FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Auto-Brightness & screen lock

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By volgis, Junior Member on 5th March 2012, 07:40 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I've had my xperia S for a couple of days now and I did not notice a change in brightness depending on the ambient light. I've checked in the screen section under setting and there is no option for auto-brightness unlike my previous android phone (Nexus 1). Does the Xperia S have an auto-brightness option?

Moreover, I'm used to using the pattern lock on my previous phone. With the Xperia S, when I enable the pattern security feature, I am also presented with the normal screen lock (lock/mute). Is there a way to disable that screen?

Thank you in advance
 
 
5th March 2012, 08:24 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 463
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by volgis

Hi,

I've had my xperia S for a couple of days now and I did not notice a change in brightness depending on the ambient light. I've checked in the screen section under setting and there is no option for auto-brightness unlike my previous android phone (Nexus 1). Does the Xperia S have an auto-brightness option?

Moreover, I'm used to using the pattern lock on my previous phone. With the Xperia S, when I enable the pattern security feature, I am also presented with the normal screen lock (lock/mute). Is there a way to disable that screen?

Thank you in advance

If I am not mistaken no SE phone has auto-brightness, reason is nowhere to be found....

The same for the lock screen, most probably the ingenuity of the SE/S engineers stopped after creating Timescape...
5th March 2012, 09:51 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbil

If I am not mistaken no SE phone has auto-brightness, reason is nowhere to be found...

That is too bad, I really like the auto-brightness feature on phone. It helps improve the battery life.
5th March 2012, 11:01 AM |#4  
Cholek3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield, UK
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by volgis

That is too bad, I really like the auto-brightness feature on phone. It helps improve the battery life.

What about widgets? Check them (there was something like Power Widget, or Power Control, can't remember), or you could use external aplication. I think Extended Controls or Free Power Widget got something like that. It is not in Display Settings anymore.

UPDATE:

Power Control (It has Wi-Fi, BT, GPS, Sync and Brightness buttons) Brightness should have 3 settings: Max, auto and minimum.
Last edited by Cholek3; 5th March 2012 at 11:04 AM.
5th March 2012, 11:06 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cholek3

What about widgets? Check them (there was something like Power Widget, or Power Control, can't remember), or you could use external aplication. I think Extended Controls or Free Power Widget got something like that. It is not in Display Settings anymore.


I do use widgets to control the brightness manually (power widgets & beautiful widgets). Both control brightness and power widget even has an auto-brightness check box that has no effect what so ever.
5th March 2012, 04:01 PM |#6  
THeLogiC's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 899
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by volgis

I do use widgets to control the brightness manually (power widgets & beautiful widgets). Both control brightness and power widget even has an auto-brightness check box that has no effect what so ever.

if you want to control brightness easy way try this app:

Display Brightness
5th March 2012, 10:48 PM |#7  
floepie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 421
 
More
Woah, wait a minute. No auto-brightness? That can't be. The specs sure indicate there is ambient light sensor. There is indeed no "auto-brightness" box to check off, unlike with other Android devices, but I thought that this new Xperia series is supposed to work like iOS devices do. In other words, you move the slider to determine the *average* brightness of the screen, just the way an iphone or ipad does. The screen gets brighter in with more ambient light and dimmer in darkness, but the average brightness is controlled by the slider.

Most other Android devices use the slider to determine a "fixed" brightness, not an average dynamic brightness.

Are you sure the brightness doesn't change?? I find that hard to believe with an ambient light sensor on board.
6th March 2012, 12:09 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
The white paper says there is an ambient light sensor.
Last edited by motionUS; 6th March 2012 at 12:21 AM.
6th March 2012, 06:58 AM |#9  
zaynal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
I just checked the user guide installed on my XPS. It mentioned about light sensor and brightness adjustment.

6th March 2012, 07:08 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Open Phonebook and dial *#*#7378423#*#*.
Service Tests → Ambient Light Sensor

It works.

Sent from my SO-02D using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to Kneko183 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2012, 11:02 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by floepie

Are you sure the brightness doesn't change?? I find that hard to believe with an ambient light sensor on board.

I know it has a sensor, but I could not see a difference. Even when I cover the sensor with my thumb, I could not see the same change in brightness as I am accustomed too on my nexus one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by motionUS

The white paper says there is an ambient light sensor.

I did not imply that there is no light sensor, just that I couldn't find the auto brighness check box and couldn't notice the change in brightness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kneko183

Open Phonebook and dial *#*#7378423#*#*.
Service Tests → Ambient Light Sensor

It works.

Thanks a lot! I've checked it and my light sensor works. The change in value seems minimal though. I will play around with the brightness slider to see if I notice it now.

Thanks again!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes