FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

JB 4.3 vs KitKat 4.4.2

69 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By starterz, Member on 27th August 2014, 11:48 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello everyone,

Since there is still no proper root and recovery for the M2 on KitKat, would someone who has upgraded from JB to KitKat be able to write their experience with KitKat so far? Are there enough KitKat advantages over JB 4.3 in order to upgrade while losing root? Is it maybe better to wait until a proper root and recovery is available?

Thanks and all best.
The Following User Says Thank You to starterz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th August 2014, 12:00 PM |#2  
dotzi75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Meiningen
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
I have root with kitkat! It is much more better than JB!

Sent from my D2303 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th August 2014, 12:49 PM |#3  
Member
Flag kilmarnock
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
how did you get root ,is your bootloader unlocked.i have root without it unlocked .this is weird i got a update telling me to update so i did it and now i have a d2306.which is not my model ,my model is d2303 .and still have root without bootloader unlocked .
27th August 2014, 01:01 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
According to the AOSP sources, KitKat finally fixes the A2DP bitpool being way too low (320kbps vs 229 on 4.3 and below), so if you want to use a BT headset, it's worth considering. On the other hand apps lose the right to write to SD card with KitKat, which you cannot fix without root, and root seems to be impossible with a locked bootloader.
27th August 2014, 01:09 PM |#5  
Member
Flag kilmarnock
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
yes it can be done .root can be done on kitkat .i had jb 4.3 uk,then i had kk rusian ,then decided to falsh back to 4.3 but i flashed wrong country and had brazil jb4.3 then used toewlroot then superuser then whent to about and checked for updates and got the brazil kk update,i was thinking it was uk ,so i let it run and when finished i had d2306,insead of d2303 which is my model and have still got root just need a cwm recovery and am ready to backup all .my story .
27th August 2014, 01:46 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Is the camera really better on kitkat?
27th August 2014, 02:55 PM |#7  
ishakcez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag kayseri
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Please Share d2303 4.4.2 root
27th August 2014, 06:51 PM |#8  
ripp2003's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ferfay
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrtease5865

yes it can be done .root can be done on kitkat .i had jb 4.3 uk,then i had kk rusian ,then decided to falsh back to 4.3 but i flashed wrong country and had brazil jb4.3 then used toewlroot then superuser then whent to about and checked for updates and got the brazil kk update,i was thinking it was uk ,so i let it run and when finished i had d2306,insead of d2303 which is my model and have still got root just need a cwm recovery and am ready to backup all .my story .

root ok but do you have system partition mounted r/w ? I think no.... you have kk routed to 50%
27th August 2014, 07:35 PM |#9  
Member
Flag kilmarnock
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
okay how would i check what app

---------- Post added at 07:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:17 PM ----------

yes cant r/w system but have root up to a point as you say but this is okay as ive not unlocked my bootloader .better than none .
28th August 2014, 05:32 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 268
 
More
Root is important to remove all the plunder on stock ROM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes