Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Post [Q] [XU] Headphone configuration

OP MIDO_MASH

22nd March 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #1  
MIDO_MASH's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 6
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Hey Guys, So...
My Sony headphone which came with the phone accidentally was cut.
So write now I have my old Galaxy Pocket's headphone cus I can't afford to buy a decent headphone right now,

The problem is when I press the button on the headphone it just controls the volume, Nothing more.
Is there anything I can do to change what that button does, like just the original Sony's.
pls guys help me,
and thanks in advance.
22nd March 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Imola
Thanks Meter: 125
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
This is probably your problem: http://cdn.androidpolice.com/wp-cont...MTP_Pinout.png
23rd March 2014, 12:41 AM   |  #3  
yousefs's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryccardo

This is probably your problem: http://cdn.androidpolice.com/wp-cont...MTP_Pinout.png

So? I mean if the headphone button connects the first pin with the second then both headphones should do the same thing, I guess each headphone button connect different pins, it's not about swapping first and second pin

Sent from my ST25i using Tapatalk
23rd March 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #4  
MIDO_MASH's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 6
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryccardo

This is probably your problem: http://cdn.androidpolice.com/wp-cont...MTP_Pinout.png

So what should I do.
I'm not Into these things too much but I can learn
23rd March 2014, 04:40 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Imola
Thanks Meter: 125
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yousefs

So? I mean if the headphone button connects the first pin with the second then both headphones should do the same thing, I guess each headphone button connect different pins, it's not about swapping first and second pin

According to one source the volume buttons are referred to the ground pin and the play/pause button to the microphone... mind you, this contradicts what I've always known (that buttons apply different resistances in parallel to the mic)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIDO_MASH

So what should I do.
I'm not Into these things too much but I can learn

IF that's the problem you could try a CTIA to OMAP adapter... as said, I'm not sure that's the actual problem.
23rd March 2014, 04:51 PM   |  #6  
MIDO_MASH's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 6
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryccardo

IF that's the problem you could try a CTIA to OMAP adapter... as said, I'm not sure that's the actual problem.

I'm sorry but what does that even mean, I just want when I press the headset button it pauses/plays the Walkman.
I think Someone on the Galaxy SII forums mentioned Something about that : /system/usr/keylayout/Generic.kl.
Maybe if I change a thing or two on this file something would happen ????
23rd March 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Imola
Thanks Meter: 125
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIDO_MASH

I'm sorry but what does that even mean, I just want when I press the headset button it pauses/plays the Walkman.
I think Someone on the Galaxy SII forums mentioned Something about that : /system/usr/keylayout/Generic.kl.
Maybe if I change a thing or two on this file something would happen ????

Oh, that file (and others in the same folder) have the hardware button mappings... if the phone tells apart the buttons and just does the wrong actions you can remap them there!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes