5,597,084 Members 46,530 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] is unlocking the bootloader will delete all my files on phone memory?

Tip us?
 
shubhamanand141
Old
(Last edited by shubhamanand141; 1st January 2013 at 10:52 AM.) Reason: some spelling mistake
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 90
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kapurthala
Default [Q] is unlocking the bootloader will delete all my files on phone memory?

is unlocking the bootloader will delete all my files on phone memory?\
I wanted to Install cm10 on my sony xperia tipo. for that i Have to unlock my bootloader. on some where over the internet, i read that unlocking the bootloader will wipe all my sd card data. is that True.?
if that is, is there any other way to install cm10 without unlocking bootloader???
 
gavster26
Old
#2  
gavster26's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 413
Posts: 1,032
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: In The Xperia Forums ;)

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamanand141 View Post
is unlocking the bootloader will delete all my files on phone memory?\
I wanted to Install cm10 on my sony xperia tipo. for that i Have to unlock my bootloader. on some where over the internet, i read that unlocking the bootloader will wipe all my sd card data. is that True.?
if that is, is there any other way to install cm10 without unlocking bootloader???
no you can only install cm10 with custom kernel so that means an unlocked bootloader. if your worried about loosing your data just back it up to a laptop or PC.

Senior Member
Creator Of AVD Rom The Way Stock Should Be
My PM Is Not Tech Support Please Post In The Relavent Thread
 
satan89
Old
#3  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 615
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Unlocking bootloader will factory reset your phone. But it won't format your internal or external memory.
The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shubhamanand141
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 90
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kapurthala
Default thanks buddy....

Quote:
Originally Posted by satan89 View Post
Unlocking bootloader will factory reset your phone. But it won't format your internal or external memory.
thanks buddy. but can i relock my bootloader after once unlock it.
 
shubhamanand141
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 90
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kapurthala
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamanand141 View Post
thanks buddy. but can i relock my bootloader after once unlock it.
and 1 other thing...
installing a custom rom will decrease my ram.. is that True ???
 
satan89
Old
#6  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 615
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Relocking afaik requires some ftf file. I don't think its possible on tipo yet.
And custom rom might utilize ram differently based on what apps are preloaded in it (can be more or lesser than stock). Custom rom using custom kernel might allocate ram for gpu video memory and hardware acceleration to improve video and game playback so don't worry too much about ram unless you see a performance decrease.
The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shubhamanand141
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 90
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kapurthala
Quote:
Originally Posted by satan89 View Post
Relocking afaik requires some ftf file. I don't think its possible on tipo yet.
And custom rom might utilize ram differently based on what apps are preloaded in it (can be more or lesser than stock). Custom rom using custom kernel might allocate ram for gpu video memory and hardware acceleration to improve video and game playback so don't worry too much about ram unless you see a performance decrease.
is there a way to come back to your stock ROM after installing cm10.
 
satan89
Old
#8  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 615
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Yes, flash ftf file with flashtool.
The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shubhamanand141
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 90
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: kapurthala
Quote:
Originally Posted by satan89 View Post
Yes, flash ftf file with flashtool.
can u snd the link for tipo ftf file.
 
satan89
Old
#10  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 615
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Its in general section, there is a thread that has a collection of ftf files

The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes