Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unlock bootloader without wiping data?

OP amnher

11th March 2014, 08:54 AM   |  #1  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Flashing ftf is a must after unlocking, but is there a way to preserve data ? I mean my phone will not get wipe

Sent from my C2105 using xda app-developers app
11th March 2014, 09:28 AM   |  #2  
underd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bandar Lampung
Thanks Meter: 98
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Try not to wipe cache and user data when flashing through Flashtool.
If you can't boot to system without wiping userdata, the best way is backup via Titanium Backup before unlocking bootloader.
If I'm not wrong, Internal SD wouldn't get wiped, only /data partition. But it's better to take backup of your Internal SD first.
The Following User Says Thank You to underd0g For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #3  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by underd0g

Try not to wipe cache and user data when flashing through Flashtool.
If you can't boot to system without wiping userdata, the best way is backup via Titanium Backup before unlocking bootloader.
If I'm not wrong, Internal SD wouldn't get wiped, only /data partition. But it's better to take backup of your Internal SD first.

Yeah internal sd will not be affected but my concern is the data,

Sent from my C2105 using xda app-developers app
11th March 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #4  
underd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bandar Lampung
Thanks Meter: 98
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnher

Yeah internal sd will not be affected but my concern is the data,

Sent from my C2105 using xda app-developers app

I don't get what you mean about the "data" :|
Is it Contact, SMS, etc? Backup using My Backup/ My Backup Pro: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droid.MyBackup
App & Game? Backup using Titanium Backup
Last edited by underd0g; 11th March 2014 at 10:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to underd0g For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 10:38 AM   |  #5  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by underd0g

I don't get what you mean about the "data" :|
Is it Contact, SMS, etc? Backup using My Backup/ My Backup Pro: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droid.MyBackup
App & Game? Backup using Titanium Backup

Well ill just backup my updated system and data apps with Titanium. But when I restore it, all gets force close(gmail, google play services, etc...)
Last edited by amnher; 11th March 2014 at 10:40 AM.
11th March 2014, 10:54 AM   |  #6  
underd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bandar Lampung
Thanks Meter: 98
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnher

Well ill just backup my updated system and data apps with Titanium. But when I restore it, all gets force close(gmail, google play services, etc...)

Ahh I see..
For system app backup, you need to restore it manually one by one, don't use batch action.
FC is normal for restoring system app, but after reboot, FC is gone.

If you want to move updated app from /data to /system partition.
You can use Batch action "Integrate update of system apps into ROM"
Again, it's normal if FC happen, just reboot your phone after finished integrating the update.
11th March 2014, 11:04 AM   |  #7  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by underd0g

Ahh I see..
For system app backup, you need to restore it manually one by one, don't use batch action.
FC is normal for restoring system app, but after reboot, FC is gone.

If you want to move updated app from /data to /system partition.
You can use Batch action "Integrate update of system apps into ROM"
Again, it's normal if FC happen, just reboot your phone after finished integrating the update.

but problem is still there. I reflashed again and I just restored data apps... I already tried wiping cache and dalvik and reboot but FC still there... Im not planning to move to updated app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes