Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more
Post Reply

[Q] Why am I stuck on a dead screen after ROM?

OP jinh0o

2nd August 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
I'm new to this so I have probably screwed up big time. I have rooted my Note 3 device and downloaded the latest ss in hopes to try out a rom.
Restarted and booted into recovery, made a backup of my stock before wiping the main partition(dalvik,data,cache,system)

I've tried to flash the new alliance zip and the proceeded to reboot, but after the SafeStrap 10 second prompt, the screen just goes black and posts nothing.
2nd August 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
853 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinh0o

I'm new to this so I have probably screwed up big time. I have rooted my Note 3 device and downloaded the latest ss in hopes to try out a rom.
Restarted and booted into recovery, made a backup of my stock before wiping the main partition(dalvik,data,cache,system)

I've tried to flash the new alliance zip and the proceeded to reboot, but after the SafeStrap 10 second prompt, the screen just goes black and posts nothing.

Was it a kit kat rom? Are you on a stock kit kat rom? If youre on a jelly bean rom youll have to flash the kit kat modem through odin first

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to noesilva For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by noesilva

Was it a kit kat rom? Are you on a stock kit kat rom? If youre on a jelly bean rom youll have to flash the kit kat modem through odin first

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

i am on 4.4.2.is that kit kat?
2nd August 2014, 07:42 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
853 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Yes

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 10:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:41 AM ----------

I was still on jelly bean but tried to install a kit kat rom and thats why it wouldn't work I needed to install the kit kat safestrap and kit kat modem

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
2nd August 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Thumbs down
turns out it isnt just the one rom. I tried another rom and its the same, Black screen.


Perhaps it's due to some uninstalled apps on titanium backup? I just deleted bloatwares and froze knox.
3rd August 2014, 02:29 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 376
 
1,630 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinh0o

turns out it isnt just the one rom. I tried another rom and its the same, Black screen.


Perhaps it's due to some uninstalled apps on titanium backup? I just deleted bloatwares and froze knox.

Need to Odin the nc2 kernel. ..sorry out walking the dog , but there are a few posts detailing how to flash roms on the Ota base.
The Following User Says Thank You to mjh68 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank