Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,356 Members 39,873 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Phone will not shut off all the way

Tip us?
 
shackwrrr
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Phone will not shut off all the way

Had my phone for a couple days and decided to root, safestrap, and flash alliance rom. Everything works great when the phone is running but I am running into an issue when I need to reboot or shut the phone down. If I use the power menu to shut down or reboot the phone screen will turn black like normal. The notification light and recent/back buttons light up like they normally do when the phone is shutting down but it just stays like that, no vibrate no sounds, Ive let it sit for 5+ min and it still stays like this. Any help would be appreciated.
 
Chopstix9
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 347
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Monroe, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by shackwrrr View Post
Had my phone for a couple days and decided to root, safestrap, and flash alliance rom. Everything works great when the phone is running but I am running into an issue when I need to reboot or shut the phone down. If I use the power menu to shut down or reboot the phone screen will turn black like normal. The notification light and recent/back buttons light up like they normally do when the phone is shutting down but it just stays like that, no vibrate no sounds, Ive let it sit for 5+ min and it still stays like this. Any help would be appreciated.
There are known issues with Safestrap... Without even asking, I will venture to say you have created a rom slot and that is where you have Alliance installed.... I found out the hard way too instead of researching what I was doing before installing it. You have to install it on the STOCK slot only and not a rom slot and you will be golden. Odin back to original (drop 5 yards and punt) and go back through the whole process but install on stock slot.
VZW Galaxy S 5 KK 4.4.4
Rooted / SuperSU / Xposed / Wanam +
-------------------------------------
Galaxy Nexus-Retired
VZW Droid Charge-Retired
Original Moto Droid-Retired
 
biggiesmalls657
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 101
Join Date: Feb 2011
3 finger salute by hard resetting could get you out of the funk.
 
shackwrrr
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2011
Thanks for the help, I tried wiping the cache partition, no help. I was on the fence about flashing to the stock slot. I wonder if I can safely restore my backup to the stock slot after wiping the slot1 without bringing the issue with it.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
 
shackwrrr
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2011
Just deleted my rom slot, wiped the stock slot, installed a fresh copy of alliance and all is great. Everything even runs smoother. Google app and settings restore worked like it should and didn't even have to use titanium.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes