Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,631 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Verizon 4.4.2 root options

Tip us?
 
waterbottels
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Verizon 4.4.2 root options

I just migrated from a galaxy S3, my phone took the update that basically locks the boot loader while i was sleeping. Very unfair. So now I'm weary of what i can possibly do with my phone. So I have a note 3 on 4.4.2 waiting to be rooted. I did some research, found a few options but i want assurance that it is safe and possible. Has anyone been able to root the device (verizon) and put a rom on it? I believe towelroot is my best bet. Also what does NC4 and NC2 stand for? Thanks!
 
tpike
Old
#2  
tpike's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 953
Join Date: Jan 2011
You have a lot of reading to do. Nc4&2 refer to build numbers, kernels, modems. Could be a lot of things...read carefully. Next search towel root. Then search safe strap. Read everything that Google shows you about those things. Then start testing what you feel comfortable flashing. Report back with questions
 
thegamerdarkseid
Old
#3  
thegamerdarkseid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 293
Posts: 958
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Here you go I'll make it alittle easier for you.

Root NC4: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2784009 by @droidguy22
Odin help: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576104 by @az_biker
Root NC4 and setup to flash roms : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2787627 by @BeansTown106
Safestrap : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2517610 by @Hashcode
Modems : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2524572 by @BeansTown106

NC2 was a leak we got before the NC4 OTA, the NC2 left us a few loopholes that NC4 didn't. People who took the NC2 leak can odin all the way back to MJE 4.3 if we like. If you took the NC4 OTA you're stuck on NC4. Just because you're on NC4 doesn't mean you have to stick with that modem if your signal is awful. It all depends on where you are, etc. I'm on the NC2 leak but that modem was terrible for me so I flashed the NC4 modem. Some users are on NC4/NC2 and using the MJE modem and others are on NC2 modem. You have to try them out for yourself but if your signal is fine then don't worry about it. Just read, read and read again. Take your time and follow all instructions and you'll be fine. Happy rooting and flashing roms.
I'm the XDA user formerly known as theafrosamurai, going in a new direction since I'm gaming more now.


Follow me @
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to thegamerdarkseid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tpike
Old
#4  
tpike's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 953
Join Date: Jan 2011
^^^op be sure to hit thanks on his post^^^
 
az_biker
Old
#5  
az_biker's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,271
Posts: 1,914
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SW AZ - USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegamerdarkseid View Post
Here you go I'll make it alittle easier for you.

Root NC4: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2784009 by @droidguy22
Odin help: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576104 by @az_biker
Root NC4 and setup to flash roms : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2787627 by @BeansTown106
Safestrap : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2517610 by @Hashcode
Modems : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2524572 by @BeansTown106

NC2 was a leak we got before the NC4 OTA, the NC2 left us a few loopholes that NC4 didn't. People who took the NC2 leak can odin all the way back to MJE 4.3 if we like. If you took the NC4 OTA you're stuck on NC4. Just because you're on NC4 doesn't mean you have to stick with that modem if your signal is awful. It all depends on where you are, etc. I'm on the NC2 leak but that modem was terrible for me so I flashed the NC4 modem. Some users are on NC4/NC2 and using the MJE modem and others are on NC2 modem. You have to try them out for yourself but if your signal is fine then don't worry about it. Just read, read and read again. Take your time and follow all instructions and you'll be fine. Happy rooting and flashing roms.
This post should effectively end all questions regarding basic flashing and upgrading firmware I'm thinking this will be referred to about a bazillion times! Nice work!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to az_biker For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thegamerdarkseid
Old
#6  
thegamerdarkseid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 293
Posts: 958
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by az_biker View Post
This post should effectively end all questions regarding basic flashing and upgrading firmware I'm thinking this will be referred to about a bazillion times! Nice work!
Thanks a ton, I just try to help out when I can.
I'm the XDA user formerly known as theafrosamurai, going in a new direction since I'm gaming more now.


Follow me @
 
Adrozz07
Old
#7  
Adrozz07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 278
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA.
One more question actually. I'm on the nc2 leak. Will flashing the nc4 full stock tar replace the bootloader and strand me as if I took the OTA?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes