Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 42,631 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Default data toggle widget, disable "Allow data traffic?" message

Tip us?
 
StKiller
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default [Q] Default data toggle widget, disable "Allow data traffic?" message

Hi,

I like the default data toggle widget and I use it a lot. But there is a problem - when I enable the network data, there appear a big message - "Allow data traffic? .....".
It annoys me, as I see it at least 5 times per day. Is there any way to disable it ? I am even ready to root the device for that
P.S. Yep, I know that there are other alternatives on the market but this is the last way I would count on.

Thank you in advance.
 
LiveSquare
Old
#2  
LiveSquare's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 328
Posts: 1,554
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by StKiller View Post
Hi,

I like the default data toggle widget and I use it a lot. But there is a problem - when I enable the network data, there appear a big message - "Allow data traffic? .....".
It annoys me, as I see it at least 5 times per day. Is there any way to disable it ? I am even ready to root the device for that
P.S. Yep, I know that there are other alternatives on the market but this is the last way I would count on.

Thank you in advance.
If I'm correct, the message isn't from the widget, but from the native android. It's there to warn user that enabling will cost you money.

I don't think you can disable that unless (not sure yet) you touch something in the system (of course, rooted for that).
Did someone help you? Click on the THANKS button.

Don't look like a SILLY BILLY



Current: Sony Xperia Z2 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Current: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Backup: Sony Xperia Z | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Still have: Sony Xperia S | Android v4.1.2 | All Stock.
Gifted: Xperia Arc | Android 4.0.4 | All Stock.
Previous: Xperia X10i | Sold.
The Following User Says Thank You to LiveSquare For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rishi06
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2010
well I wish we could! It's driving me insane, having to click the damn thing everytime. I KNOW it's going to cost me money to use teh data connection, I have an internet plan thank you very much.
That and the "Oh noez you switched data off!" notification on statusbar are annoying the hell out of me.
 
StKiller
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
So, I rooted the device. Can anyone give me a hint how to remove this message ?
 
LiveSquare
Old
#5  
LiveSquare's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 328
Posts: 1,554
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by StKiller View Post
So, I rooted the device. Can anyone give me a hint how to remove this message ?
Where did you read it's possible if rooted?

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk
Did someone help you? Click on the THANKS button.

Don't look like a SILLY BILLY



Current: Sony Xperia Z2 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Current: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Backup: Sony Xperia Z | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Still have: Sony Xperia S | Android v4.1.2 | All Stock.
Gifted: Xperia Arc | Android 4.0.4 | All Stock.
Previous: Xperia X10i | Sold.
 
StKiller
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
I am not sure about this, I am just asking. May be someone knows.
 
BleeDK
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Markham
Maybe just assuming that with root access one can alter a variety of things in the OS. But yes that message is hella annoying and really should be shown only the first time.

I don't see other phones do this and my old phone either so there must be a way...

Sent from my LT26i using XDA
 
LiveSquare
Old
#8  
LiveSquare's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 328
Posts: 1,554
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by StKiller View Post
I am not sure about this, I am just asking. May be someone knows.
If you are just looking at removing at msg saying the data is disabled, just pull the notification bar and click on the "Clear" button.

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk
Did someone help you? Click on the THANKS button.

Don't look like a SILLY BILLY



Current: Sony Xperia Z2 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Current: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Backup: Sony Xperia Z | Android v4.4.2 | All Stock.
Still have: Sony Xperia S | Android v4.1.2 | All Stock.
Gifted: Xperia Arc | Android 4.0.4 | All Stock.
Previous: Xperia X10i | Sold.
 
Scratchling
Old
#9  
Scratchling's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 407
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dublin
Try Widgetsoid. You can create your own widget that one give that dialog. And loads of other handy ones, like batt/cpu info, flashlight, screen-on lock etc.

:: Oppo Find 7 QHD, ColorOS 1.2.2:: Daily Driver
:: Samsung GS3, Stock 4.1.2 Rooted:: -Bust-
:: Sony Xperia S, 4.0.4 Stock(6.1.A.2.55, Rooted) ::
:: SE X10i, FXP123(Cyanogen) 2.3, Rooted ::
:: Dropad A8, Genesis 3.2(Cyanogen GB Based) ::
:: SE X8, FroyoBread 23b :: - Runt of the litter
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Scratchling For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
StKiller
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Well, I realized that is more interesting to write my own data toggle widget. Mobile data and WiFi already works, with no warnings

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes