Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,844 Members 50,982 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Possible Windows RT 8(.1) install disk?

Tip us?
 
Scoutsassin
Old
(Last edited by Scoutsassin; 11th July 2014 at 03:53 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Possible Windows RT 8(.1) install disk?

I'm relatively new on XDA and also to my new Surface RT, but I think I've found something useful.

I bought my Surface first gen two days ago from an employee from a local retailer, who has won the tablet because of his job. So when I bought it, it came with a preconfigured account MMS on it. I think this would be deployed as demo item, but it never was done so.

So, the point is, when I checked This Computer there was a DVD-RW drive connected, with something like a install disk/iso from Windows inserted. Ofcourse Surfaces don't have physical drives, so I quicly copied the complete contents to my pc.

So my question: is this really the Windows RT install disk? I have really no idea how I can check that.

Quick edit: tried opening the setup.exe, and it popped up as Windows Server 2012.. That doesn't make sense at all, why would you have Server 2012 on a brand new Surface RT?! The Autorun.inf also said AMD64.
 
SixSixSevenSeven
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,620
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoutsassin View Post
I'm relatively new on XDA and also to my new Surface RT, but I think I've found something useful.

I bought my Surface first gen two days ago from an employee from a local retailer, who has won the tablet because of his job. So when I bought it, it came with a preconfigured account MMS on it. I think this would be deployed as demo item, but it never was done so.

So, the point is, when I checked This Computer there was a DVD-RW drive connected, with something like a install disk/iso from Windows inserted. Ofcourse Surfaces don't have physical drives, so I quicly copied the complete contents to my pc.

So my question: is this really the Windows RT install disk? I have really no idea how I can check that.

Quick edit: tried opening the setup.exe, and it popped up as Windows Server 2012.. That doesn't make sense at all, why would you have Server 2012 on a brand new Surface RT?! The Autorun.inf also said AMD64.
windows 8 & RT can mount iso images as virtual DVD drives. Seems for some reason the dude simply mounted the server 2012 image?
 
Scoutsassin
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixSixSevenSeven View Post
windows 8 & RT can mount iso images as virtual DVD drives. Seems for some reason the dude simply mounted the server 2012 image?
Well, the device was brand new, it was still sealed. But still, why would MS do this, it doesn't make any sense...
 
CrunchyDoodle
Old
#4  
CrunchyDoodle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 111
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southern California
I had the original Surface RT (the one you have) and now the Surface 2 (its more advanced replacement). If it was a sealed unit, it should have just booted up and asked a few simple configuration questions and started working. You may have a special demo unit that the store would have on display.

By default there should be a factory image hidden on the SSD. Search for instructions on how to invoke a factory reset. With luck, that will work and you'll have a normal Surface RT.

Bye.
 
For the Love of Tech
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 17
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Westbury

 
DONATE TO ME
Default cymedic founder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoutsassin View Post
I'm relatively new on XDA and also to my new Surface RT, but I think I've found something useful.

I bought my Surface first gen two days ago from an employee from a local retailer, who has won the tablet because of his job. So when I bought it, it came with a preconfigured account MMS on it. I think this would be deployed as demo item, but it never was done so.

So, the point is, when I checked This Computer there was a DVD-RW drive connected, with something like a install disk/iso from Windows inserted. Ofcourse Surfaces don't have physical drives, so I quicly copied the complete contents to my pc.

So my question: is this really the Windows RT install disk? I have really no idea how I can check that.

Quick edit: tried opening the setup.exe, and it popped up as Windows Server 2012.. That doesn't make sense at all, why would you have Server 2012 on a brand new Surface RT?! The Autorun.inf also said AMD64.
My guess is that the guy was trying to install Windows Server on the Surface RT. You ask why you would have it on there? The answer is that it isn't. It is impossible to put any version of Windows on an RT version of the Surface other than Windows RT and possibly Windows Phone.

The Surface RT line of tablets uses an ARM processor while the Pro line uses x86 processors. ARM processors are the kind you find in a phone or tablet and x86 is the kind in laptops and desktops.

The processors are formatted differently and can't run the same software.

When Windows RT first came out, there was a lot of confusion as to what it could do. Many people thought they were getting a Windows tablet and it could run all the same software as Windows 8. After all, it looks exactly the same.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes