Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Root] [CWM] Xperia J

OP kishenpj21

6th December 2012, 06:00 PM   |  #1  
kishenpj21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Root and CWM for Xperia J Finally!

Thanks to srl3gx and Bin4ry for their awsome work!
and ME for taking risk! :P

Make sure u are in 11.0.A.3.28 or 11.0.A.3.18 firmware ALONE with Locked Bootloader..
This method Dosent Work on 11.0.A.7.5 Firmware!
(working on it! )
for .28 firmware download from here and flash it

if u dont have a flash tool download it from here for windows and install drivers located in C:\Flashtool\drivers (choose all drivers)

since flash tool does not have xperia j drivers..u may hav flashing problem...for that

1.download and extract d ST26.zip ive uploaded
2.open flash tool
3.click devices>import
4.navigate to d file u've extracted
5.now xperia j driver is installed
u can now flash without problems

Now back to rooting...
Root first! thn apply CWM!


Steps for Rooting:

1.extract Root_J.zip
2.make sure 'usb debugging' is enabled in devolpment settings
3.double click Runme.bat file for windows users...runme.sh for linux users
4.wait for process to finish (mostly should work)


Steps for CWM:

1.extract CWM_J.zip
2.'usb debugging' on
3.double click 'install.bat' only for windows (linux not working! my bad..)
4.wait for it.....installed! close the shell program and switch off the phone..


Plug in charger or USB....the phone switches on....press up and down volume keys repeatedly when SONY logo flashes.....voila u get into CWM!
You need plugged in charger or USB to goto CWM! Else CWM wont Work!!


reboot to system and see if supersu is installed finish! ur phone is rooted and cwm is installed !!

CWM has little bugs ..but its a never mind stuff..
use arrow keys to navigate..power button to select and 'go back' option in cwm itself to go to previous options.


Comment if it worked for you...let others know!

Tested on my xperia J and Miro
Dont restore factory setting or else CWM will vanish...n u hav to reflash whole firmware again
for questions and problems ask srl3gx

HOPE I HELPED...hit thanks :P

Sorry for the last update! It Dindn't Work for many devices!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Root_J.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.15 MB, 93686 views)
File Type: zip CWM_J.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.27 MB, 51264 views)
File Type: zip ST26.zip - [Click for QR Code] (704.8 KB, 38174 views)
Last edited by kishenpj21; 27th December 2012 at 08:02 AM. Reason: update
The Following 39 Users Say Thank You to kishenpj21 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2012, 01:36 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag phnom penh
Thanks Meter: 18
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
wow finally it arrived.
7th December 2012, 07:09 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Anyone tried this already?

Sent from my ST26i
7th December 2012, 06:07 PM   |  #4  
kishenpj21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Yes dude I tested it.. It works... That's y i posted it

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to kishenpj21 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2012, 10:39 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by kishenpj21

Yes dude I tested it.. It works... That's y i posted it

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium

Followed your instructions on my Experia J. I have build 11.0.A.3.18 (UK on orange/EE). I decided against flashing to 3.28 and to try with 3.18, but to get the Flashtool working I did the following:

Once the ST26.zip file is extracted (using Winrar) I then have to open this extracted file again in WinRar to get the files that should live at C:\Flashtool\devices\ST26 (loader.sin etc.). I then had to copy the original file ST26.ftd to c:\Flashtool\devices. I enabled USB debugging in the Developer settings on the phone and Flashtool started working properly.

I was able to root and CWM the device as per your instructions on buiild 11.0.A.3.18. Cheers.
The Following User Says Thank You to mikeycrawford For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2012, 11:54 PM   |  #6  
adfad666's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Olomouc
Thanks Meter: 4,286
 
747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
The major problem with this CWM method is that it's designed for the Tipo, so when you try to flash a zip made for jlo, it fails. I had to remove the assert from the top of the scrip to flash with this.
The Following User Says Thank You to adfad666 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2012, 12:49 AM   |  #7  
kishenpj21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Thanks for trying on .18 firmware... I'll update d thread

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
9th December 2012, 12:51 AM   |  #8  
kishenpj21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adfad666

The major problem with this CWM method is that it's designed for the Tipo, so when you try to flash a zip made for jlo, it fails. I had to remove the assert from the top of the scrip to flash with this.

Dude dunno y u have problems with CWM...btr to flash according to my instructions... It works for many

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium
9th December 2012, 12:58 AM   |  #9  
adfad666's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Olomouc
Thanks Meter: 4,286
 
747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kishenpj21

Dude dunno y u have problems with CWM...btr to flash according to my instructions... It works for many

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium

Have you tried flashing a compiled ROM? It fails as the CWM thinks it's on a Tipo device.

Plus if you wipe your system partition, you lose CWM, it's not a good solution. I've posted a CWM as a boot.img in my CM10 thread
9th December 2012, 01:03 AM   |  #10  
kishenpj21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adfad666

Have you tried flashing a compiled ROM? It fails as the CWM thinks it's on a Tipo device.

Plus if you wipe your system partition, you lose CWM, it's not a good solution. I've posted a CWM as a boot.img in my CM10 thread


Oh..ok.. But this post is for original firmware rooting n CWM... Won't work for custom roms

Sent from my ST26i using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes