Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Google Adds New Features to Drive, Sheets, Slides and Docs

In the last few months, Google has been working very hard to adapt all its apps to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Info 2 [E] Changed FPS

OP dulejr

16th February 2014, 12:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Hi!

I changed boot animation logo with this app:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...oot.animations

and I try to run it more smoothly with changing FPS. Before I confirmed change from 20 to 60 fps I get a warning says that in some cases boot animation won't work beceuse of that, but now my whole screen doesn't work. It's all black. App changed some .txt file but I can't remember what it was. Can someone help me to revert FPS to previus state pls.

I tried to sent email to developer but they didn't answered.
16th February 2014, 05:16 AM   |  #2  
NSDCars5's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Over there
Thanks Meter: 425
 
1,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Which ROM are you using? Which firmware version?

You need to flash the ROM again (in case of a custom ROM), or flash an FTF file (in case of a stock ROM). Wiping data isn't needed for custom ROMs as long as you're using the same one; flashing an FTF will automatically wipe data.
16th February 2014, 10:26 AM   |  #3  
KDB223's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liberty City
Thanks Meter: 105
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
The file you're looking for is desc.text.
Open up the bootanimaton.zip in /system/media (do it on a PC, not your phone)
In the zip, look for desc.txt , open it, and change he third number in the first line of the file to whatever FPS you want.
Save it, and close it. (It should get automatically updated in the zip if you didn't close the archive)
That's it!
19th February 2014, 03:54 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSDCars5

Which ROM are you using? Which firmware version?

You need to flash the ROM again (in case of a custom ROM), or flash an FTF file (in case of a stock ROM). Wiping data isn't needed for custom ROMs as long as you're using the same one; flashing an FTF will automatically wipe data.

I am using default ROM. Can you give me some tutorials about flashing FTF file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KDB223

The file you're looking for is desc.text.
Open up the bootanimaton.zip in /system/media (do it on a PC, not your phone)
In the zip, look for desc.txt , open it, and change he third number in the first line of the file to whatever FPS you want.
Save it, and close it. (It should get automatically updated in the zip if you didn't close the archive)
That's it!

For some reason windows can't load my phone. Even, on Sony Companion it's searching for device indefinetly, but on phone green light is on.
Last edited by dulejr; 19th February 2014 at 03:58 PM.
19th February 2014, 05:04 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDB223

The file you're looking for is desc.text.
Open up the bootanimaton.zip in /system/media (do it on a PC, not your phone)
In the zip, look for desc.txt , open it, and change he third number in the first line of the file to whatever FPS you want.
Save it, and close it. (It should get automatically updated in the zip if you didn't close the archive)
That's it!

I managed to open phone storage on PC but in system I only have PIM folder with contacts in it.
19th February 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #6  
NSDCars5's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Over there
Thanks Meter: 425
 
1,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Okay... do you have CWM? It might negate the need to flash an FTF.

If you don't, see this guide for how to flash an FTF: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2054486 The FTF you need is this one: http://www.mediafire.com/download/ps...1.3.A.0.47.ftf
The Following User Says Thank You to NSDCars5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th February 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #7  
KDB223's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liberty City
Thanks Meter: 105
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dulejr

I managed to open phone storage on PC but in system I only have PIM folder with contacts in it.

Errrrr....let me rephrase.
The /system folder cannot be accessed by connecting your phone to your PC.
What I meant was, (on your phone)copy the boot animation.zip to your sdcard (or internal sdcard) and then open it up on your PC.
19th February 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDB223

Errrrr....let me rephrase.
The /system folder cannot be accessed by connecting your phone to your PC.
What I meant was, (on your phone)copy the boot animation.zip to your sdcard (or internal sdcard) and then open it up on your PC.

Hahah, I can't do anything on phone because my display doesn't work.
20th February 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #9  
KDB223's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liberty City
Thanks Meter: 105
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dulejr

Hahah, I can't do anything on phone because my display doesn't work.

Wait, what??
You changed something in the boot animation, and now the entire display doesn't light up? Even though the boot is successful?
That's strange. In that case, if what I mentioned is the cause, you have a way to procure the zip through adb.

Connect the phone to your PC, open up a terminal window/cmd and type
Code:
adb pull /system/media/bootanimation.zip
The zip should end up on your hard drive in the folder where you started the terminal.
NB:This requires you to have adb drivers installed(or use tools like Minimal ADB and Fastboot), and have USB Debugging ticked in Settings>Developer Options
28th February 2014, 02:29 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDB223

Wait, what??
You changed something in the boot animation, and now the entire display doesn't light up? Even though the boot is successful?
That's strange. In that case, if what I mentioned is the cause, you have a way to procure the zip through adb.

Connect the phone to your PC, open up a terminal window/cmd and type

Code:
adb pull /system/media/bootanimation.zip
The zip should end up on your hard drive in the folder where you started the terminal.
NB:This requires you to have adb drivers installed(or use tools like Minimal ADB and Fastboot), and have USB Debugging ticked in Settings>Developer Options

I did this using Minimal ADB tool, changed value to default, save it, close it and update zip. Now, my phone won't even start, red light is blinking.

EDIT: I repeat process again and when I open desc.text value is still on 60, is there something I didn't do first time? I opened that file with winrar, changed value and save. This second time I didn't change value, and red light isn't blinking any more. Is 30 FPS default for my phone?

Can I somehow delete bootanimation app so it wont read setting from it?
Last edited by dulejr; 28th February 2014 at 02:36 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes