Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,205 Members 40,775 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Root] [CWM] Xperia J

Tip us?
 
kishenpj21
Old
(Last edited by kishenpj21; 27th December 2012 at 07:02 AM.) Reason: update
#1  
kishenpj21's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 106
Join Date: Sep 2012
Red face [Root] [CWM] Xperia J

Root and CWM for Xperia J Finally!

Thanks to srl3gx and Bin4ry for their awsome work!
and ME for taking risk! :P

Make sure u are in 11.0.A.3.28 or 11.0.A.3.18 firmware ALONE with Locked Bootloader..
This method Dosent Work on 11.0.A.7.5 Firmware!
(working on it! )
for .28 firmware download from here and flash it

if u dont have a flash tool download it from here for windows and install drivers located in C:\Flashtool\drivers (choose all drivers)

since flash tool does not have xperia j drivers..u may hav flashing problem...for that

1.download and extract d ST26.zip ive uploaded
2.open flash tool
3.click devices>import
4.navigate to d file u've extracted
5.now xperia j driver is installed
u can now flash without problems

Now back to rooting...
Root first! thn apply CWM!


Steps for Rooting:

1.extract Root_J.zip
2.make sure 'usb debugging' is enabled in devolpment settings
3.double click Runme.bat file for windows users...runme.sh for linux users
4.wait for process to finish (mostly should work)


Steps for CWM:

1.extract CWM_J.zip
2.'usb debugging' on
3.double click 'install.bat' only for windows (linux not working! my bad..)
4.wait for it.....installed! close the shell program and switch off the phone..


Plug in charger or USB....the phone switches on....press up and down volume keys repeatedly when SONY logo flashes.....voila u get into CWM!
You need plugged in charger or USB to goto CWM! Else CWM wont Work!!


reboot to system and see if supersu is installed finish! ur phone is rooted and cwm is installed !!

CWM has little bugs ..but its a never mind stuff..
use arrow keys to navigate..power button to select and 'go back' option in cwm itself to go to previous options.


Comment if it worked for you...let others know!

Tested on my xperia J and Miro
Dont restore factory setting or else CWM will vanish...n u hav to reflash whole firmware again
for questions and problems ask srl3gx

HOPE I HELPED...hit thanks :P

Sorry for the last update! It Dindn't Work for many devices!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Root_J.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.15 MB, 72968 views)
File Type: zip CWM_J.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.27 MB, 39860 views)
File Type: zip ST26.zip - [Click for QR Code] (704.8 KB, 32382 views)
The Following 37 Users Say Thank You to kishenpj21 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
noriya
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 143
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: phnom penh
wow finally it arrived.
Cambodia Kingdom Of Wonder
 
nakTT
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 389
Join Date: Nov 2011
Anyone tried this already?

Sent from my ST26i
 
kishenpj21
Old
#4  
kishenpj21's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 106
Join Date: Sep 2012
Yes dude I tested it.. It works... That's y i posted it

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to kishenpj21 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mikeycrawford
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 71
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by kishenpj21 View Post
Yes dude I tested it.. It works... That's y i posted it

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
Followed your instructions on my Experia J. I have build 11.0.A.3.18 (UK on orange/EE). I decided against flashing to 3.28 and to try with 3.18, but to get the Flashtool working I did the following:

Once the ST26.zip file is extracted (using Winrar) I then have to open this extracted file again in WinRar to get the files that should live at C:\Flashtool\devices\ST26 (loader.sin etc.). I then had to copy the original file ST26.ftd to c:\Flashtool\devices. I enabled USB debugging in the Developer settings on the phone and Flashtool started working properly.

I was able to root and CWM the device as per your instructions on buiild 11.0.A.3.18. Cheers.
The Following User Says Thank You to mikeycrawford For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
adfad666
Old
#6  
adfad666's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,181
Posts: 723
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Olomouc

 
DONATE TO ME
The major problem with this CWM method is that it's designed for the Tipo, so when you try to flash a zip made for jlo, it fails. I had to remove the assert from the top of the scrip to flash with this.
The dawn of mobile phones
Ericsson GA 628 => Nokia 5110 => Siemens C35i => Siemens C45

The age of colour screens and polyphonic ringtones
Motorola C350 => Sony Ericsson T610 => Sony Ericsson T630 => Sony Ericsson K790i => Sony Ericsson T250i

The age of Android
LG Optimus One => Sony XPERIA J => Sony XPERIA SP => Sony XPERIA Z1 Compact
The Following User Says Thank You to adfad666 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kishenpj21
Old
#7  
kishenpj21's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 106
Join Date: Sep 2012
Thanks for trying on .18 firmware... I'll update d thread

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
 
kishenpj21
Old
#8  
kishenpj21's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 106
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adfad666 View Post
The major problem with this CWM method is that it's designed for the Tipo, so when you try to flash a zip made for jlo, it fails. I had to remove the assert from the top of the scrip to flash with this.
Dude dunno y u have problems with CWM...btr to flash according to my instructions... It works for many

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
 
adfad666
Old
#9  
adfad666's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,181
Posts: 723
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Olomouc

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kishenpj21 View Post
Dude dunno y u have problems with CWM...btr to flash according to my instructions... It works for many

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
Have you tried flashing a compiled ROM? It fails as the CWM thinks it's on a Tipo device.

Plus if you wipe your system partition, you lose CWM, it's not a good solution. I've posted a CWM as a boot.img in my CM10 thread
The dawn of mobile phones
Ericsson GA 628 => Nokia 5110 => Siemens C35i => Siemens C45

The age of colour screens and polyphonic ringtones
Motorola C350 => Sony Ericsson T610 => Sony Ericsson T630 => Sony Ericsson K790i => Sony Ericsson T250i

The age of Android
LG Optimus One => Sony XPERIA J => Sony XPERIA SP => Sony XPERIA Z1 Compact
 
kishenpj21
Old
#10  
kishenpj21's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 106
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adfad666 View Post
Have you tried flashing a compiled ROM? It fails as the CWM thinks it's on a Tipo device.

Plus if you wipe your system partition, you lose CWM, it's not a good solution. I've posted a CWM as a boot.img in my CM10 thread

Oh..ok.. But this post is for original firmware rooting n CWM... Won't work for custom roms

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes