5,606,722 Members 37,336 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Removing "data status " from notification bar and using volume keys to unlock

Tip us?
 
zarg2
Old
#11  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2010
It might be firwmare related. I was on .62 and upgraded to .73 and I'm able to clear it.
Don't know about .63 and .67.
- Sony Xperia Z1 White Stock 14.3.A.0.757

- Sony Xperia S White 6.2.B.1.96 Stock (Used as PMP now)

- Archos 70 IT FW 2.4.83 (Android 2.2)
The Following User Says Thank You to zarg2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xerox89
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 97
Join Date: Feb 2011
I found that "go locker" is a great custom lock screen application .

Doesnt awake and drain battery when on stand by like normal lock screen .

Doesnt require root . Try it .
The Following User Says Thank You to xerox89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LiveSquare
Old
#13  
LiveSquare's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 326
Posts: 1,518
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by xerox89 View Post
I found that "go locker" is a great custom lock screen application .

Doesnt awake and drain battery when on stand by like normal lock screen .

Doesnt require root . Try it .
What is that related to this thread? |OP| didn't ask anything about lock screen!
Did someone help you? Click on the THANKS button.

Don't look like a SILLY BILLY



Current: Sony Xperia Z2 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Current: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Backup: Sony Xperia Z | Android v4.3 | All Stock.
Still have: Sony Xperia S | Android v4.1.2 | All Stock.
Gifted: Xperia Arc | Android 4.0.4 | All Stock.
Previous: Xperia X10i | Sold.
 
sirksael
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Overijse
Funny, i don't have this icon appearing ever. I thought it was region related, but now i see another member from Belgium who has the icon?
 
Javi22
Old
#15  
Javi22's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 799
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Madrid
Quote:
Originally Posted by zarg2 View Post
It might be firwmare related. I was on .62 and upgraded to .73 and I'm able to clear it.
Don't know about .63 and .67.
I upgraded too, and It still there, annoying as the hell xDD



Quote:
Originally Posted by xerox89 View Post
I found that "go locker" is a great custom lock screen application .

Doesnt awake and drain battery when on stand by like normal lock screen .

Doesnt require root . Try it .

Yeah I have tried it too, it works, the only problem is that it isnt compatible with "unlock with wifi" or "tasker", which is very useful because allows me to skip slide and pattern unlocker when Im at my home. Moreover, it forces me to make dual unlock, first slide, and then pattern


Thank you guys for the help
HTC One
 
joens
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Girona
Hello Javi,

The 'data enabled' icon is firmware-related. Did you buy your Xperia S in Spain? Spanish firmware has this icon enabled and you cannot disable it.

I know because I always buy my phones via Expansys or Amazon, so they come from various european countries and the icon is not there. And once I flash the Spanish firmware, the icon magically appears. Voilā!

Blame Sony Espaņa for that.

Saludos,

joens
The Following User Says Thank You to joens For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Javi22
Old
#17  
Javi22's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 799
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Madrid
Ok so that means the icon will be there until I change rim...

My phone is from movistar, so yes it's from Spain, but I have flashed the generic Spanish firmware.

The problem is that my bootloader is blocked so I can't make root and flash roms so far
HTC One
 
krabappel2548
Old
#18  
krabappel2548's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 13255
Posts: 6,130
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Neerpelt

 
DONATE TO ME
I hadn't read this thread before, but it's really easy if you rooted your phone

Just flash this file in CWM, it will disable any data notification

link: remove data notification

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes