Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,000 Members 47,020 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bricked phone / need help!

Tip us?
 
axeseven
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default [Q] Bricked phone / need help!

Hi,

I awoke this morning to have my One reboot on me, only to have it hang at the green HTC logo.
I need help getting it functional again, asap.
I'm s-off and rooted.

What I can do:
Boot to bootloader and use fastboot commands - but
Code:
 fastboot reboot oem rebootRUU
does not boot to the black HTC screen, but back to the green HTC logo, so I'm unable to flash a RUU.

What I can't do:
Use adb commands
Boot to recovery - freezes at teamwin screen. However, when the phone is stuck at the teamwin screen, I seem to be able to use adb - if I get here, I can reboot to the bootloader with adb.
Boot to system - hangs at the green HTC startup logo.

What I've tried:
Using fastboot to flash a new recovery to restore the backup I should have - still hangs at teamwin screen

Is there anything that can be done to fix this, or is my phone a lost cause?
 
synisterwolf
Old
#2  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,196
Posts: 6,422
Join Date: Sep 2010
can you get to hboot by holding vol- and power for a bout 30 sec?
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Internet
You learn something new everyday. Unless you have a brain injury, then it's all pretty much yelling and coloring.
Congratulations on being the kind of person who corrects the grammar of others, unsolicited. You're the Microsoft Word Paperclip.
 
axeseven
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Yes, that's how I'm able to get the fastboot stuff working.
 
axeseven
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2014
After further investigation, it seems nothing I do persists on the phone. I attempted to flash the stock recovery to attempt another factory reset, but it still attempts to boot to TWRP.
 
synisterwolf
Old
#5  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,196
Posts: 6,422
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by axeseven View Post
After further investigation, it seems nothing I do persists on the phone. I attempted to flash the stock recovery to attempt another factory reset, but it still attempts to boot to TWRP.
i would RUU to get back to a working phone.

by any chance did you make a backup of you internal storage because ruu will format it.

EDIT:
are you s-off and unlocked?
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Internet
You learn something new everyday. Unless you have a brain injury, then it's all pretty much yelling and coloring.
Congratulations on being the kind of person who corrects the grammar of others, unsolicited. You're the Microsoft Word Paperclip.
 
axeseven
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Yes to both - but how can I flash a RUU? When I run the fastboot oem rebootRUU command it does not boot to the usual black/silver HTC screen, instead the normal green startup logo.
 
synisterwolf
Old
(Last edited by synisterwolf; 27th August 2014 at 09:04 PM.)
#7  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,196
Posts: 6,422
Join Date: Sep 2010
before you said you did command:
Code:
fastboot reboot oem rebootRUU
the actual command is:
Code:
fastboot oem rebootRUU
also make sure RUU is the only capital letters


when i fastboot, if you type:
Code:
fastboot devices
what is the output ??
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Internet
You learn something new everyday. Unless you have a brain injury, then it's all pretty much yelling and coloring.
Congratulations on being the kind of person who corrects the grammar of others, unsolicited. You're the Microsoft Word Paperclip.
 
axeseven
Old
(Last edited by axeseven; 27th August 2014 at 09:13 PM.)
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Unfortunately, that has the same result - stuck at the green HTC boot logo.
EDIT:
After sitting at this screen for awhile, it booted into what looks like the stock rom, asking for a password to decrypt the storage. I don't recall ever setting a password for this, and even if I did, I stopped using the stock rom almost as soon as I got the phone.
Code:
fastboot devices
outputs the serial number and that it's in fastboot:
Code:
-serial number here-  fastboot
 
synisterwolf
Old
#9  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,196
Posts: 6,422
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by axeseven View Post
Unfortunately, that has the same result - stuck at the green HTC boot logo.
make sure the pc can see fastboot on the device with command:

Code:
fastboot devices
if output looks like this:
C:\>fastboot devices
FA38PS904782 fastboot

you should be able to type:
Code:
fastboot flash zip nameofruu.zip
and it will start to process.

---------- Post added at 01:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:10 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by axeseven View Post
Unfortunately, that has the same result - stuck at the green HTC boot logo.
EDIT:
After sitting at this screen for awhile, it booted into what looks like the stock rom, asking for a password to decrypt the storage. I don't recall ever setting a password for this, and even if I did, I stopped using the stock rom almost as soon as I got the phone.
Code:
fastboot devices
outputs the serial number and that it's in fastboot:
Code:
-serial number here-  fastboot
yay, this means fastboot is talking to the phone. thats odd that storage is encrypted. can you still use the phone to get to settings?
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Internet
You learn something new everyday. Unless you have a brain injury, then it's all pretty much yelling and coloring.
Congratulations on being the kind of person who corrects the grammar of others, unsolicited. You're the Microsoft Word Paperclip.
 
axeseven
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by synisterwolf View Post

yay, this means fastboot is talking to the phone. thats odd that storage is encrypted. can you still use the phone to get to settings?
Unfortunately, no. I just get an option to decrypt the storage with a password or make an emergency call. I'm about to attempt to flash the ruu .zip without booting into rebootRUU, unless there is something else I can do.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes