Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Don’t Forget About Birthdays with Birthday Reminder

A person’s birthday is, without a doubt,one of the most important days in his … more

Don’t Fear Flashing with I Don’t Want You!

The XDA message boards are full of various modifications, with many of these helping … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

help with firewater problem

OP Blockay

19th August 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I'm trying to unlock and s-off..I've got everything setup for firewater im just trying to issue commands through cmd now.
When I type in
adb push firewater /data/local/tmp

it tells me that there is no such file or directory. I've put firewater on my desktop like someone said to somewhere and in a bunch of adb file that i thought might help...Where am i suppose to put firewater to make it readable by adb?
19th August 2014, 11:36 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Washington D.C.
Thanks Meter: 48
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
It should be in the same folder that contains adb. Otherwise you would need to add the full path with slashes in front of "firewater"
19th August 2014, 11:36 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blockay

I'm trying to unlock and s-off..I've got everything setup for firewater im just trying to issue commands through cmd now.
When I type in
adb push firewater /data/local/tmp

it tells me that there is no such file or directory. I've put firewater on my desktop like someone said to somewhere and in a bunch of adb file that i thought might help...Where am i suppose to put firewater to make it readable by adb?

The file goes in your adb folder in platformtools. When you run the command it's looking for it there.
Last edited by thunderbls; 19th August 2014 at 04:44 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to thunderbls For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th August 2014, 04:24 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbls

The file goes in your abd folder in platformtools. When you run the command it's looking for it there.

thanks you guys i see the light at the end of the tunnel now...
i got it to work now but firewater tells me this
" whelp, this sucks, firewater can not work on your device
no amount of reflashing, retrying, or ruuing will fix...
DO NOT COME TO IRC ASKING FOR UPDATES OR ETAS!!!!!!
if we are able to fix this issue, it will be announced
bye bye.....sorry it didn't work out."
:/ am i able to do anything or no?
Last edited by Blockay; 19th August 2014 at 04:41 PM.
19th August 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #5  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 810
 
1,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blockay

thanks you guys i see the light at the end of the tunnel now...but I have two different adb installations and i can't find the platformtools folder for the one that is working. i downloaded this one http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2588979 . i see an 'adb' folder inside of /C: but it doesn't contain platformtools

Doesn't matter which, for Windows you just right click the adb file and open the command prompt from the folder. Just make sure you're sticking the firewater file in the same folder adb is located. It automatically sets the directory.
19th August 2014, 04:48 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blockay

thanks you guys i see the light at the end of the tunnel now...
i got it to work now but firewater tells me this
" whelp, this sucks, firewater can not work on your device
no amount of reflashing, retrying, or ruuing will fix...
DO NOT COME TO IRC ASKING FOR UPDATES OR ETAS!!!!!!
if we are able to fix this issue, it will be announced
bye bye.....sorry it didn't work out."
:/ am i able to do anything or no?

You can keep trying but firewater may just not work for your phone luckily there is the $25 option created by the same devs called sunshine. This is an application you download and run here is the web address...theroot.ninja/
The Following User Says Thank You to thunderbls For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th August 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #7  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 810
 
1,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blockay

thanks you guys i see the light at the end of the tunnel now...
i got it to work now but firewater tells me this
" whelp, this sucks, firewater can not work on your device
no amount of reflashing, retrying, or ruuing will fix...
DO NOT COME TO IRC ASKING FOR UPDATES OR ETAS!!!!!!
if we are able to fix this issue, it will be announced
bye bye.....sorry it didn't work out."
:/ am i able to do anything or no?

Firewater definitely won't work, you need to use sunshine.
19th August 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
That's too bad..25$ is quite a bit considering I might not even keep my m8. Thanks for the help
19th August 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blockay

That's too bad..25$ is quite a bit considering I might not even keep my m8. Thanks for the help

Why might you not keep it, Looking into a different phone?
19th August 2014, 11:28 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Yeah I like the xperias. But I may want a removeable battery..we'll see

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes