FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Tutorial] Xperia Z & ZL Bootloader Unlocking/Relocking

13,136 posts
Thanks Meter: 39,509
 
By DooMLoRD, Recognized Developer on 17th February 2013, 11:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
18th February 2013, 06:13 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Shanghai
Thanks Meter: 114
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD

I did not follow what you mean...

Sent from my LT30p using xda app-developers app

My Xperia Z cannot root.
 
 
18th February 2013, 07:39 AM |#12  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 39,509
 
More
Re: [Tutorial] Xperia Z Bootloader Unlocking
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeeson

My Xperia Z cannot root.

Do u mean bootloader is NOT unlockable for your device?

Sent from my LT30p using xda app-developers app
18th February 2013, 11:32 AM |#13  
schaggo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zürich
Thanks Meter: 779
 
Donate to Me
More
Lightbulb
DooM, I'd add what losing DRM keys means, e.g. no more Music ID/Gracenote within the Walkman app plus probably most importantly, as asked all the time and all over the place in the T/mint forums: loss of Bravia Engine.
18th February 2013, 12:45 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
More
Απ: [Tutorial] Xperia Z Bootloader Unlocking
Quote:
Originally Posted by schaggo

DooM, I'd add what losing DRM keys means, e.g. no more Music ID/Gracenote within the Walkman app plus probably most importantly, as asked all the time and all over the place in the T/mint forums: loss of Bravia Engine.

Sony is very community friendly as I can see...
18th February 2013, 12:47 PM |#15  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 39,509
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypnz

Sony is very community friendly as I can see...

its a LOT better than most other manufacturers...
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to DooMLoRD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2013, 03:38 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
More
Απ: [Tutorial] Xperia Z Bootloader Unlocking
Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD

its a LOT better than most other manufacturers...

I know and no offence. But when I see a community friendly company,with user unlocks bootloader will breaks bravia engine that u expect from me to say?
The Following User Says Thank You to hypnz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2013, 05:57 PM |#17  
schaggo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zürich
Thanks Meter: 779
 
Donate to Me
More
AW: [Tutorial] Xperia Z Bootloader Unlocking
Probably protection of their intellectual property which is, admittedly, very cool.
Question: you only have BE on stock. If you stay on stock anyway, why unlock?

Anyway, no flaming and trolling here. That was not the point. Sony is cool and community friendly as ****.
The Following User Says Thank You to schaggo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2013, 06:54 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
AW: [Tutorial] Xperia Z Bootloader Unlocking
So we are only talking about Sony software here that won't work with unlocked bootloader, right? And BE isn't more than a little screen calibration, is it? I mean the screen will still look awesome without it!?

Sent from my SGSII CM10.1
18th February 2013, 07:05 PM |#19  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 39,509
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diemadedrei

So we are only talking about Sony software here that won't work with unlocked bootloader, right? And BE isn't more than a little screen calibration, is it? I mean the screen will still look awesome without it!?

Sent from my SGSII CM10.1

honestly i am a bit skeptical if BE actually gets disabled... cause from what we tested the user said he did not notice any difference...
18th February 2013, 07:42 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, BC
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD

honestly i am a bit skeptical if BE actually gets disabled... cause from what we tested the user said he did not notice any difference...

Hopefully in the coming weeks we can confirm this.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes