Help with rooting my phone, thanks

Search This thread

Boltz111

Sep 2, 2015
Hi, I have an HTC One M8 on 5.0.1 and I have little knowledge with rooting. I want to root my phone because there are some apps I want to use that are only capable of being used if my phone is rooted. I've tried Kingo root and it doesn't work on my phone so I was wondering if someone can give me instructions and download links so I can root my phone. If you can it would be much appreciated, thanks.

andybones

Retired Forum Moderator / Inactive RD
May 18, 2010
Google Pixel 5
Hi, I have an HTC One M8 on 5.0.1 and I have little knowledge with rooting. I want to root my phone because there are some apps I want to use that are only capable of being used if my phone is rooted. I've tried Kingo root and it doesn't work on my phone so I was wondering if someone can give me instructions and download links so I can root my phone. If you can it would be much appreciated, thanks.

You have 2 options at the moment.
1) Ship device to one of the many great people with a Java Card/XTC2 Clip - Look at the OP of this thread to see where the people are located.

2) With some time and luck - King Root, which has been proven to work for a number of M8 users.
http://xdaforums.com/showpost.php?p=61920423&postcount=3652
http://xdaforums.com/showpost.php?p=62161028&postcount=47

Koblek

May 4, 2010
I was able to get S-Off using the KingRoot and Sunshine method. Now what? Although I did get root long enough to get S-off, I lose it after each time I get temp root with the KingRoot app again. KingRoot will say that I have root, but I can't get SuperSU to install.
I am doing a factory reset now and will try to use KingRoot to get temp root, then install SuperSU. Will I then be able to install TWRP after SuperSU is installed correctly?

andybones

Retired Forum Moderator / Inactive RD
May 18, 2010
Google Pixel 5