Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[Q] ART vs Dalvik

OP Dsteppa

19th June 2014, 08:48 PM   |  #1  
Dsteppa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 386
 
1,630 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Simple question, not sure if I missed it or not.
My question isn't what the difference is between ART and Dalvik, but why doesn't our device have the option to choose which one we want to use?
19th June 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #2  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,111
 
4,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Sony didn't include ART, probably because their framework/system apps aren't compatible with it.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2014, 11:13 PM   |  #3  
neoxx3m's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ljubuski
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
951 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

Sony didn't include ART, probably because their framework/system apps aren't compatible with it.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Probably, but Google will completely remove Dalvik from the following versions of Android (5.0 and above) and change it with ART, it's leaked today.

Sent from my C6603 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to neoxx3m For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #4  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,111
 
4,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoxx3m

Probably, but Google will completely remove Dalvik from the following versions of Android (5.0 and above) and change it with ART, it's leaked today.

Sent from my C6603 using XDA Free mobile app

Yes, I saw the news. It wasn't technically a leak, it was a commit to AOSP source, which is publicly viewable. 😉
Anyway, ART doesn't necessarily excite me as much as it seems that it does some people. Phones are at a stage now where performance gains in high end devices will surely be negligible. Apps launch pretty much instantly for me already. I'll have to see anyway, as I've yet to use a device that's using ART. 😃

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
20th June 2014, 02:17 AM   |  #5  
Dsteppa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 386
 
1,630 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoxx3m

Probably, but Google will completely remove Dalvik from the following versions of Android (5.0 and above) and change it with ART, it's leaked today.

Sent from my C6603 using XDA Free mobile app

Yeah, that's exactly the reason why I asked the question.
I saw that the option was already available in 4.4 for most devices.
20th June 2014, 10:55 AM   |  #6  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,111
 
4,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
ART was still in experimental stage and hidden in developer options when Sony released their KitKat roms. Another reason they didn't include it could be that they didn't want users that don't know what experimental means to activate it, then pester support when something stopped working. 😀

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
20th June 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #7  
Dsteppa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 386
 
1,630 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingvortex

ART was still in experimental stage and hidden in developer options when Sony released their KitKat roms. Another reason they didn't include it could be that they didn't want users that don't know what experimental means to activate it, then pester support when something stopped working. 😀

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Yeah, but the dev. options were already hidden by default. Why hide things twice? Finding the dev. options is harder then just activating ART.
20th June 2014, 03:21 PM   |  #8  
neoxx3m's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ljubuski
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
951 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsteppa

Yeah, but the dev. options were already hidden by default. Why hide things twice? Finding the dev. options is harder then just activating ART.

You can't activate ART if it's not implemented.
The Following User Says Thank You to neoxx3m For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #9  
kingvortex's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 3,111
 
4,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsteppa

Yeah, but the dev. options were already hidden by default. Why hide things twice? Finding the dev. options is harder then just activating ART.

You can find many posts from people that don't know what they're talking about on here telling people to activate force GPU rendering or alter the background process limit etc. People just do these things without knowing what they do even if the developer options are hidden by default.
Sony eliminated the possibility of ART being activated by that sort of person entirely by not including it in their rom.

Anyway, it's more likely that Sony just didn't want to do the work of making their framework and system apps support ART while it was still officially experimental. 😉

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to kingvortex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #10  
Toledo_JAB's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Toledo, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 2,506
 
2,797 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
thread closed at the request of the OP

The Following User Says Thank You to Toledo_JAB For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes