FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

S5 Won't turn off, won't boot into recovery

266 posts
Thanks Meter: 21
 
By Haloman800, Senior Member on 19th July 2014, 09:20 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I tried 2 ROMs: Alliance and Extreme Debloat. If I try to turn off the phone it gets stuck at the booting down logo. This happens when I try to restart it, when I try to boot into SafeStrap, or any other way I attempt to power off the phone.

If I pull the battery & boot up, at the SafeStrap splash screen, even when hitting the "Recents" button it does not let me get into SafeStrap.

How do I fix this? What's the cause?
 
 
19th July 2014, 09:24 PM |#2  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haloman800

I tried 2 ROMs: Alliance and Extreme Debloat. If I try to turn off the phone it gets stuck at the booting down logo. This happens when I try to restart it, when I try to boot into SafeStrap, or any other way I attempt to power off the phone.

If I pull the battery & boot up, at the SafeStrap splash screen, even when hitting the "Recents" button it does not let me get into SafeStrap.

How do I fix this? What's the cause?

Odin back to stock, re-root and try it again. I'm not sure what causes this but it happened to me a few times with my old Note 3 and SafeStrap.
19th July 2014, 09:26 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc

Odin back to stock, re-root and try it again. I'm not sure what causes this but it happened to me a few times with my old Note 3 and SafeStrap.

Doing this now. Thanks for the prompt reply.. I've been going insane

How I rooted originally: Installed towelroot successfully, then installed safestrap, booted into recovery, backed up system, created ROM slot #1, and installed a ROM.

Did I do something incorrectly?

edit: p.s. nice avatar
Last edited by Haloman800; 19th July 2014 at 09:29 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Haloman800 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th July 2014, 09:31 PM |#4  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haloman800

Doing this now. Thanks for the prompt reply.. I've been going insane

How I rooted originally: Installed towelroot successfully, then installed safestrap, booted into recovery, backed up system, created ROM slot #1, and installed a ROM.

Did I do something incorrectly?

Not really but I stay away from ROM slots because there is a bug with having to pull the battery on reboot. Re-download the latest SS because the first one had a problem with memory corruption witch sounds like happened to you. If you can get into stock recovery try clearing cache or factory resetting from there. Either way you will have to reset. It's safe to flash to the stock slot as long as you have a good backup.
Edit: Thanks on the avatar, quite a few people like it. Hopefully it helps someone out.
Last edited by Misterxtc; 19th July 2014 at 09:33 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Misterxtc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th July 2014, 09:34 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc

Not really but I stay away from ROM slots because there is a bug with having to pull the battery on reboot. Re-download the latest SS because the first one had a problem with memory corruption witch sounds like happened to you. If you can get into stock recovery try clearing cache or factory resetting from there. Either way you will have to reset. It's safe to flash to the stock slot as long as you have a good backup.

So after I ODIN I should:

1. Re-root
2. Re-download & install SS
3. Backup, then wipe everything & install in the main ROM slot

?
19th July 2014, 09:36 PM |#6  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haloman800

So after I ODIN I should:

1. Re-root
2. Re-download & install SS
3. Backup, then wipe everything & install in the main ROM slot

?

Yup, run towelroot and update SU from SS.
The Following User Says Thank You to Misterxtc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th July 2014, 12:06 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Worked perfectly. Thanks!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Haloman800 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th July 2014, 04:49 AM |#8  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haloman800

Worked perfectly. Thanks!!

Cool, I'm glad it worked for you.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes