Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q]how to setting ROEHSOFT RAM-EXPANDER (SWAP) ??

OP vuiseng

19th March 2013, 09:42 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
the swappiness and the minfreekb need set to what number for our x8??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	unnamed.jpg
Views:	6352
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	1816306  
Last edited by vuiseng; 19th March 2013 at 09:59 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to vuiseng For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2013, 12:10 PM   |  #2  
jay-z-s's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amol
Thanks Meter: 205
 
584 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to setting ROEHSOFT RAM-EXPANDER (SWAP) ??
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuiseng

the swappiness and the minfreekb need set to what number for our x8??

I play high end games like fifa12 or realracing2 on x8 & I never needed 3GBs for swap!!!!!!
128mb is enough man
Swappiness depends to your usage (60 is android's default value ,higher is not recommanded by me it just slows down{our RAM memory's speed is 500mbs comparing to sdcard it might be 100X faster so using higher swappiness slows down alot }
For gaming swappiness 40-60 is good when just wanna multi tasking a value between 10-40 is good & enough

#swappiness is actually telling you how active is your swap partition

#SORRY FOR POOR ENGLISH
This is JAY-Z-S
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to jay-z-s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2013, 12:19 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay-z-s

I play high end games like fifa12 or realracing2 on x8 & I never needed 3GBs for swap!!!!!!
128mb is enough man
Swappiness depends to your usage (60 is android's default value ,higher is not recommanded by me it just slows down{our RAM memory's speed is 500mbs comparing to sdcard it might be 100X faster so using higher swappiness slows down alot }
For gaming swappiness 40-60 is good when just wanna multi tasking a value between 10-40 is good & enough

#swappiness is actually telling you how active is your swap partition

#SORRY FOR POOR ENGLISH
This is JAY-Z-S

then minfree set what??
19th March 2013, 12:24 PM   |  #4  
Gogeta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gingertown
Thanks Meter: 817
 
6,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to setting ROEHSOFT RAM-EXPANDER (SWAP) ??
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay-z-s

I play high end games like fifa12 or realracing2 on x8 & I never needed 3GBs for swap!!!!!!
128mb is enough man
Swappiness depends to your usage (60 is android's default value ,higher is not recommanded by me it just slows down{our RAM memory's speed is 500mbs comparing to sdcard it might be 100X faster so using higher swappiness slows down alot }
For gaming swappiness 40-60 is good when just wanna multi tasking a value between 10-40 is good & enough

#swappiness is actually telling you how active is your swap partition

#SORRY FOR POOR ENGLISH
This is JAY-Z-S

Which rom & kernel make these games work?

----------------------------------------------------------
"Life is nothing without freedom!"
19th March 2013, 05:36 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Nashik
Thanks Meter: 506
 
4,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
select optimal value then tick the swap. it will create swap file...wait for it.. and then you done
19th March 2013, 07:52 PM   |  #6  
jay-z-s's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amol
Thanks Meter: 205
 
584 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to setting ROEHSOFT RAM-EXPANDER (SWAP) ??
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuiseng

then minfree set what??

Whats exactly minfree? I used this app & i never seen this






Quote:
Originally Posted by Gogeta

Which rom & kernel make these games work?

----------------------------------------------------------
"Life is nothing without freedom!"


:| nAa 14 + any gingerbread or ics or even jelly bean rom (you only need 128 swap which needs a custom kernel )
(Fifa v1.2.7 )



Quote:
Originally Posted by CnC-ROCK

select optimal value then tick the swap. it will create swap file...wait for it.. and then you done

Yup, I personally prefer swapper2 -no need to create swap every time u wanna use it(but should do a trick for this)




This is JAY-Z-S
The Following User Says Thank You to jay-z-s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2013, 05:38 PM   |  #7  
Samuel IP's Avatar
Member
Flag Coimbatore,India
Thanks Meter: 121
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Arrow
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuiseng

the swappiness and the minfreekb need set to what number for our x8??

Know Everything about Swap partition HERE
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=4249813
Click Here
================================================== ======================
Hit Thanks if the post helped You

---------- Post added at 09:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:05 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vuiseng

the swappiness and the minfreekb need set to what number for our x8??

Know Everything about Swap partition HERE
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=4249813
Click Here
================================================== ======================

Hit Thanks if the post helped You
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Samuel IP For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th June 2013, 03:43 AM   |  #8  
syahazu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Castle KB
Thanks Meter: 67
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
if you're running JB platforms, i recommend you to apply 256MB of swap partitions,,
then use class10 SDcard instead (set the swappiness to 100)
it boost the performance




thanks to all developers !!!
27th November 2013, 05:35 PM   |  #9  
Gogeta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gingertown
Thanks Meter: 817
 
6,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ummarrkhan

swapper 2 not working in my
gt 5302

Swap needs kernel support to work, and this is xperia X8 forum.

Respawning in 3....2....1.....
27th November 2013, 05:41 PM   |  #10  
ummarrkhan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Srinagar,Jammu & Kashmir
Thanks Meter: 72
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gogeta

Swap needs kernel support to work, and this is xperia X8 forum.

Respawning in 3....2....1.....

sorry but I have custom kernel with swap support

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes