FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[Q] Did I just brick my Xperia TL?

19 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By lhamilton1807, Junior Member on 5th September 2014, 03:17 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I did a stupid thing and didn't do my homework. I flashed CM 10.2 for Xperia T (Mint) on my rooted Xperia TL but didn't unlock the bootloader first. The phone won't boot. Just a black screen. If I hold the power button, it vibrates once, but nothing comes up on the screen. No LED light indicating charging while plugged in.

Have I just destroyed the phone?
 
 
5th September 2014, 06:24 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 625
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhamilton1807

So I did a stupid thing and didn't do my homework. I flashed CM 10.2 for Xperia T (Mint) on my rooted Xperia TL but didn't unlock the bootloader first. The phone won't boot. Just a black screen. If I hold the power button, it vibrates once, but nothing comes up on the screen. No LED light indicating charging while plugged in.

Have I just destroyed the phone?

No. A custom kernel won't work on a locked bootloader, so that is essentially your problem. Just put your phone in flash mode and use flashtool to flash a stock FTF and it should boot up just fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to Antiga Prime For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th September 2014, 02:43 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiga Prime

No. A custom kernel won't work on a locked bootloader, so that is essentially your problem. Just put your phone in flash mode and use flashtool to flash a stock FTF and it should boot up just fine.

Flashtool says my phone is locked and can't be updated.
6th September 2014, 04:11 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 625
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhamilton1807

Flashtool says my phone is locked and can't be updated.

Then maybe put your phone in fastboot mode and flash the kernel first... IDK, I did that once and I'm pretty sure that's how I fixed it. With 7zip you can extract the "kernel.sin" file from the FTF, and use Flashtool in Fastboot mode to flash that kernel.
10th October 2014, 05:01 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks. I've been trying to put it into fastboot and can't get it to work. From what I have read, I need to hold power+volDown, right? I've held power + volUp to get it to vibrate three times, then connected it with the power & volDown buttons held and nothing - no blue light for fastboot mode. I've currently got it plugged in (using the oem Sony cable) with a rubber band around the power & volDown buttons. Maybe that'll work... I dunno. The led is just staying red, and I can't see it listed as a fastboot devices by typing "fastboot devcies" when cmd is open in the correct folder in the sdk... Any ideas on how to get this done?

Thanks for your help, everyone.
11th October 2014, 02:52 PM |#6  
istux's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Milano
Thanks Meter: 916
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhamilton1807

Thanks. I've been trying to put it into fastboot and can't get it to work. From what I have read, I need to hold power+volDown, right? I've held power + volUp to get it to vibrate three times, then connected it with the power & volDown buttons held and nothing - no blue light for fastboot mode. I've currently got it plugged in (using the oem Sony cable) with a rubber band around the power & volDown buttons. Maybe that'll work... I dunno. The led is just staying red, and I can't see it listed as a fastboot devices by typing "fastboot devcies" when cmd is open in the correct folder in the sdk... Any ideas on how to get this done?

Thanks for your help, everyone.

It's a bit hard to understand what you're trying to do

Fastboot mode = just press vol.up, keep on pressing, connect USB, when you get a blue light release the vol. button
Flash mode = just press vol.down, keep on pressing, connect USB when Flashtool is ready to flash the FTF, when you get a green light release the vol. button

As you can see, you don't have to press the PWR button (only pwr + vol.up to reset, but you already know it).

Usually it's enough to flash a new FTF... I don't know why you get that error: maybe a wrong button combination or maybe you didn't install the drivers needed for flashtool.
If your battery is almost discharged, the fastboot method is good to flash only the kernel in order to recharge the battery and then flash an entire FTF.

I guess your device is ok.
Anyway, have you already seen this guide?
Last edited by istux; 11th October 2014 at 02:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to istux For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th October 2014, 10:44 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'll give it a shot. I can't seem to get it into flash mode or fastboot mode, though. When I hold down the Volume up or volume down button and try to plug it in, the light stays red and the computer makes a "connect" sound (Windows 7 - rising tones), then multiple "disconnect" sounds (falling tones). The light stays red and the phone is not connected.

I'm downloading a stock firmware and flashtool and will report back when I've tried it some more.
11th October 2014, 10:48 PM |#8  
WhiteNeo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,494
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhamilton1807

I'll give it a shot. I can't seem to get it into flash mode or fastboot mode, though. When I hold down the Volume up or volume down button and try to plug it in, the light stays red and the computer makes a "connect" sound (Windows 7 - rising tones), then multiple "disconnect" sounds (falling tones). The light stays red and the phone is not connected.

I'm downloading a stock firmware and flashtool and will report back when I've tried it some more.

I suggest removing the battery, if you have the chance.
Keep the battery removed and press and hold power and volume up buttons simultaneously. Then plug the phone to your computer and you'll enter fastboot mode.

I revived my XV with the same red led that way.
Had to remove the battery before it would work, tho.

Good luck bro!
18th November 2014, 07:28 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorry it took so long to get to this. I've just been using my backup in the meantime.
I took the battery out and plugged it in like you suggested. Worked like a charm! I've got it flashed and running now. Thanks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes