Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Cracking unlock bootloader allowed : no to Yes.?

OP waqaskool

3rd September 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Hey,
I have recently bought an Xperia Z ultra, and when i was about to CM11 it, i found out that the boot loader unlock allowed is NO.
Now where is live, i brought the phone through and import shop. so the procedure to obtain a operator key and send to Sony is impossible.

I can access my fastboot, i have even rooted my phone, but i really want custom roms and kernels to be an option.
I know that the usual answer to this is that its impossible. But i would appreciate if we discuss it to progress on this as i have seen too many people with this issue and i think it needs a solution. I would request the admin/moderators to keep this thread alive.

Now does anyone know why is it impossible ? is it hardware or software ?
any directions or people that i can personally request to work on this ? any leads ? i am really desperate, i really cant afford to spend that much on a phone again.

is the Xposed Framework any possible solution for this ?

any ideas information is helpful......
4th September 2014, 05:44 AM   |  #2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,237
 
2,772 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
There is no solution, or one being worked on that I know of. In one thread it has been asked and a very good hardware hacker said that even taking the back off and putting a Xperia into it's maintenance mode you cant unlock a BL for these locked devices.

Have a read of the hard brick thread for the details
9th September 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Angry there seems to be a way, just a thought.
Upon on reseaerch, i am finding out a Linux command called kexec seems to be favour here. Since it can bypass kernel and force a custom one...
Work in progress for z1 here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2462799

Just leaving this link for other users like me, who might be searching... And also requesting to post replies here to see how much demand we have for this issue..
9th September 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thumbs up sp has something going on too
Xperia sp seems to have been worked upon in this matter recently http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2377972&page=7
9th September 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Angry kexec for ultra
Kexec for the ultra itself
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2615708&page=4

Are there any developers I can call out/plead to regarding this matter?? its really frustrating to have this much of a powerful device and not play with it. I miss CM.
4th October 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #6  
unlocked bootloader if it says no
I had no idea that the sony z ultra had some units that couldn't be unlocked. why would sony do this, it says being able to unlock your bootloader is important to sony. They even gave me an unlocked code from their site. I bought an factory unlocked phone, so stupid that this one here can be unlocked and that one can't. so am I stuck with a locked bootloader now? I sold my Lg because of this crap now I am dealing with it again ****
4th October 2014, 03:11 PM   |  #7  
H. E. Pennypacker's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownDog99

I had no idea that the sony z ultra had some units that couldn't be unlocked. why would sony do this, it says being able to unlock your bootloader is important to sony. They even gave me an unlocked code from their site. I bought an factory unlocked phone, so stupid that this one here can be unlocked and that one can't. so am I stuck with a locked bootloader now? I sold my Lg because of this crap now I am dealing with it again ****

It's your carrier that has locked it (Rogers, i'm guessing?). There are only a couple of carriers that locks down the bootloader, like Rogers, O2 (i think) and another one that we're aware of.
4th October 2014, 03:18 PM   |  #8  
It was bought factory unlocked from store no carrier involved which makes it even more crazy. I guess I will sell this model and get different one. Does the gpe have this stupid restriction on its model. I really like the 6.4 inch screen and don't want to go down in size. I am already going to get the nexus 6 so I definitely want a z ultra also
4th October 2014, 05:21 PM   |  #9  
H. E. Pennypacker's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownDog99

It was bought factory unlocked from store no carrier involved which makes it even more crazy. I guess I will sell this model and get different one. Does the gpe have this stupid restriction on its model. I really like the 6.4 inch screen and don't want to go down in size. I am already going to get the nexus 6 so I definitely want a z ultra also

It's shouldn't be locked. Only a couple of carriers locks the bootloader. The GPe's bootloader is unlockable.
4th October 2014, 09:08 PM   |  #10  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,237
 
2,772 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
@BrownDog99 type *#*#7378523#*#* and check if you haven't. I don't think I've seen a factory one they is bootloader locked. What model? And from where did you buy it?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes