Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,757 Members 48,672 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: What display manufacturer does your device use?
JDC 254 34.23%
Sharp 488 65.77%
Voters: 742. You may not vote on this poll

Check your display manufacturer

Tip us?
 
LordManhattan
Old
(Last edited by LordManhattan; 25th May 2013 at 10:33 PM.)
#1  
LordManhattan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5646
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
Location Check your display manufacturer

It would be interesting to see if Sony does indeed use two display manufacturers, so i'm making this thread so people can actually see this. I posted this in the "Clearing up.. blah" thread, but it'll be more effective having a stand alone thread for it.

Now, let's get down to business. You have to be rooted, install a terminal from the Play Store and type this into the terminal:

- su
- dmesg|grep -i panel

Look for "Found panel: mipi_video_********_Full_HD_******"

Some report that a reboot helps if you aren't getting a proper result.

This far we've gotten these results (from the Clearing up.. blahh thread)

JDC panel: 1
- Found panel: mipi_video_jdc_Full_HD_mdy70

Sharp panel: 2
- Found panel: mipi_video_sharp_Full_HD_ls050t3sx01_id_dlogo

Update: You can use _daz_'s app instead so you don't have to use the terminal. Download the app here.
 
I DO NOT RUN A SUPPORT LINE THROUGH PERSONAL MESSAGES,
SO PLEASE DO NOT PM ME ABOUT HELP (*COUGH* UNLESS I KNOW YOU *COUGH*).

THANK YOU, AND PLEASE HAVE A COOKIE ON YOUR WAY OUT.


The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to LordManhattan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
taxas
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordManhattan View Post
It would be interesting to see if Sony does indeed use two display manufacturers, so i'm making this thread so people can actually see this. I posted this in the "Clearing up.. blah" thread, but it'll be more effective having a stand alone thread for it.

Now, let's get down to business. You have to be rooted, install a terminal from the Play Store and type this into the terminal:

- su
- dmesg|grep -i panel

Look for "Found panel: mipi_video_********_Full_HD_******"

Some report that a reboot helps if you aren't getting a proper result.

This far we've gotten these results (from the Clearing up.. blahh thread)

JDC panel: 1
- Found panel: mipi_video_jdc_Full_HD_mdy70

Sharp panel: 2
- Found panel: mipi_video_sharp_Full_HD_ls050t3sx01_id_dlogo
Which one is better?
 
LordManhattan
Old
#3  
LordManhattan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5646
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
We don't know yet

Ignore the error in the poll title! I'm tired okay!
 
I DO NOT RUN A SUPPORT LINE THROUGH PERSONAL MESSAGES,
SO PLEASE DO NOT PM ME ABOUT HELP (*COUGH* UNLESS I KNOW YOU *COUGH*).

THANK YOU, AND PLEASE HAVE A COOKIE ON YOUR WAY OUT.


The Following User Says Thank You to LordManhattan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ambroos
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 902
Posts: 1,387
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Leuven / Sint-Truiden
Default Re: [ROOT] Check your display manufacturer

Afaik the dlogo in the Sharp panel string stands for DoCoMo logo, so that logo might actually be in the glass, unlike the JDI panels that have no logos. Are there any Japanese people who removed the shatter-proof sheet?

That also means that all non-DoCoMo-phones are most likely to have a JDI panel.

Sent from my C6603 using xda premium
Sony Xperia Z2 - D6503, black
Sony Xperia Tablet Z LTE - SGP321, black
Sony Xperia Z1 - C6903, black, backup

Huge Sony (Ericsson) fan.
J210i, K320i, G705, Arc, Elm, Neo, Arc S, Xperia S, Xperia T, Xperia Z, Xperia Z1, Xperia Tablet Z, Xperia Z2
The Following User Says Thank You to Ambroos For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lloydbf
Old
(Last edited by lloydbf; 9th March 2013 at 11:34 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 117
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambroos View Post
Afaik the dlogo in the Sharp panel string stands for DoCoMo logo, so that logo might actually be in the glass, unlike the JDI panels that have no logos. Are there any Japanese people who removed the shatter-proof sheet?

That also means that all non-DoCoMo-phones are most likely to have a JDI panel.

Sent from my C6603 using xda premium
Except for the fact that tons of people here who have the European version posted the Sharp string.

Need someone who has pulled off the protector and no Logo left on it to post the string, see what panel that is.

You're also wrong about the Japanese units having it baked into the screen. They have "SONY" at the bottom of the panel and I can assure you Sony isn't flipping panels around. They are making two different screen protectors with the logo in them.

Basically your entire post is wrong. Delete it.
 
Ape187
Old
#6  
Ape187's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Anime World
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydbf View Post
Except for the fact that tons of people here who have the European version posted the Sharp string.

Need someone who has pulled off the protector and no Logo left on it to post the string, see what panel that is.

You're also wrong about the Japanese units having it baked into the screen. They have "SONY" at the bottom of the panel and I can assure you Sony isn't flipping panels around. They are making two different screen protectors with the logo in them.

Basically your entire post is wrong. Delete it.
I pulled off the protector and the logo came off with it. I have a Sharp display.
Current Device: Xperia Zex 6603
ROM: monxDIFIED v01-03
Kernel: DooMKernel v7
Panel: Sharp
CPU Variant (PVS): 1 (nominal) [Instructions on how to find out.]

History of Devices: Siemens C10D->Siemens MC60->Sony Ericsson K800i->Sony Ericsson Xperia X1->HTC Desire AMOLED->HTC Sensation->HTC One X


Steins;Gate 4 Live!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Ape187 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lloydbf
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 117
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ape187 View Post
I pulled off the protector and the logo came off with it. I have a Sharp display.
Thanks
 
doki81
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Singapore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambroos View Post
Afaik the dlogo in the Sharp panel string stands for DoCoMo logo, so that logo might actually be in the glass, unlike the JDI panels that have no logos. Are there any Japanese people who removed the shatter-proof sheet?

That also means that all non-DoCoMo-phones are most likely to have a JDI panel.

Sent from my C6603 using xda premium
Singapore starhub unit and i am on sharp panel..
GS3


testing Boeffla Kernel 2.11.7b and i am loving it

Xperia Z
ROM:ANDROID 4.2.2 (v03-60) ★ monxDIFIED ★ ESSENTIAL SeXZ
 
ratcom
Old
(Last edited by ratcom; 9th March 2013 at 01:45 PM.)
#9  
ratcom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 1,334
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nottingham, England
JDC panel on vodafone uk black unit.

btw - coming from the note 2 I thought the screen was better in outside daylight, it only seems to be poor indoors under artificial. Also helps now in running a rom with black bars instead of gray
(.(*. .*).)
..ratcom..
(.(.* *.).) Flashing Since 2004
 
Higgins12
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 664
Join Date: Nov 2007
Sharp Panel - Vodafone Germany

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes