5,606,722 Members 37,595 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Xperia S TV Remote Control not working

Tip us?
 
Subhan222
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default [Q] Xperia S TV Remote Control not working

I have Sony Bravia KDL-40D3500 TV and i am connecting my Xperia S using HDMI cable provided in the box

I can not browse my phone using the TV Remote at all.

Searched all the internet but no solution actually no one having this issue except me.

Even under External Inputs from TV remote i select HDMI Device Selection as Player 1 it does not work its displays following

Launching. Please wait.

Communication failed. please check your cable or connection.

Under "setting --> HDMI Setup --> Device List Update" could not able to find anything even my phone is connected. and if i select "HDMI Device List" nothing is listed there as well.

not sure what can i do but its shame the sony phone does not work with Sony Bravia. I have check the spec of this tv it says it has Bravia Sync but not sure how to locate it ?

thanks
 
WasherUK
Old
#2  
WasherUK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 198
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Manchester
I have a Sony Kdl, dont think its the same as yours. For the remote to work the tv launcher app needs to be running, also in the tv options I found "enable hdmi control" or simlar, it then warns you that standby will use more elec. Once I enabled this the remote worked, I used hdmi 3 too on the side
 
Subhan222
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Hi

Tv launcher app is running in background even bringing it to foreground does not make any difference.

Enable hdmi control ? Where u found this option? On tv settings or xperia s?

Cause I dont see any warning abt elec at standby at all.

When u say hdmi 3 ? What this means?

So confused. Please help :(
Sent from my LT26i using XDA
 
Felimenta97
Old
#4  
Felimenta97's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2222
Posts: 7,617
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ribeirão Preto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subhan222 View Post
Hi

Tv launcher app is running in background even bringing it to foreground does not make any difference.

Enable hdmi control ? Where u found this option? On tv settings or xperia s?

Cause I dont see any warning abt elec at standby at all.

When u say hdmi 3 ? What this means?

So confused. Please help :(
Sent from my LT26i using XDA
For HDMI 3,
I think he meant the jack number on the TV.
Sent from my X10 Mini Pro using Tapatalk

 
sgsgs
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 59
Join Date: Apr 2011
It does work with my Panasonic TV. Like WasherUK says, need to enable hdmi control on your TV setup.

For Panasonic, it is called Vierra Link.
 
WasherUK
Old
#6  
WasherUK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 198
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Manchester
On my Sony KDL tv the option is

Home Button

Setup/Hdmi Set Up/Control For HDMI = On

Yes HDMI 3 was just the 3rd HDMI input on the TV meaning the HDMI control is not exclusive to HDMI input 1

There is an option on the XS too that needs to be checked about Remote Control.

---------- Post added at 10:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:07 PM ----------

One other thing I noticed today, when you run the TV launcher if you scroll the icons with your finger on the screen before using the tv remote then the remote wont work. I had to press the home tab on the phone to close tv launcher and re run it then dont touch the screen with your finger, try the tv remote first.
 
denaz
Old
#7  
denaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 320
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Milan
I had the same issue with my sony kdl.
The first thing i had to do was to update the tv firmware!
Then, what i did was to plug the xperia to the tv via hdmi and launch the tv app.
Then on the tv i've launched the "discover hdmi peripheals". The tv saw the phone and then i was able to use the remote to control the phone.
 
Subhan222
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
Ok I think I got few things to try on by the time I get home.

Also how to update tv firmware.

I would like to do that if it resolves everything.

Thanks to all of you. :)

Sent from my LT26i using XDA
 
Subhan222
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2012
tried almost everything but no luck

Here is the outcome:

My KDL40D3500 only has 2 HDMI sockets
On my remote (RM-ED009) I do not have any Home key.

I guess the MENU key is equivalent to that.

Menu-->Settings-->Set-up-->HDMI Setup contains following
HDMI Control ------------- ON
Auto Device Off ---------- ON
Auto TV On -------------- ON
Device List Update
HDMI Device List

there is nothin appeared in HDMI Device List even after doing Device List Update.

Second thing is as below:

Menu --> External Inputs --> HDMI Device Selection (greyed out when xperia is not connected)

When connected i select this option and it displays a list saying Player 1 (only in the list)
also sometimes player 1 and Player 2, which is same as the text appears on the left hand top corner of the TV.

Even i select, it says on the bottom right hand corner.

"Launching. Please wait."

then after couple of seconds

"Communication failed. please check your cable or connection."

Also i am surprise i cannot see any specific setting to BRAVIA as well.

The only thing left is to update the firmware of Sony KDL, but i dont know how to do that. looking on internet for this, if anyone knows how to update it ?

On xperia option about remote control is checked.
 
WasherUK
Old
#10  
WasherUK's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 198
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Manchester
Very odd

When I connect my phone to the tv the tv says "Cell Phone" does yours?
Dont forget once you run the tv launcher (the screen with a few apps along the bottom and music player at the top not your normal phone home screen) dont touch the screen again, it seems you can either use the remote or your finger not both. If you use your finger you have to repeat the connection process without touching the screen for the remote to work.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

One-Handed Mode Ported to the Samsung Galaxy S4

People may not realize it much, but this fascination with larger screen sizes on smartphones … more

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more