Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Does "Clean ESN" matter with newer phones

OP mrjkwik

2nd June 2014, 05:25 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Due to recent financial issues I may have to let go of my verizon service due to the expenses and get on a family members plan with ATT. This will mean I have the S5 and no way to use it. If I was to sell it would someone be able to use it on verizon still? I know in the past your phone would be flagged and it would no longer be allowed. I wasnt sure if that was still the case with verizons move to SIM cards.

Thanks.

One more question, which prepaid services would work? Any with LTE?
Last edited by mrjkwik; 2nd June 2014 at 05:28 PM.
2nd June 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #2  
kprice8's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lansing MI
Thanks Meter: 206
 
574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjkwik

Due to recent financial issues I may have to let go of my verizon service due to the expenses and get on a family members plan with ATT. This will mean I have the S5 and no way to use it. If I was to sell it would someone be able to use it on verizon still? I know in the past your phone would be flagged and it would no longer be allowed. I wasnt sure if that was still the case with verizons move to SIM cards.

Thanks.

One more question, which prepaid services would work? Any with LTE?

Believe there to be a security feature active that you would have to look into before sale to make sure the new owner could use it....

Give this a read HERE.
3rd June 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #3  
elliwigy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,063
 
2,554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
or cancel your account then it will show as not being an active device.. of course if you have a contract you will have an etf to pay as with most carriers...

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to elliwigy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 320
 
1,069 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Put a dumb phone on the account before you terminate service.
4th June 2014, 11:41 PM   |  #5  
deron37129's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Murfreesboro, TN
Thanks Meter: 35
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
The s5 is gsm unlocked so if u use with att or tmobile itll be fine

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
5th June 2014, 12:21 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
if you have any older verizon phone.... activate that on your present line.... then that phone will not be "locked" with a bad esn....
5th June 2014, 06:42 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
I did still have my GS3, so I just swapped my card in it. Made a call and sent a text. So I guess we'll see.
8th June 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by deron37129

The s5 is gsm unlocked so if u use with att or tmobile itll be fine

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Not true. It is unlocked, but it does not accept ATT or TMo SIMs. Foreign SIMs work, but only in foreign countries.
12th June 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpudan80

Not true. It is unlocked, but it does not accept ATT or TMo SIMs. Foreign SIMs work, but only in foreign countries.

Can anyone please verify this? Another question, how do we make it work with ATT or T-Mobile SIM cards?

Thanks in advance!
12th June 2014, 10:41 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 167
 
738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpudan80

Not true. It is unlocked, but it does not accept ATT or TMo SIMs. Foreign SIMs work, but only in foreign countries.

Incorrect. The Verizon S5 accepts AT&T and T-Mobile SIMS just fine.

Back in the pre-LTE days, Verizon devices that had GSM capabilities were generally only usable on foreign GSM networks (AT&T and T-Mobile were locked out). That's no longer the case and hasn't been for a while now.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes