FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

how to mount windows phone as drive?

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By wuiyang, Junior Member on 12th July 2014, 12:38 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
how do you mount a windows phone 8 as drive? (etc: e:/) i want to get import some app data and change my other phone to windows phone
 
 
15th July 2014, 07:28 AM |#2  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,848
 
More
You don't, unless you have a (very rare and not available for sale) engineering/development device. Retail WP8 devices use Media Transfer Protocol (MTP, same as cameras and many MP3 players). You can browse part of the filesystem using Windows Explorer, and upload or download files from those parts that you can access, but you aren't directly interacting with anything that appears as a file system so you can't mount it as a drive.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GoodDayToDie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th July 2014, 02:40 PM |#3  
Amadeus01's Avatar
Senior Member
Westerlee
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
@ Goodday
is that the same reason thats why you cant reach the files with the commandpromt from your pc?
I have beeing playing with the older version of windowsexplorer app......
The one you can use the cmd line..................i wanted to try the same from my pc but....no go.

just curious
15th July 2014, 06:26 PM |#4  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,848
 
More
Correct, CMD does not support MTP devices. Windows Explorer and a few other programs (Total Commander has a plugin for it, I think) can access MTP, but CMD only supports things that can be specified by UNC, and that doesn't include MTP.

EDIT: it's possible to actually run CMD on your phone, and access it using Telnet. You currently have to use an app sandbox (the CMD binary isn't signed, so far as I can tell, and therefore can't be run outside a sandbox) so the privileges are pretty limited even with capability-unlock and are minimal without it, but it's possible nonetheless.
The Following User Says Thank You to GoodDayToDie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2014, 12:07 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pahang
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
so if it isn't possible to mount windows phone as drive, what about emulator on a phone? does it works?
Last edited by wuiyang; 26th July 2014 at 12:12 PM.
26th July 2014, 02:31 PM |#6  
Amadeus01's Avatar
Senior Member
Westerlee
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuiyang

so if it isn't possible to mount windows phone as drive, what about emulator on a phone? does it works?

As GoodDayToDie already stated in his previous post, it's not possible.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes