Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 43,448 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] 4x5 TouchWiz Launcher

Tip us?
 
Misterxtc
Old
(Last edited by Misterxtc; 19th July 2014 at 05:30 AM.)
#21  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 623
Posts: 715
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaladhjin View Post
anybody know if this would work and is even needed on Alliance rom ?

If not needed.. how would I enable in Alliance ?
Yup, it works fine with Alliance. It's your choice if it's needed or not, personally I love the 4x5 grid size. If you want the stock launcher back just copy TouchWizHome.apk from the system/priv-app folder before you flash the zip to your ext sd card. Then if you want stock back replace the app in the zip with the one on your ext sd and flash it. It's in the same folder in the zip file.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Misterxtc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jaladhjin
Old
#22  
jaladhjin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 270
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
Yup, it works fine with Alliance. It's your choice if it's needed or not, personally I love the 4x5 grid size. If you want the stock launcher back just copy TouchWizHome.apk from the system/priv-app folder before you flash the zip to your ext sd card. Then if you want stock back replace the app in the zip with the one on your ext sd and flash it. It's in the same folder in the zip file.
Is needed though right can't just enable in Alliance settings?

Sent from my SM-T530NU using Tapatalk
 
johnnytraveler
Old
#23  
johnnytraveler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 529
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Irvine
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaladhjin View Post
Is needed though right can't just enable in Alliance settings?

Sent from my SM-T530NU using Tapatalk
No launcher options with Alliance. You can run a different launcher, like nova, apex, et al.

Sent from my Alliance Galaxy S5.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to johnnytraveler For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jaladhjin
Old
#24  
jaladhjin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 270
Join Date: Jul 2013
Okay so I flashed

Tell me who to talk to & I will flashing yours got rid of the 7 or 8 ish themes in the alliance long press home screen theme chooser when I flashed..

I can kinda understand why.. But is there anything I can to to fix or who to request a potential feature addition from?

The launcher themes are simple.. Icons on the bottom & wallpapers..

So I believe they'd have played well just fine.
 
jaladhjin
Old
#25  
jaladhjin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 270
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
Yup, it works fine with Alliance. It's your choice if it's needed or not, personally I love the 4x5 grid size. If you want the stock launcher back just copy TouchWizHome.apk from the system/priv-app folder before you flash the zip to your ext sd card. Then if you want stock back replace the app in the zip with the one on your ext sd and flash it. It's in the same folder in the zip file.
So just for the sake of me learning a thing or two..

Does the name of the actual flashable zip file matter..

Could I rename TouchWiz4x5.zip to YourMother.zip or does the name on the zip matter ?

And then.. is the difference between app & privapp some big complicated thing only enthusiastic devs know ? I'd be interested in knowing that structure difference..

---------- Post added at 10:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:10 PM ----------

also.. the custom theme options went away when I flashed this 4x5

think they'll return if I flash back to "stock" ?
 
Misterxtc
Old
#26  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 623
Posts: 715
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaladhjin View Post
So just for the sake of me learning a thing or two..

Does the name of the actual flashable zip file matter..

Could I rename TouchWiz4x5.zip to YourMother.zip or does the name on the zip matter ?

And then.. is the difference between app & privapp some big complicated thing only enthusiastic devs know ? I'd be interested in knowing that structure difference..

---------- Post added at 10:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:10 PM ----------

also.. the custom theme options went away when I flashed this 4x5

think they'll return if I flash back to "stock" ?
You can rename the zip to whatever you want. Here is a good description on the app and priv-app, it's basically app permissions . You will need to re-apply the theme options, they should work the same with the 4x5 launcher, it's just a grid size change and nothing else.
The Following User Says Thank You to Misterxtc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jaladhjin
Old
#27  
jaladhjin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 270
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
You can rename the zip to whatever you want. Here is a good description on the app and priv-app, it's basically app permissions . You will need to re-apply the theme options, they should work the same with the 4x5 launcher, it's just a grid size change and nothing else.
I did find the launcher customizations in the Rom Customizer app.. since they were gone from long press on home screen options..

Sad to say though with the 4x5 the wallpaper worked but the icons did not for like the dialer etc
 
Misterxtc
Old
#28  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 623
Posts: 715
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaladhjin View Post
I did find the launcher customizations in the Rom Customizer app.. since they were gone from long press on home screen options..

Sad to say though with the 4x5 the wallpaper worked but the icons did not for like the dialer etc
That's a bummer.
 
jaladhjin
Old
#29  
jaladhjin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 270
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
That's a bummer.
fun factoid I flashed back to the "stock" Alliance launcher the way you suggested & when I booted the icons were there as intended.. didn't even have to reapply theme

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes