Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,179 Members 41,663 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Flashing problems

Tip us?
 
Duckman_UF
Old
#1  
Duckman_UF's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 191
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gainesville
Unhappy Flashing problems

OK guys let me tell you about my issue's

I'm using TWRP 2.7.1.0 (Tried 2.7.0.2 no difference) S-off, Unlocked, latest firmware from Santods files. The phone works fine with Sense ROMS but for the life of me I can't flash a GPE ROM. They fail every time. Santod tried to help me out the best he could by having me replace the Boot.img from the ROM I was flashing thinking that I was on a secure Boot image (And I may be but I replaced it and they still won't flash). Mr. Jaydee82 also modified a ROM for me to try out (although I'm not sure exactly what he did to it) and it wouldn't Flash properly either. When I try to flash these ROMs it will appear to flash properly and then they will go to the bootscreen and just sit there and churn. Depending on the ROM some will time out and power down the device and some will just sit there forever until I do a virtual battery pull. I'm freaking desperate to find out what is going on with this device and I don't feel right bugging Santod so I decided to post this in hope of more ideas about what could possibly be going on with my device. Any and all help greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!
 
krazie1
Old
#2  
krazie1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,777
Posts: 3,936
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckman_UF View Post
OK guys let me tell you about my issue's

I'm using TWRP 2.7.1.0 (Tried 2.7.0.2 no difference) S-off, Unlocked, latest firmware from Santods files. The phone works fine with Sense ROMS but for the life of me I can't flash a GPE ROM. They fail every time. Santod tried to help me out the best he could by having me replace the Boot.img from the ROM I was flashing thinking that I was on a secure Boot image (And I may be but I replaced it and they still won't flash). Mr. Jaydee82 also modified a ROM for me to try out (although I'm not sure exactly what he did to it) and it wouldn't Flash properly either. When I try to flash these ROMs it will appear to flash properly and then they will go to the bootscreen and just sit there and churn. Depending on the ROM some will time out and power down the device and some will just sit there forever until I do a virtual battery pull. I'm freaking desperate to find out what is going on with this device and I don't feel right bugging Santod so I decided to post this in hope of more ideas about what could possibly be going on with my device. Any and all help greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!
What did you use to s-off; firewater or sunshine? Are you able to flash/boot AOSP roms? Did you take the 1.55.605.2 OTA before?
 
Duckman_UF
Old
#3  
Duckman_UF's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 191
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gainesville
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazie1 View Post
What did you use to s-off; firewater or sunshine? Are you able to flash/boot AOSP roms? Did you take the 1.55.605.2 OTA before?
I used Firewater I'm able to Flash all of the Sense ROM's not sure if they are considered AOSP. Give me an example of one and I'll try it. I'm not 100% sure if I took the OTA update before I Rooted and S-offed/unlocked the device but I think I did. I Flashed Santods Nobootimg firmware via ADB to be sure I was on the latest firmware. I know my radios were up to date before doing this but I wasn't sure about the FW so I flashed it. Flashed fine, didn't need to flush again, flashed fine first time.
 
krazie1
Old
#4  
krazie1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,777
Posts: 3,936
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckman_UF View Post
I used Firewater I'm able to Flash all of the Sense ROM's not sure if they are considered AOSP. Give me an example of one and I'll try it. I'm not 100% sure if I took the OTA update before I Rooted and S-offed/unlocked the device but I think I did. I Flashed Santods Nobootimg firmware via ADB to be sure I was on the latest firmware. I know my radios were up to date before doing this but I wasn't sure about the FW so I flashed it. Flashed fine, didn't need to flush again, flashed fine first time.
I'll post a link to a aosp ROM but first can you link me to the firmware file you flashed?
 
Duckman_UF
Old
#5  
Duckman_UF's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 191
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gainesville
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazie1 View Post
I'll post a link to a aosp ROM but first can you link me to the firmware file you flashed?
4th one down and this was per Santod's instuction so I'm sure it's good.

http://www.androidfilehost.com/?w=files&flid=13966
 
krazie1
Old
#6  
krazie1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,777
Posts: 3,936
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckman_UF View Post
4th one down and this was per Santod's instuction so I'm sure it's good.

http://www.androidfilehost.com/?w=files&flid=13966
Alright so you flashed it in bootloader right like this video?

http://youtu.be/e21qb7iZAOo

Here is a aosp ROM cm11 download the 20140801 build wipe and flash.

https://download.cyanogenmod.org/?device=m8
 
Duckman_UF
Old
#7  
Duckman_UF's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 191
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gainesville
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazie1 View Post
Alright so you flashed it in bootloader right like this video?

http://youtu.be/e21qb7iZAOo

Here is a aosp ROM cm11 download the 20140801 build wipe and flash.

https://download.cyanogenmod.org/?device=m8
Yes, ADB Fastboot Hboot...exactly as video instructed. No problems at all.

I'll give it a shot!
 
Duckman_UF
Old
#8  
Duckman_UF's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 191
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gainesville
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazie1 View Post
Alright so you flashed it in bootloader right like this video?

http://youtu.be/e21qb7iZAOo

Here is a aosp ROM cm11 download the 20140801 build wipe and flash.

https://download.cyanogenmod.org/?device=m8
Is a Gapps package needed for this ROM. Ive used Cyanogen ROM's before just not on this Phone.
 
krazie1
Old
#9  
krazie1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,777
Posts: 3,936
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckman_UF View Post
Yes, ADB Fastboot Hboot...exactly as video instructed. No problems at all.

I'll give it a shot!
Forgot to link the GAPPs you need these for all AOSP roms, download and flash right after CM11

https://goo.im/gapps/gapps-kk-20140606-signed.zip/
 
Duckman_UF
Old
#10  
Duckman_UF's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 191
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gainesville
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazie1 View Post
Forgot to link the GAPPs you need these for all AOSP roms, download and flash right after CM11

https://goo.im/gapps/gapps-kk-20140606-signed.zip/
Thats what I thought..Thanks! About to dl Gapps and give it a shot.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes