FORUMS

Make Your Network Smart – XDA Xposed Tuesday

We rave about the features and abilities of our smartphones. However, in order for … more

Dr.Ketan Brings The S6 Theme Store To The Note 4

Dr.Ketan has submitted a video to the forums showing a functional port of the Galaxy S6 … more

Do You Have Insurance on Your Smartphone?

While affordable smartphones are becoming more available, the majority of high-end flagships … more

Apple Music Will Increase iTunes Match to 100,000 Songs

The battle for music streaming subscription dominance is starting to really heat … more

[Q] is unlocking the bootloader will delete all my files on phone memory?

102 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
is unlocking the bootloader will delete all my files on phone memory?\
I wanted to Install cm10 on my sony xperia tipo. for that i Have to unlock my bootloader. on some where over the internet, i read that unlocking the bootloader will wipe all my sd card data. is that True.?
if that is, is there any other way to install cm10 without unlocking bootloader???
Last edited by shubhamanand141; 1st January 2013 at 10:52 AM. Reason: some spelling mistake
 
 
1st January 2013, 01:44 PM |#2  
gavster26's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag In The Xperia Forums ;)
Thanks Meter: 505
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamanand141

is unlocking the bootloader will delete all my files on phone memory?\
I wanted to Install cm10 on my sony xperia tipo. for that i Have to unlock my bootloader. on some where over the internet, i read that unlocking the bootloader will wipe all my sd card data. is that True.?
if that is, is there any other way to install cm10 without unlocking bootloader???

no you can only install cm10 with custom kernel so that means an unlocked bootloader. if your worried about loosing your data just back it up to a laptop or PC.
1st January 2013, 02:45 PM |#3  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 182
 
More
Unlocking bootloader will factory reset your phone. But it won't format your internal or external memory.
The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st January 2013, 03:35 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag kapurthala
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
thanks buddy....
Quote:
Originally Posted by satan89

Unlocking bootloader will factory reset your phone. But it won't format your internal or external memory.

thanks buddy. but can i relock my bootloader after once unlock it.
1st January 2013, 03:46 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag kapurthala
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamanand141

thanks buddy. but can i relock my bootloader after once unlock it.

and 1 other thing...
installing a custom rom will decrease my ram.. is that True ???
1st January 2013, 04:56 PM |#6  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 182
 
More
Relocking afaik requires some ftf file. I don't think its possible on tipo yet.
And custom rom might utilize ram differently based on what apps are preloaded in it (can be more or lesser than stock). Custom rom using custom kernel might allocate ram for gpu video memory and hardware acceleration to improve video and game playback so don't worry too much about ram unless you see a performance decrease.
The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd January 2013, 06:43 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag kapurthala
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by satan89

Relocking afaik requires some ftf file. I don't think its possible on tipo yet.
And custom rom might utilize ram differently based on what apps are preloaded in it (can be more or lesser than stock). Custom rom using custom kernel might allocate ram for gpu video memory and hardware acceleration to improve video and game playback so don't worry too much about ram unless you see a performance decrease.

is there a way to come back to your stock ROM after installing cm10.
2nd January 2013, 07:42 AM |#8  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 182
 
More
Yes, flash ftf file with flashtool.
The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd January 2013, 10:10 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag kapurthala
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by satan89

Yes, flash ftf file with flashtool.

can u snd the link for tipo ftf file.
2nd January 2013, 10:17 AM |#10  
satan89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 182
 
More
Its in general section, there is a thread that has a collection of ftf files
The Following User Says Thank You to satan89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes