Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,477 Members 40,192 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Why am I stuck on a dead screen after ROM?

Tip us?
 
jinh0o
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default [Q] Why am I stuck on a dead screen after ROM?

I'm new to this so I have probably screwed up big time. I have rooted my Note 3 device and downloaded the latest ss in hopes to try out a rom.
Restarted and booted into recovery, made a backup of my stock before wiping the main partition(dalvik,data,cache,system)

I've tried to flash the new alliance zip and the proceeded to reboot, but after the SafeStrap 10 second prompt, the screen just goes black and posts nothing.
 
noesilva
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 853
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinh0o View Post
I'm new to this so I have probably screwed up big time. I have rooted my Note 3 device and downloaded the latest ss in hopes to try out a rom.
Restarted and booted into recovery, made a backup of my stock before wiping the main partition(dalvik,data,cache,system)

I've tried to flash the new alliance zip and the proceeded to reboot, but after the SafeStrap 10 second prompt, the screen just goes black and posts nothing.
Was it a kit kat rom? Are you on a stock kit kat rom? If youre on a jelly bean rom youll have to flash the kit kat modem through odin first

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to noesilva For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jinh0o
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by noesilva View Post
Was it a kit kat rom? Are you on a stock kit kat rom? If youre on a jelly bean rom youll have to flash the kit kat modem through odin first

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
i am on 4.4.2.is that kit kat?
 
noesilva
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 853
Join Date: Sep 2010
Yes

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 10:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:41 AM ----------

I was still on jelly bean but tried to install a kit kat rom and thats why it wouldn't work I needed to install the kit kat safestrap and kit kat modem

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
 
jinh0o
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2014
turns out it isnt just the one rom. I tried another rom and its the same, Black screen.


Perhaps it's due to some uninstalled apps on titanium backup? I just deleted bloatwares and froze knox.
 
mjh68
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 372
Posts: 1,614
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinh0o View Post
turns out it isnt just the one rom. I tried another rom and its the same, Black screen.


Perhaps it's due to some uninstalled apps on titanium backup? I just deleted bloatwares and froze knox.
Need to Odin the nc2 kernel. ..sorry out walking the dog , but there are a few posts detailing how to flash roms on the Ota base.
The Following User Says Thank You to mjh68 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more