Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unlock bootloader without wiping data?

OP amnher

11th March 2014, 08:54 AM   |  #1  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Flashing ftf is a must after unlocking, but is there a way to preserve data ? I mean my phone will not get wipe

Sent from my C2105 using xda app-developers app
11th March 2014, 09:28 AM   |  #2  
underd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bandar Lampung
Thanks Meter: 88
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Try not to wipe cache and user data when flashing through Flashtool.
If you can't boot to system without wiping userdata, the best way is backup via Titanium Backup before unlocking bootloader.
If I'm not wrong, Internal SD wouldn't get wiped, only /data partition. But it's better to take backup of your Internal SD first.
The Following User Says Thank You to underd0g For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #3  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by underd0g

Try not to wipe cache and user data when flashing through Flashtool.
If you can't boot to system without wiping userdata, the best way is backup via Titanium Backup before unlocking bootloader.
If I'm not wrong, Internal SD wouldn't get wiped, only /data partition. But it's better to take backup of your Internal SD first.

Yeah internal sd will not be affected but my concern is the data,

Sent from my C2105 using xda app-developers app
11th March 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #4  
underd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bandar Lampung
Thanks Meter: 88
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnher

Yeah internal sd will not be affected but my concern is the data,

Sent from my C2105 using xda app-developers app

I don't get what you mean about the "data" :|
Is it Contact, SMS, etc? Backup using My Backup/ My Backup Pro: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droid.MyBackup
App & Game? Backup using Titanium Backup
Last edited by underd0g; 11th March 2014 at 10:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to underd0g For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 10:38 AM   |  #5  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by underd0g

I don't get what you mean about the "data" :|
Is it Contact, SMS, etc? Backup using My Backup/ My Backup Pro: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droid.MyBackup
App & Game? Backup using Titanium Backup

Well ill just backup my updated system and data apps with Titanium. But when I restore it, all gets force close(gmail, google play services, etc...)
Last edited by amnher; 11th March 2014 at 10:40 AM.
11th March 2014, 10:54 AM   |  #6  
underd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bandar Lampung
Thanks Meter: 88
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnher

Well ill just backup my updated system and data apps with Titanium. But when I restore it, all gets force close(gmail, google play services, etc...)

Ahh I see..
For system app backup, you need to restore it manually one by one, don't use batch action.
FC is normal for restoring system app, but after reboot, FC is gone.

If you want to move updated app from /data to /system partition.
You can use Batch action "Integrate update of system apps into ROM"
Again, it's normal if FC happen, just reboot your phone after finished integrating the update.
11th March 2014, 11:04 AM   |  #7  
amnher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by underd0g

Ahh I see..
For system app backup, you need to restore it manually one by one, don't use batch action.
FC is normal for restoring system app, but after reboot, FC is gone.

If you want to move updated app from /data to /system partition.
You can use Batch action "Integrate update of system apps into ROM"
Again, it's normal if FC happen, just reboot your phone after finished integrating the update.

but problem is still there. I reflashed again and I just restored data apps... I already tried wiping cache and dalvik and reboot but FC still there... Im not planning to move to updated app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes