Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Verizon 4.4.2 root options

OP waterbottels

21st August 2014, 06:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
I just migrated from a galaxy S3, my phone took the update that basically locks the boot loader while i was sleeping. Very unfair. So now I'm weary of what i can possibly do with my phone. So I have a note 3 on 4.4.2 waiting to be rooted. I did some research, found a few options but i want assurance that it is safe and possible. Has anyone been able to root the device (verizon) and put a rom on it? I believe towelroot is my best bet. Also what does NC4 and NC2 stand for? Thanks!
23rd August 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #2  
tpike's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
You have a lot of reading to do. Nc4&2 refer to build numbers, kernels, modems. Could be a lot of things...read carefully. Next search towel root. Then search safe strap. Read everything that Google shows you about those things. Then start testing what you feel comfortable flashing. Report back with questions
23rd August 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #3  
thegamerdarkseid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago,IL
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Here you go I'll make it alittle easier for you.

Root NC4: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2784009 by @droidguy22
Odin help: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576104 by @az_biker
Root NC4 and setup to flash roms : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2787627 by @BeansTown106
Safestrap : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2517610 by @Hashcode
Modems : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2524572 by @BeansTown106

NC2 was a leak we got before the NC4 OTA, the NC2 left us a few loopholes that NC4 didn't. People who took the NC2 leak can odin all the way back to MJE 4.3 if we like. If you took the NC4 OTA you're stuck on NC4. Just because you're on NC4 doesn't mean you have to stick with that modem if your signal is awful. It all depends on where you are, etc. I'm on the NC2 leak but that modem was terrible for me so I flashed the NC4 modem. Some users are on NC4/NC2 and using the MJE modem and others are on NC2 modem. You have to try them out for yourself but if your signal is fine then don't worry about it. Just read, read and read again. Take your time and follow all instructions and you'll be fine. Happy rooting and flashing roms.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to thegamerdarkseid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2014, 04:53 PM   |  #4  
tpike's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
^^^op be sure to hit thanks on his post^^^
25th August 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #5  
az_biker's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag SW AZ - USA
Thanks Meter: 2,458
 
1,986 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegamerdarkseid

Here you go I'll make it alittle easier for you.

Root NC4: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2784009 by @droidguy22
Odin help: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576104 by @az_biker
Root NC4 and setup to flash roms : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2787627 by @BeansTown106
Safestrap : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2517610 by @Hashcode
Modems : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2524572 by @BeansTown106

NC2 was a leak we got before the NC4 OTA, the NC2 left us a few loopholes that NC4 didn't. People who took the NC2 leak can odin all the way back to MJE 4.3 if we like. If you took the NC4 OTA you're stuck on NC4. Just because you're on NC4 doesn't mean you have to stick with that modem if your signal is awful. It all depends on where you are, etc. I'm on the NC2 leak but that modem was terrible for me so I flashed the NC4 modem. Some users are on NC4/NC2 and using the MJE modem and others are on NC2 modem. You have to try them out for yourself but if your signal is fine then don't worry about it. Just read, read and read again. Take your time and follow all instructions and you'll be fine. Happy rooting and flashing roms.

This post should effectively end all questions regarding basic flashing and upgrading firmware I'm thinking this will be referred to about a bazillion times! Nice work!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to az_biker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 04:34 PM   |  #6  
thegamerdarkseid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago,IL
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by az_biker

This post should effectively end all questions regarding basic flashing and upgrading firmware I'm thinking this will be referred to about a bazillion times! Nice work!

Thanks a ton, I just try to help out when I can.
27th August 2014, 04:47 AM   |  #7  
Adrozz07's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia Beach, VA.
Thanks Meter: 31
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
One more question actually. I'm on the nc2 leak. Will flashing the nc4 full stock tar replace the bootloader and strand me as if I took the OTA?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes