Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to filter/block ads

OP the gladiator

25th August 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Is there a way to filter or block ads in the apps ? In android is possible to mod a hosts file through apps such as AdAway or AdFree; has WP8 something similar ?
25th August 2014, 05:06 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 95
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the gladiator

Is there a way to filter or block ads in the apps ? In android is possible to mod a hosts file through apps such as AdAway or AdFree; has WP8 something similar ?



No !!!
26th August 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #3  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,782
 
5,870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
You can edit the HOSTS file with an interop-unlocked phone. There's no current way to do it on a phone without interop-unlock, though.
27th August 2014, 06:49 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Verona
Thanks Meter: 4
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Eye to change the host file First, as gooddaytodie says you need to interop and then enable full access to get full access to system folders. .. I have tried to edit the file to remove the ads from app but then I found myself with 3g and wifi not working.. So I thought I'd put the original file but are no longer able to replace it because Microsoft protected.. I had to Flash the full partition. Informed well before modifying it
27th August 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Ekaterinburg
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
It`s not the way with Windows Phone 8, but anyway. I`m using my router Netgear router to block the ads. Of cource it will work only when you`re connected to your Wi-Fi spot (or LAN with PC, Laptop or any other Ethernet-compatible thing).
27th August 2014, 08:30 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I appreciate the information you gave me (and to the forum). A big thanks to GoodDayToDie who gave some hope and a "grosso grazie" to BlackSilverGT for the heads-up.

GoodDayToDie, could you please elaborate a bit your answer in order to avoid what happened to BlackSilverGT ? The alternative would the work-around suggested by winphoneuser
28th August 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #7  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,782
 
5,870 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I have no explanation for what happened to @BlackSilverGT, so I can't promise how to avoid it. I used an app which moves files via CRpcComponent (rather than using the full access via MTP hack) but I have modified the HOSTS file that way, and it works. Maybe the problem was the *particular* modifications you made? I wasn't trying to block ads or anything like that, just intercepting traffic from an app. The tool I wrote for the purpose was a one-off and I seem to have deleted it, but I have a more general-purpose file editing utility under development.

The Following User Says Thank You to GoodDayToDie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes