running BajaROM.

Any thoughts?
Galaxy Note 3
Rooted/SS installed
MJE BajaROM
 
strider5236
Old
#2  
strider5236's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Santa Fe
I have been coming across a lot of posts with people complaining of this. I myself, have not noticed a difference since the upgrade. But I also run my phone off of Net10 and I have always had 2-3 bar signal with my current setup.
 
Daedalus-420
Old
#3  
Daedalus-420's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2014
BajaRom 15 and higher contains the new NC4 modem as part of the ROM. If you are having signal problems, you can flash back to the MJE modem using odin.

Personally, I'm not having any problems on the NC4 modem but I also live in an area where LTE Band 4 has been turned on. I often get better download speeds over LTE than I do from my 50 MB cable internet.
 
spatterson
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackenstein View Post
Anyone else having low signal on NC2? Since upgrading last night I've constantly had 1-2 bars on 4G whereas MJ7 was always much higher. Doesn't seem to matter where I am around town. Ran some errands earlier and kept track of signal strength. It ranged from 1-2 bars to nothing at all, dropping to 3G several times.

Running BajaROM.

Any thoughts?
Yep - first thing I noticed after upgrading was how hard a time I was having getting 4G at all, when, prior to upgrading into Baja 16 was that I had 2-3 bars ALL_the_time at home, and now it's almost never coming up.

So, it's safe to go back to the MJE modem and it won't break anything?

I've had a Motorola droid the past 5 years or so, and I'm new to Samsung and the whole ODIN thing.

Thanks!
 
Hackenstein
Old
#5  
Hackenstein's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 165
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus-420 View Post
BajaRom 15 and higher contains the new NC4 modem as part of the ROM. If you are having signal problems, you can flash back to the MJE modem using odin.

Personally, I'm not having any problems on the NC4 modem but I also live in an area where LTE Band 4 has been turned on. I often get better download speeds over LTE than I do from my 50 MB cable internet.

My baseband is still showing NC2. Could that be the issue? The ROM has 4 baked in but the baseband is looking for something different? Stupid question probably, but thought I'd bring it up.
Galaxy Note 3
Rooted/SS installed
MJE BajaROM
 
Daedalus-420
Old
#6  
Daedalus-420's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2014
Sorry, I should have clarified. Baja might have the NC 4 modem file included with the rom, but the only way to change your modem is via Odin. If you are on nc2, I'd recommend upgrading to the nc4 modem as their have been lots of reported problems with the nc2 modem.
The Following User Says Thank You to Daedalus-420 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hackenstein
Old
#7  
Hackenstein's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 165
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus-420 View Post
Sorry, I should have clarified. Baja might have the NC 4 modem file included with the rom, but the only way to change your modem is via Odin. If you are on nc2, I'd recommend upgrading to the nc4 modem as their have been lots of reported problems with the nc2 modem.


Ah, got it! Thanx for breaking it down. It's tough when you get your phone the way you want it then disappear from the scene for months on end then come back not having a clue what all has changed. I appreciate people who take that into consideration and drop some info for us rusty hackers.
Galaxy Note 3
Rooted/SS installed
MJE BajaROM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more