FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Why am I stuck on a dead screen after ROM?

2nd August 2014, 06:17 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm new to this so I have probably screwed up big time. I have rooted my Note 3 device and downloaded the latest ss in hopes to try out a rom.
Restarted and booted into recovery, made a backup of my stock before wiping the main partition(dalvik,data,cache,system)

I've tried to flash the new alliance zip and the proceeded to reboot, but after the SafeStrap 10 second prompt, the screen just goes black and posts nothing.
 
 
2nd August 2014, 07:20 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinh0o

I'm new to this so I have probably screwed up big time. I have rooted my Note 3 device and downloaded the latest ss in hopes to try out a rom.
Restarted and booted into recovery, made a backup of my stock before wiping the main partition(dalvik,data,cache,system)

I've tried to flash the new alliance zip and the proceeded to reboot, but after the SafeStrap 10 second prompt, the screen just goes black and posts nothing.

Was it a kit kat rom? Are you on a stock kit kat rom? If youre on a jelly bean rom youll have to flash the kit kat modem through odin first

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to noesilva For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2014, 07:38 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by noesilva

Was it a kit kat rom? Are you on a stock kit kat rom? If youre on a jelly bean rom youll have to flash the kit kat modem through odin first

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

i am on 4.4.2.is that kit kat?
2nd August 2014, 07:42 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Yes

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 10:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:41 AM ----------

I was still on jelly bean but tried to install a kit kat rom and thats why it wouldn't work I needed to install the kit kat safestrap and kit kat modem

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
2nd August 2014, 09:14 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs down
turns out it isnt just the one rom. I tried another rom and its the same, Black screen.


Perhaps it's due to some uninstalled apps on titanium backup? I just deleted bloatwares and froze knox.
3rd August 2014, 02:29 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 394
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinh0o

turns out it isnt just the one rom. I tried another rom and its the same, Black screen.


Perhaps it's due to some uninstalled apps on titanium backup? I just deleted bloatwares and froze knox.

Need to Odin the nc2 kernel. ..sorry out walking the dog , but there are a few posts detailing how to flash roms on the Ota base.
The Following User Says Thank You to mjh68 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank