Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Verizon Htc one m7 unable to get in recovery

OP bader.chohan

28th July 2014, 01:13 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Hi, I have Verizon HTC one m7. I am unable to get into recovery. It just reboot after showing black screen for few seconds when selected by power button in bootloader.
Can someone tell me why I am not able to get in recovery? I just bought it. It's fully stock official. Nothing is tried on it till yet. Help please
28th July 2014, 02:04 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bader.chohan

Hi, I have Verizon HTC one m7. I am unable to get into recovery. It just reboot after showing black screen for few seconds when selected by power button in bootloader.
Can someone tell me why I am not able to get in recovery? I just bought it. It's fully stock official. Nothing is tried on it till yet. Help please

make sure you have fastboot unchecked in the power settings
28th July 2014, 02:47 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrego47

make sure you have fastboot unchecked in the power settings

Thanks for reply. fastboot unchecked. well i went into bootloader by holding power and volume down button. from there i selected recovery by pressing power button. After this htc logo appears followed by black screen for few seconds. And then system reboots.
Hopes this help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10559158_592234447558539_179085341_n.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	2873080  
28th July 2014, 03:23 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bader.chohan

Thanks for reply. fastboot unchecked. well i went into bootloader by holding power and volume down button. from there i selected recovery by pressing power button. After this htc logo appears followed by black screen for few seconds. And then system reboots.
Hopes this help.

it doesn't come with a "custom recovery (like CWM or TWRP" by default, the only recovery is to factory reset

for that you'd have to root (And possibly S-Off) your phone.
28th July 2014, 03:39 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bader.chohan

Thanks for reply. fastboot unchecked. well i went into bootloader by holding power and volume down button. from there i selected recovery by pressing power button. After this htc logo appears followed by black screen for few seconds. And then system reboots.
Hopes this help.

that is not a custom recovery that is stock recovery where it just gives the phone a factory reset. you can root your phone with rumrunner with that hboot! after that you can install a recovery!
Last edited by abrego47; 28th July 2014 at 03:42 AM.
28th July 2014, 02:07 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks man. But I can't find any option for update from sdcard? Do I have to install custom recovery to apply update from sdcard.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using XDA Free mobile app
28th July 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #7  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,410
 
9,655 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bader.chohan

Thanks man. But I can't find any option for update from sdcard? Do I have to install custom recovery to apply update from sdcard.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using XDA Free mobile app

Well the htcm7 has no SD card slot. M8 does however.

Root then put custom recovery on
28th July 2014, 07:10 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

Well the htcm7 has no SD card slot. M8 does however.

Root then put custom recovery on

on the M7, the "SDcard" refers to the internal storage that's mounted at "/sdcard"
28th July 2014, 07:49 PM   |  #9  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,254
 
6,541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsman4

on the M7, the "SDcard" refers to the internal storage that's mounted at "/sdcard"

Hboot doesnt know that, so it cant mount it. its looking for an external sdcard. when it returns as no then it skips.
Last edited by synisterwolf; 28th July 2014 at 07:51 PM.
29th July 2014, 03:37 AM   |  #10  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 11,754
 
7,574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
fastboot erase cache

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes