Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Liquid smooth boot loop

OP GarnerArms

29th August 2014, 06:00 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
So I am a complete noob to this whole rooting, s-off, custom rom experience. So far I have managed to unlock my boot loader and gain s-off thanks to all the awesome peeps on this forum. I tried installing Liquid smooth and I got stuck in what I assume was a boot loop. It would boot and simply just reshow the boot animation. Managed to get into recovery and flash back to a backup I made. What would cause this to happen to me? My Htc is currently on android version 4.4.2 with a software number of 1.55.605.2. Do I need to somehow get my android version up to 4.4.4 in order to use Liquid smooth (or any rom for that matter). Or is there something else that I may have done wrong? Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated.
29th August 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #2  
S1L3nTShaDoWz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarnerArms

So I am a complete noob to this whole rooting, s-off, custom rom experience. So far I have managed to unlock my boot loader and gain s-off thanks to all the awesome peeps on this forum. I tried installing Liquid smooth and I got stuck in what I assume was a boot loop. It would boot and simply just reshow the boot animation. Managed to get into recovery and flash back to a backup I made. What would cause this to happen to me? My Htc is currently on android version 4.4.2 with a software number of 1.55.605.2. Do I need to somehow get my android version up to 4.4.4 in order to use Liquid smooth (or any rom for that matter). Or is there something else that I may have done wrong? Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated.

This has occasionally happened to me with some ROM's and well the issue could depend on a lot of things, the most simplest solution that works a lot of the time is to clear your cache & dalvik cache and reboot.

Also by "reshow the boot animation" do you mean it just endlessly loads the boot animation or it shows the old one? Did you wipe your /data partition when you installed the ROM or did it automatically do it for you? If not and the cache wiping didn't solve your problem you could always attempt doing that and then freshly installing it again and re-trying. If by any chance neither of these worked for you then could you please provide a bit more detail as to what you do when you're flashing the ROM? If you've managed to solve you problem then you don't need to bother with providing any further information.

Edit: I went to the thread and read a bit more on it just to insure I wasn't instructing you to do the wrong thing and I noticed it has a GAPPS package to flash, did you follow all of the instructions correctly e.g full wipe, flash gapps, reboot and waited at least 5 minutes (max usual = 10 minutes)?
Last edited by S1L3nTShaDoWz; 29th August 2014 at 06:53 AM.
30th August 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1L3nTShaDoWz

This has occasionally happened to me with some ROM's and well the issue could depend on a lot of things, the most simplest solution that works a lot of the time is to clear your cache & dalvik cache and reboot.

Also by "reshow the boot animation" do you mean it just endlessly loads the boot animation or it shows the old one? Did you wipe your /data partition when you installed the ROM or did it automatically do it for you? If not and the cache wiping didn't solve your problem you could always attempt doing that and then freshly installing it again and re-trying. If by any chance neither of these worked for you then could you please provide a bit more detail as to what you do when you're flashing the ROM? If you've managed to solve you problem then you don't need to bother with providing any further information.

Edit: I went to the thread and read a bit more on it just to insure I wasn't instructing you to do the wrong thing and I noticed it has a GAPPS package to flash, did you follow all of the instructions correctly e.g full wipe, flash gapps, reboot and waited at least 5 minutes (max usual = 10 minutes)?

Yeah it would show the Liquid Smooth boot animation then the name Liquid Smooth, then it would just continuously blink the name Liquid Smooth. Sometimes it would go completely black, vibrate, then reboot to the Htc screen and then to the Liquid Smooth animation. Not sure if that is helpful. I would like to try again though. I did do a factory wipe through twrp before I tried installing them. I didn't do the GApps that way, I just simply included it with the Liquid Smooth zip and flashed them both at the same time. I read through the thread and didn't see that is how to properly do it. Thanks. So just to reiterate, do a full wipe, flash GApps, reboot and wait for 5 minutes, then enter back into twrp and then flash Liquid smooth?
30th August 2014, 03:04 AM   |  #4  
S1L3nTShaDoWz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarnerArms

Yeah it would show the Liquid Smooth boot animation then the name Liquid Smooth, then it would just continuously blink the name Liquid Smooth. Sometimes it would go completely black, vibrate, then reboot to the Htc screen and then to the Liquid Smooth animation. Not sure if that is helpful. I would like to try again though. I did do a factory wipe through twrp before I tried installing them. I didn't do the GApps that way, I just simply included it with the Liquid Smooth zip and flashed them both at the same time. I read through the thread and didn't see that is how to properly do it. Thanks. So just to reiterate, do a full wipe, flash GApps, reboot and wait for 5 minutes, then enter back into twrp and then flash Liquid smooth?

No no sorry if I confused you or said that wrong, wipe, flash Liquid Smooth & flash the GApps (Same way as before will work as long as its after the ROM) then wipe your cache/dalvik cache(best do this before and after flashing) and attempt booting into it.

Tell me the results of this once you've tried it.
The Following User Says Thank You to S1L3nTShaDoWz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Another question is why does a Rom like Liquid Smooth require GApps to be flashed but another Rom like SinLess doesn't. Is it because one is a aosp? Also when they show the Rom version 4.4.X does that mean it will work with 4.4.2 as well as 4.4.4? Sorry for the basic questions, I try searches but a lot of times come up with nothing.
30th August 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #6  
S1L3nTShaDoWz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarnerArms

Another question is why does a Rom like Liquid Smooth require GApps to be flashed but another Rom like SinLess doesn't. Is it because one is a aosp? Also when they show the Rom version 4.4.X does that mean it will work with 4.4.2 as well as 4.4.4? Sorry for the basic questions, I try searches but a lot of times come up with nothing.

Some ROM's simply require it and others don't. On the ROM versions, whatever version the ROM you are flashing is based off of is the ROM version. So if Liquid Smooth is 4.4.4 then that means it is based off of the 4.4.4 update for either another edition of the device (Sometimes since Verizon doesn't release anything timely) or YOUR version (Verizon in this case) of the device.
30th August 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Thanks bud. Followed your directions and boom it worked. Time to play with some custom Roms!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes